Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Research guides

Product Development

Research Guides

Product Design

American car

Dore, Mary. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710.35 .U64 F636 2004

1 DVD (46 minutes).
"Summary: Investigates the world of automobile design and marketing, covering the Ford Motor Corporation's strategies to regain market preeminence as it redesigns its F150 truck to compete against GM's Hummer and Nissan's Titan."

Computer-aided design

(Classroom Video, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 155.6 .I56 2002

1 VHS cassette (20 minutes).
"Summary: Discusses CAD (computer-aided design) and CAM (computer-aided manufacturing). Demonstrates how CAD/CAM are used in virtual model design and manufacturing with advantages of cost-effectiveness, rapidity, and accuracy. Gives examples of concurrent engineering."

CAM : revolutionary design

Davies, Grant. (Classroom Video, 2001)
TA 345 .C35 2001

1 VHS cassette (24 minutes).
"Summary: Three case studies illustrate modern manufacturing approaches, including: just-in-time manufacture, rapid prototyping and concurrent engineering."

Sustainable design

David, John. (Classroom Video, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5413 .S87 2001

1 VHS tape (22 minutes).
Summary: "The importance of sustainability in design for three products: a smart car, a wind-up radio, and a pencil made from recycled materials."

Product Design

Design Council.

This website, produced by the  U.K. Design Council, a body appointed and  funded by the U.K. government, includes a great deal of information on design techniques and methods.  It includes sections such as design in manufacturing, prototyping, product design, packaging design, sustainable design, information design and automotive design.

MIT's 15.783J / 2.739J Product Design and Development, Spring 2006

Eppinger, Steven; Roemer, Thomas; Seering, Warren; Kressy, Matthew.

This MIT course includes free lecture notes, an online textbook, and sample projects that integrate modern product design tools and methods.  "Topics include identifying customer needs, concept generation, product architecture, industrial design, and design-for-manufacturing."

Industrial Designers Society of America (ISDA)

The IDSA fosters industrial design quality and impact through professional development, continuing education, and promotion. The IDSA website features design news, seminar and conference listings, awards and competitions, a directory of industrial design companies, information on schools that offer accredited industrial design programs, and free internship and job postings.

Corporate Design Foundation

The Corporate Design Foundation is a nonprofit educational and research organization that collaborates with businesses and universities to promote the use of design in corporations.  The site includes information on specific university courses, continuing education, conferences, case studies,  and research on corporate design.  It includes free, full-text access to @issue, on online journal that examines how to integrate design into business strategies.

300 years of industrial design: function, form, technique, 1700-2000

Heath, Adrian; Heath, Ditte; Jensen, Aage Lund. (Watson-Guptill, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171.4 .H4 2000

Taguchi's quality engineering handbook

Taguchi, Genichi; Chowdhury, Subir; Wu, Yuin. (ASI Consulting Group, c2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .T343 2005

Table of Contents

Integrated product and process design and development : the product realization process

Magrab, Edward B.. (2nd ed., CRC Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 170 .M34 2010

In the bubble : designing in a complex world

Thackara, John. (MIT Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 174 .T52 2005

Design project management

Boyle, Griff. (Ashgate, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171 .B68 2003

Table of Contents

Engineering design and rapid prototyping

Kamrani, Ali K.. (Springer, 2010)
TA 174 .K36 2010

Creative design of products and systems

Niku, Saeed B.. (Wiley, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171 .N55 2009

Robust design methodology for reliability : exploring the effects of variation and uncertainty

Bergman, Bo. (Wiley, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 173 .R623 2009

Introduction to design and culture : 1900 to the present

Sparke, Penny. (Routledge, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
NK 1390 .S63 2004

Table of Contents

Lean design guidebook : everything your product development team needs to slash manufacturing cost

Mascitelli, Ronald. (Technology Perspectives, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171.4 .M373 2004

Priceless : turning ordinary products into extraordinary experiences

LaSalle, Diana; Britton, Terry A.. (Harvard Business School Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415.15 .L37 2003

Product design for manufacture and assembly

Boothroyd, Geoffrey; Dewhurst, Peter; Knight, Winston. (M. Dekker, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171.4 .B66 2002

Creating and dominating new markets

Meyer, Peter. (AMACOM, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415.153 .M493 2002

Creating breakthrough ideas : the collaboration of anthropologists and designers in the product development industry

Squires, Susan; Byrne, Brian (eds.).. (Bergin & Garvey, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 183 .C73 2002

Engineering and product development management : the holistic approach

Armstrong, Stephen C.. (Cambridge University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 155 .A683 2001

Table of Contents Description

Manufacturing operations and supply chain management: the LEAN approach

Taylor, David. (Thomson Learning, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 38.5 .T39 2001

Product design : techniques in reverse engineering and new product development

Otto, Kevin N.; Wood, Kristen L.. (Prentice Hall, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171 .O88 2001

Innovative conceptual design : theory and application of parameter analysis

Kroll, Ehud; Condoor, Sridhar S.; Jansson, David G.. (Cambridge University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171 .K74 2001

Table of Contents

Market driven enterprise: product development, supply chains, and manufacturing

Chakravarty, Amiya K.. (John Wiley, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 38.5 .C38 2001

Winning at new products : accelerating the process from idea to launch

Cooper, Robert G.. (Perseus Pub., 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415.153 .C65 2001

New product development and production networks : global industrial experience

J?, Ulrich (ed.).. (Springer, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 170 .N49 2000

New product development : strategies for supplier integration

Monczka, Robert M.. (ASQ Quality Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415.153 .N475 2000

Product Planning Essentials

Kahn, Kenneth B.. (Sage Publications, c001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 170 .K34 2000

CAD tools and algorithms for product design

Brunet, Pere; Hoffmann, Christoph M.; Roller , Dieter (eds.). (Springer, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171.4 .C32 2000

"Based on a seminar held in Schloss Dagstuhl, Germany, in November 1999."

Engineering design: products, processes, and systems

Kusiak, Andrew. (Academic, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TA 174 .K87 1999

Robust engineering

Taguchi, Genichi; Chowdhury, Subir; Taguchi, Shin. (McGraw-Hill, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .T335 1999

Creating quality : process design for results

Kolarik, William J.. (McGraw-Hill, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 176 .K635 1999

Table of Contents Description

Industrial design materials and manufacturing

Lesko, Jim. (J. Wiley, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171.4 .L47 1999

Design for manufacturing and assembly : concepts, architectures and implementation

Molloy, Owen; Tilley , Steven; Warman,Ernest. (Chapman & Hall, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171 .M655 1998

The design productivity debate

Duffy, Alex H.B. (ed.). (Springer, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171 .D466 1998

"Includes papers from the First International Engineering Design Debate, held Sept. 1996 in Glasgow."

Concurrent engineering : shortening lead times, raising quality, and lowering costs

Hartley, John R.. (Productivity Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 176 .H37 1998

The constraints management handbook

Cox, James F., III; Spencer, Michael S.. (APICS, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 155 .C67 1998

Integrated product and process design and development: the product realization process

Magrab, Edward B.. (CRC Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 170 .M34 1997

Manufacturing process design and optimization

Rhyder, Robert F.. (Marcel Dekker, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 183 .R538 1997

How products are made: an illustrated guide to product manufacturing

(Gale Research, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
Reference TS 146 .H67 v.1-v.5

Applying TQM to Product Design and Development

Moss, Marvin A.. (M. Dekker, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 171.4 .M72 1996

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top