Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Research guides

Communication Studies

Research Guides

Research methods

Books, journal articles, videos and websites about research design and methods including audience studies, content analysis, discourse analysis, focus groups, narrative analysis, surveys and meta-analysis. (Created January, 2008) (To find additional resources, see subject headings at the bottom of this page.)

Last update: 10-09-2013

Journalism Ethics

This list includes books, videos and websites on ethical issues that confront journalists.  (Created May, 2008).

Last update: 10-09-2013

Online ethics

Includes websites and books on Internet ethical issues such as copyright, pornography, hackers, hate groups,  censorship, privacy, government regulation, cyberbullying, and malware.

Last update: 10-09-2013

Grassroots journalism

This guide includes books on the history of grassroots journalism, its aims and drawbacks, and its newfound popularity (linked to emerging technologies such as the Internet and smartphones).  It also includes websites with information on civic and public journalism, as well as links to popular alternative and collaborative newsmagazines.

Last update: 10-25-2013

Researching PACs and Think Tanks (CST 3170)

Fall, 2012

Last update: 10-11-2012

Audio and Video Production

This list includes books, ebooks, websites and videos on audio and video equipment, techniques, and editing.

Last update: 09-06-2013

Public Speaking

Books, ebooks and websites on public speaking.

Last update: 09-06-2013

Internet Communication

This list includes books, websites and podcasts on how people and organizations are using internet communication methods such as blogs, wikis, podcasts and virtual worlds and the effects of the new mediums on individuals and society.

Last update: 09-06-2013

How we see

Books, ebooks and websites on how we perceive and interpret images, including how our perceptions have changed throughout history.   (Fall, 2011)

Last update: 09-06-2013

Journalism Blogs

This list includes some of the most popular journalism blogs as well as a link to more extensive list.  (Created April 2008).

Last update: 01-15-2015

Documentaries

This list includesbooks, ebooks, DVDs and websites on and/or guides to produce photographic, audio and vidoe documentaries.  It also includes information on some prominent documentary filmmakers.

Last update: 10-11-2012

Movie scripts

Last update: 04-27-2011

Science and Technical Writing

This list includes books, ebooks and websites on how to write scientific reports, papers, and grant proposals, as well as how to design posters and slide presentations.

Last update: 09-06-2013

War and the Media

This list includes books and videos examining the role of the media in wars from WWI to the current Iraq war . Websites from the U.S. government, the Australian Parliamentary Library, and journalism schools and organizations are included. (Created July, 2004).

Last update: 03-01-2012

Media Convergence and Consolidation

This list includes articles, books and websites on media convergence, including information on media mergers and deregulation. It also includes information on media convergence as the blurring of lines between different media platforms, such as television shows being broadcast over the Internet. (Created in April, 2007).

Last update: 10-18-2012

African Americans and Film

This list includes books on how African Americans have contributed to films, and how they have been depicted in films. It is not a list of all films that have African American actors, actresses, producers, etc... (Created April, 2007)

Last update: 10-11-2012

Film Noir

Includes videos, print and electronic books, articles and book chapters about and in the style of film noir. (Created 2006).

Last update: 10-11-2012

Radio Broadcasting

Includes books, videos and audiocassettes about radio broadcasting history and techniques, as well as its influence on culture and politics. Broadcasting equipment and engineering are not included. (Created April, 2006.)

Last update: 07-20-2010

Journalism Research Tools

Last update: 09-06-2013

Media Stereotypes

Last update: 09-06-2013

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top