Research Guides

Philosophy

African philosophy

WEB RESOURCES

King, Peter J..

This website, created by a professor of philosophy at Pembroke College, Oxford, includes a general introduction to African philosophy, links to university courses in African philosophy, and links to many full text papers.

African Philosophy Resources : African Philosophers

Janz, Bruce B..

This webpage, put together by a professor at the University of Central Florida, includes links to information on important African philosophers.

African sage philosophy

Masolo, Dismas.

This entry in the online Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy includes information on Oruka's Project, oral traditions, and ethnophilosophy.

African Studies Quarterly

(Free full text of this journal, including all past and current articles, is available to the public through the Directory of Open Access Journals. It is published by the University of Florida.)

Quest : an African Journal of Philosophy

A peer-reviewed journal published by the University of Zambia.

BOOKS

African philosophy : an anthology

Eze, Emmanuel Chukwudi (ed.).. (Blackwell Publishers, 1998)
B 5305 .A36 1998

African philosophy : myth and reality

Hountondji, Paulin J.. (Indiana University Press,)
B 5305 .H6813 1996

Translated by Henri Evans.

African philosophy : selected readings

Mosely, Albert G.. (Prentice Hall, 1995)
B 5305 .M67 1995

African philosophy as cultural inquiry

Karp, Ivan; Masolo, D. A. (eds.).. (Indiana University Press, 2000)
B 5305 .A373 2000

African philosophy in search of identity

Masolo, D. A.. (Edinburgh University Press, 1994)
B 5375 .M38 1994

African philosophy reader

Coetzee, P.H.; Roux, A.P.J. (eds.).. (Routledge, 1998)
B 5305 .A375 1998

African religions & philosophy

Mbiti, John S.. (Praeger, 1969)
BL 2400 .M38

Bantu philosophy

Tempels, Placide. (Presence africaine)
GN657.B2 T41

"Translation of La philosophie bantoue, the French version of Bantoe-filosofie."

Companion to African-American philosophy

Lott, Tommy L.; Pittman, John P.. (Blackwell, 2003)
B 944 .A37 C66 2002

Companion to world philosophies

Deutsch, Eliot; Bontekoe, Ron (eds.).. (Blackwell, 1999)
B 121 .C664 1999

Essay on African philosophical thought : the Akan conceptual scheme

Gyekye, Kwame. (Temple University Press, 1995)
B 5619 .G4 G84 1995

Existentia Africana : understanding Africana existential thought

McNichols Campus Library
B 944 .A37 G67 2000

Explorations in African political thought : identity, community, ethics

Kiros, Teodros (ed.).. (Routledge, 2001)
JA 84 .A33 E96 2001

Fanon : a critical reader

Gordon, Lewis R.; Sharpley-Whiting, T. Denean; White, Renée T. (eds.).. (Blackwell Publishers, 1996)
H 59 .F28 F36 1996

Hermeneutics of African philosophy : horizon and discourse

Serequeberhan, Tsenay. (Routledge, 1994)
B 5315 .H36 S47 1994

Idea of Africa

Mudimbe, V. Y.. (Indiana University Press, 1994)
B 5310 .M83 1994

In my father's house : Africa in the philosophy of culture

Appiah, Kwame Anthony. (Oxford University Press, 1992)
DT 352.4 .A66 1993

Introduction to African philosophy

Imbo, Samuel Oluoch. (Rowman & Littlefield, 1998)
B 5305 .I43 1998

Knowledge, belief, and witchcraft : analytic experiments in African philosophy

Hallen, Barry; Sodipo, J. Olubi. (Stanford University Press, 1997)
B 5619 .N6 H35 1997

Patterns of thought in Africa and the West : essays on magic, religion, and science

Horton, Robin. (Cambridge University Press, 1993)
BL 2400 .H67 1993

Philosophical perspectives on communalism and morality in African traditions

Ikuenobe, Polycarp. (Lexington Books, 2006)
B 5305 .I38 2006

Philosophising in Mombasa : knowledge, Islam and intellectual practice on the Swahili coast

Kresse, Kai. (Edinburgh University Press for the International African Institute, 2007)
DT 433.54 .K74 2007

Postcolonial African philosophy : a critical reader

Eze, Emmanuel Chukwudi. (Blackwell, 1997)
B 5320 .P67 1997

Quest for community and identity : critical essays in Africana social philosophy

Birt, Robert E.. (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2002)
HT 1581 .Q47 2002

Sagacious reasoning : Henry Odera Oruka in memoriam

Graness, Anke; Kresse, Kai (eds.).. (Peter Lang, 1997)
B 5419 .O784 S34 1997

Short history of African philosophy

Hallen, Barry. (Indiana University Press, 2002)
B 5305 .H35 2002

Struggle for meaning : reflections on philosophy, culture, and democracy in Africa

Hountondji, Paulin J.. (Ohio University Center for International Studies, 2002)
B 5305 .H6713 2002

"Translated by John Conteh-Morgan".

Thought and practice in African philosophy

Presbey, Gail (ed.).. (Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, 2002)
B 5300.5 .T48 2002

Selected papers from the sixth annual conference of the International Society for African Philosophy and Studies (ISAPS), University of Nairobi, 2000.

Tradition and modernity : philosophical reflections on the African experience

Gyekye, Kwame. (Oxford University Press, 1997)
DT 352.4 .G94 1997

Understanding African philosophy : a cross-cultural approach to classical and contemporary issues

Bell, Richard H.. (Routledge, 2002)
B 5305 .B45 2002

Cindy Gillham

Associate Library Professor
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Journals Career + Professional