Education
Research Guides
This Education LibGuide contains information about the department and its programs, and includes links to: the catalog for books and ebooks, article databases, helpful websites, to the Common Core and state standardized test results, education apps and blogs, and more!
Graphic Novels are taking schools by storm. Click here to find links to information about graphic novels.
Find resources for teaching mathematics including lesson plans, associations, common core state standards information, virtual manipulatives, and more.
Catholic Church and Education
Find books and websites on the Catholic Church and K-12 education.
Last update: 04-20-2008
Classroom Management
The resources in this list include books, videos/DVDs, and websites on classroom management.
Last update: 06-21-2011
Children's Literature
The following bibliography includes books, CD-ROMs, and websites concerning the topic of children's literature.
Last update: 05-14-2014
This bibliography lists all Caldecott Award Winners in descending order. The year of the award is one year later than the copyright date. The annotations were provided by Mary Skorupski for a directed study on children's literature.
Last update: 03-26-2013
This bibliography lists all Coretta Scott King Award Winners in descending order. The year of the award is one year later than the copyright date
Last update: 03-26-2013
This bibliography lists all Newbery Award Winners in descending order. The year of the award is one year later than the copyright date.
Last update: 03-26-2013
Code of Ethics of the Education Profession
Last update: 09-17-2009
Teachers may use primary materials from the Library of Congress. "The site's Teaching Materials database helps educators quickly find and use primary sources related to specific curriculum standards in all subject areas." Includes audio, images. and text.
Last update: 09-04-2007
Dropout Rates
Find information on the Rates in Michigan for Cohort Graduation and Dropout Reports.
Last update: 08-27-2013
Education Policies
English as a Second Language
Find websites for teaching English as a second language.
Last update: 07-18-2008
Evidence Based Research in Education
Teaching Science
The following websites are from Dr. L. MacDonald's science methods class.
Last update: 08-26-2015
The following are websites to aid teachers with the sciences. They are also safe sites for children.
Last update: 05-23-2011
This list contains books and websites pertaining to inquiry-based science education for K-12.
Last update: 10-01-2007
Technology in the Classroom
Find websites or articles on using technology in a classroom. 2006
Last update: 08-29-2011
Websites for Children
The following websites are all "safe" sites for children. You may want to use them in your classrooms.
Last update: 06-21-2011
Teaching Social Studies
Jennifer Bowen
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
McNichols Campus Library, School of Dentistry Library
bowenji@udmercy.edu
313-494-6904