Accessing EBSCO eBooks from off campus

EBSCO eBooks require a second log in when accessing remotely. This handout provides step by step instructions for accessing EBSCO eBooks from off campus.

Accessing Health Sciences Databases

Provides instructions on how to find and access databases with health sciences literature.

The Anatomy of a Citation

Provides an example and explanation of an article citation.

Basic Library Information

Provides information on library hours, printing, borrowing, fees, renewing materials, interlibrary loans, and more.

CINAHL Create Acct and Save References

Sheet provides instructions on how to create a personal account in CINAHL / EBSCOHost and how to save references into your account.

CINAHL Keyword Search

Provides instructions for searching CINAHL using a basic keyword search then applying limits. Includes a description of Boolean operators.

Finding Full Text Articles Online

This handout explains how to find the full text for articles that do not have the pdf or html full text linked from the database.

PubMedBasics

Prepared by the NN/LM Greater Midwest Region, this trifold offers concise guidelines for searching PubMed.

PubMed My NCBI

Prepared by the NN/LM Greater Midwest Region, this trifold offers concise guidelines for using My NCBI, a tool which once signed in retains user information and preferences to provide customized services in PubMed and other databases.

PubMed Searching with MeSH

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the controlled vocabulary used for indexing PubMed citations. MeSH provides a consistent way to retrieve information where different terms are used by authors for the same concept.

PubMed Single Citation Matcher

Use this tool to find a full PubMed citation if you only know some of the identifying information for an article.

This list contains instructions for using Ref Works, importing references, exporting references, installing Write N Cite, and more.

Last update: 07-24-2014

Remote Access

Provides instructions on how to log in to the library's electronic resources from off campus.

Scholarly articles vs Popular Magazines

This handout lists criteria that can help you distinguish the difference between a scholarly journal article and a popular magazine article.

Search Tips

This hand-outs reviews keyword searching and subject searching, setting up a search, Boolean Operators, phrase searching, wildcards/truncators, and more.