Ethics
Research Guides
Academic Ethics
The Center promotes research and discussion of academic integrity, as well as the development of standards and teaching pedagogies. The Center's website includes information on academic integrity research and publications.
Includes statements on using humans in research and corporate funding of research, and articles on honesty, honor codes, and misconduct.
1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure
American Association of University Professors (AAUP).Includes interpretive statements added in 1970.
This website includes full-text articles from the "Journal of College and Character," an online journal, links to ethics organizations, programs, and resources, and examples of various college students' creeds.
Society for Values in Higher Education (SVHE)
The SVHE supports the study, discussion and promotion of values such as integrity, diversity, and social justice. The SVHE website includes a calendar of events, online forums, and information about the Democracy Project, which seeks to involve entire campuses in democratic values education.
Special Issue on Cheating in Colleges and Universities
Ethics & Behavior. (11(3), July 2001, 217-363)ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY
This issue includes research articles on attitudes and responses to cheating, effects of student-instructor relationships, institutional policies, gender, and penalties on academic integrity. An article on the institution's role and practical ways it can bolster integrity, and a case study with various responses are also included.
Ten (updated) Principles of Academic Integrity: how faculty can foster student honesty
McCabe, Donald L.; Pavela, Gary (eds.). Change. (36(3), May-June 2004, 10-16)ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY
Includes original ten principles.
Academic integrity and the World Wide Web
Hinman, Lawrence M.. Computers and Society. (32(1), March 2002, 33-42)ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY
The impact of the Internet on our moral lives in academia
Hinman, Lawrence M.. Ethics and Information Technology. (4(1), 2002. 3-35)ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY
McNichols Campus Library
LB 880 .P43 1967
The responsibility of dissent: the church and academic freedom
Hunt, John F.; Connelly, Terrence R.. (Sheed and Ward, 1969)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2332 .H94
The Ethics of teaching and scientific research
Hook, Sidney; Kurtz, Paul; Todorovich, Miro (eds.). (Prometheus Books, 1977)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2331.4 .E86 1977
On the philosophy of higher education
Brubacher, John S.. (Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1977)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2324 .B78
Education and the democratic ideal
Cahn, Steven M.. (Nelson-Hall, 1979)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2324 .C33
McNichols Campus Library
LC 1011 .M38
Beyond the ivory tower : social responsibilities of the modern university
Bok, Derek Curtis. (Harvard University Press, 1982)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2331.72 B64 1982
The politics of education : culture, power, and liberation
Freire, Paulo. (Bergin & Garvey, 1985)McNichols Campus Library
LC 149 .F76 1985
Translated by Donaldo Macedo.
Thought and character : the rhetoric of democratic education
Antczak, Frederick J.. (Iowa State University Press, 1985)McNichols Campus Library
LA 209 .A57 1985
McNichols Campus Library
LA 217 .G88 1987
Academic freedom and Catholic higher education
Annarelli, James John. (Greenwood Press, 1987)McNichols Campus Library
LC 487 .A56 1987
McNichols Campus Library
LC 311 .V33 1987
Education and the public trust : the imperative for common purposes
Delattre, Edwin J.. (Ethics and Public Policy Center, 1988)McNichols Campus Library
LA 217 .D44 1988
Moral development and character education : a dialogue
Nucci, Larry P. (ed.). (McCutchan Pub. Corp., 1989)McNichols Campus Library
LC 311 .M56 1989
Morality, responsibility, and the university : studies in academic ethics
Cahn, Steven M. (ed.). (Temple University Press, 1990)McNichols Campus Library
LB 1779 .M69 1990
McNichols Campus Library
LC 72 .I85 1992
The ethics of multicultural and bilingual education
Bull, Barry L.. (Teachers College Press, 1992)McNichols Campus Library
LC 1099.3 .B85 1992
Toward an ethical learning community
Ritchie, J.B.. (Brigham Young University Faculty Center, 1994)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2331 .M387 1994
"Ethical teaching can be important in students' learning process. This film explores impacts of different teaching philosophies and styles on the learning community. Discussions of ethical teaching methods take place between teachers and students at Brigham Young University." (35 min.)
Exposing the naked truth : use and abuse of the Internet
Crook, Bob. (Dallas County Community College District, 1997)McNichols Campus Library
TK 5105.875 .I57 E98 1997
"This program looks at the use and misuse of the Internet at colleges and universities. Discusses how colleges might deal with various legal and ethical situations, including pornography, intellectual property, privacy, academic freedom, institutional liability, freedom of speech, for-profit activity, plagerism and threatening e-mail." (87 min.)
Academic freedom and tenure : ethical issues
De George, Richard T.. (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1997)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2335.7 .D4 1997
Answering the "virtuecrats" : a moral conversation on character education
Nash, Robert J.. (Teachers College Press, 1997)McNichols Campus Library
LC 311 .N27 1997
McNichols Campus Library
LC 268 .T54 1997
"from the Council of Chief State School Officers"
Teachers as cultural workers : letters to those who dare teach
Freire, Paulo. (Westview Press, 1998)McNichols Campus Library
LB 880 .F73 P76413 1998
Translated by Donaldo Macedo, Dale Koike, and Alexandre Oliveira.
What's worth fighting for out there?
Hargreaves, Andy. (Teachers College Press, 1998)McNichols Campus Library
LC 215 .H37 1998
McNichols Campus Library
LB 14.7 .S67 1999
Moral education in America : schools and the shaping of character from colonial times to the present
McClellan, Bernard Edward. (Teachers College Press, 1999)McNichols Campus Library
LC 311 .M38 1999
McNichols Campus Library
LC 72.2 .G64 2000
Educating moral people : a caring alternative to character education
Noddings, Nel. (Teachers College Press, 2002)McNichols Campus Library
LC 268 .N56 2002
Buying in or selling out? : the commercialization of the American research university
Stein, Donald G.. (Rutgers University Press, 2004)Available in the ebrary database (Off campus access requires authentication)
Is intellectual diversity an endangered species on America's college campuses?
(United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions., 2004)McNichols Campus Library
Government Documents Y 4.L 11/4:S.HRG.108-380
Hearing before the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighth Congress, first session, on examining intellectual diversity on America's college campuses, focusing on the problem of freedom of expression, politicized instruction, and core curricula, October 29, 2003.
Colormute : race talk dilemmas in an American school
Pollock, v. (Princeton University Press, 2004)McNichols Campus Library
LC 191.6 .C2 P65 2004
Scandals and scoundrels : seven cases that shook the academy
Robin, Ron Theodore. (University of California Press, 2004)McNichols Campus Library
PN 167 .R63 2004
Guiding students from cheating and plagiarism to honesty and integrity : strategies for change
Lathrop, Ann; Foss, Kathleen. (Libraries Unlimited, 2005)McNichols Campus Library
LB 3609 .L27 2005
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1779 .S416 2005
Larger sense of purpose : higher education and society
Shapiro, Harold T.. (Princeton University Press, 2005)McNichols Campus Library
LC 191.94 .S43 2005
Promise and betrayal : universities and the battle for sustainable urban neighborhoods
Gilderbloom, John I.; Mullins, R. L.. (State University of New York Press, 2005)McNichols Campus Library
NA 9108 .G55 2005
Academic freedom after September 11
Doumani, Beshara (ed.).. (Zone Books)McNichols Campus Library
LC 72.2 .A295 2006
Kindness of strangers : philanthropy and higher education
Elliott, Deni. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2006)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2336 .E45 2006
Defining values for research and technology : the university's changing role
Greenough, William T.; McConnaughay, Philip J.; Kesan, Jay P.. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2007)LC 1085.2 .D42 2007
Who owns this text? : plagiarism, authorship, and disciplinary cultures
Haviland, Carol Peterson ; Mullin, Joan A.. (Utah State University Press, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
PN 167 .W46 2009
Third Reich in the ivory tower : complicity and conflict on American campuses
Norwood, Stephen H.. (Cambridge University Press, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
LA 227.1 .N67 2009
Access to inequality: reconsidering class, knowledge and capital in higher education
Stich, Amy E.. (Lexington Books,c2012)McNichols Campus Library
Available online at http://site.ebrary.com/lib/udmercy/docDetail.action?docID=10608125
No university is an island : saving academic freedom
Nelson, Cary. (New York University Press, 2010)McNichols Campus Library
LB 2322.2 .N45 2010
Academic Freedom in the Post-9/11 Era
Carvalho, Edward J.; Downing, David B.. (Palgrave Macmillan, 2011)McNichols Campus Library
LC 72.2 .A325 2011
Big-time sports in American universities
Clotfelter, Charles T.. (Cambridge University Press, 2011)McNichols Campus Library
GV 351 .C56 2011
Unlearning Liberty: Campus Censorship and the End of American Debate
Lukianoff, Greg. (Encounter Books, 2012)Available online at: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/udmercy/docDetail.action?docID=10627553
Unlearning Liberty: Campus Censorship and the End of American Debate
Lukianoff, Greg.
Cindy Gillham
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
McNichols Campus Library
gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810