American car

1 DVD (46 minutes).
"Summary: Investigates the world of automobile design and marketing, covering the Ford Motor Corporation's strategies to regain market preeminence as it redesigns its F150 truck to compete against GM's Hummer and Nissan's Titan."

Computer-aided design

1 VHS cassette (20 minutes).
"Summary: Discusses CAD (computer-aided design) and CAM (computer-aided manufacturing). Demonstrates how CAD/CAM are used in virtual model design and manufacturing with advantages of cost-effectiveness, rapidity, and accuracy. Gives examples of concurrent engineering."

CAM : revolutionary design

1 VHS cassette (24 minutes).
"Summary: Three case studies illustrate modern manufacturing approaches, including: just-in-time manufacture, rapid prototyping and concurrent engineering."

Sustainable design

1 VHS tape (22 minutes).
Summary: "The importance of sustainability in design for three products: a smart car, a wind-up radio, and a pencil made from recycled materials."

Product Design

This website, produced by the  U.K. Design Council, a body appointed and  funded by the U.K. government, includes a great deal of information on design techniques and methods.  It includes sections such as design in manufacturing, prototyping, product design, packaging design, sustainable design, information design and automotive design.

MIT's 15.783J / 2.739J Product Design and Development, Spring 2006

This MIT course includes free lecture notes, an online textbook, and sample projects that integrate modern product design tools and methods.  "Topics include identifying customer needs, concept generation, product architecture, industrial design, and design-for-manufacturing."

Industrial Designers Society of America (ISDA)

The IDSA fosters industrial design quality and impact through professional development, continuing education, and promotion. The IDSA website features design news, seminar and conference listings, awards and competitions, a directory of industrial design companies, information on schools that offer accredited industrial design programs, and free internship and job postings.

Corporate Design Foundation

The Corporate Design Foundation is a nonprofit educational and research organization that collaborates with businesses and universities to promote the use of design in corporations.  The site includes information on specific university courses, continuing education, conferences, case studies,  and research on corporate design.  It includes free, full-text access to @issue, on online journal that examines how to integrate design into business strategies.

300 years of industrial design: function, form, technique, 1700-2000

Taguchi's quality engineering handbook

Table of Contents

Integrated product and process design and development : the product realization process

In the bubble : designing in a complex world

Design project management

Table of Contents

Engineering design and rapid prototyping

Creative design of products and systems

Robust design methodology for reliability : exploring the effects of variation and uncertainty

Introduction to design and culture : 1900 to the present

Table of Contents

Lean design guidebook : everything your product development team needs to slash manufacturing cost

Priceless : turning ordinary products into extraordinary experiences

Product design for manufacture and assembly

Creating and dominating new markets

Creating breakthrough ideas : the collaboration of anthropologists and designers in the product development industry

Engineering and product development management : the holistic approach

Table of Contents Description

Manufacturing operations and supply chain management: the LEAN approach

Product design : techniques in reverse engineering and new product development

Innovative conceptual design : theory and application of parameter analysis

Table of Contents

Market driven enterprise: product development, supply chains, and manufacturing

Winning at new products : accelerating the process from idea to launch

New product development and production networks : global industrial experience

New product development : strategies for supplier integration

Product Planning Essentials

CAD tools and algorithms for product design

"Based on a seminar held in Schloss Dagstuhl, Germany, in November 1999."

Engineering design: products, processes, and systems

Robust engineering

Creating quality : process design for results

Table of Contents Description

Facilities operations & engineering reference: a technical & management handbook for planning & analyzing projects, complying with codes & standards: the certified plant engineer reference

Industrial design materials and manufacturing

Design for manufacturing and assembly : concepts, architectures and implementation

The design productivity debate

"Includes papers from the First International Engineering Design Debate, held Sept. 1996 in Glasgow."

Concurrent engineering : shortening lead times, raising quality, and lowering costs

The constraints management handbook

Integrated product and process design and development: the product realization process

Manufacturing process design and optimization

How products are made: an illustrated guide to product manufacturing

Applying TQM to Product Design and Development