AMDOCS: documents for the study of American history

A chronological listing of documents from the 15th to 21st centuries. It includes maps, inaugural speeches, important court cases, treaties, also excerpts from diaries and letters, the words and music to songs.

American History: a documentary record, 1492-present

The documents on this site are listed chronologically, and do not include the cultural and social elements in the AMDOCS site. This site is primarily treaties, but there are also speeches and other documents.

American Memory

Discovering American Women's History

Chronicling America: historic American newspapers

Historic newspapers from 1860-1922,  held by the Library of Congress are available for searching and viewing.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy

Digitized Collections

This site contains a number of collections: Medicine and Madison Ave, Emergance of Advertizing in America: 1850-1920, Historic American Sheet Music, Civil War Women.

DocSouth

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. (From website).

Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History

The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History Online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967-1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the history and cultures or their respective nations and tribes.--from website.

Making of America.

A collection of imprints from between 1840-1900, including books and periodicals.

Making of America

A searchable "digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."

The National Archives

Documents and photographs from the collections of the National Archives.

Nineteenth Century Documents

Headings on this site include "Early National Politics", "Slavery and Sectionalism", "1850s Statistical Almanac", "Election of 1860" and "War Begins."

NYPL Digital Gallery

275,000 images from the New York Public Library's collections, including civil war photographs, illuminated manuscripts, japanese prints, early American maps.

Valley of the Shadow

Letters, diaries, and other documents from two communities just before, during, and just after the Civil War.

The World War I Document Archive

Contains treaties, reports, diaries, personal reminiscences, and a few audio recordings from the Great War.