FISITA: The International Federation of Automotive Engineering Societies

FISITA promotes efficient, affordable, safe and sustainable automobiles by facilitating discussion among automotive professionals, governments, and the public, and by supporting engineering education and training. The website includes general information about emissions, recycling, and safety, searchable free job postings, a free, online magazine, Auto Technology, with business and technology news, and information about student travel awards and fellowships.

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)

The SAE includes engineers, businessmen and students who share ideas and information to advance the engineering of self-propelled vehicles. The SAE website includes information on scholarships and internships, conferences and symposia, design competitions, certification programs, fee-based online courses, videotaped courses, and online forums.

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

The SME provides resources for professionals and companies to develop and improve knowledge, skills, and manufacturing solutions. The SME website includes detailed information about various certifications, including sample exams and self-assessments, fee-based online courses and courses on video,a database of university and college manufacturing programs, two free monthly e-newsletters, "Lean Directions," and "Six Sigma Quality in Manufacturing," industry news, a code of ethics, and members-only job postings.

Association for Manufacturing Excellence

The AME is a nonprofit organization that promotes discussion, analysis and implementation of productivity methods. It's website has information on workshops and seminars on lean manufacturing, kaizen principles, and other methods.

American car

1 DVD (46 minutes).
"Summary: Investigates the world of automobile design and marketing, covering the Ford Motor Corporation's strategies to regain market preeminence as it redesigns its F150 truck to compete against GM's Hummer and Nissan's Titan."

Delivering continuous improvement

1 DVD (63 minutes).
"Summary: Looks at the steps being employed by companies that manufacture vehicle components in their effort to survive the unprecedented global competition facing the automotive industry."

Sustainable design

1 VHS tape (22 minutes).
Summary: "The importance of sustainability in design for three products: a smart car, a wind-up radio, and a pencil made from recycled materials."

Productivity on the fast track : simulation-based decision support system drives training, operations and planning at Visteon Sterling Plant

1 VHS tape, 44 minutes.
Summary: "An award presentation on the simulation-based decision support system, which drives training, operations, and planning at the Visteon Sterling Plant in Michigan."

Build to order : the road to the 5-day car

Storied independent automakers : Nash, Hudson, and American Motors

Model T : a centennial history

Toyota product development system : integrating people, process, and technology

Table of Contents

High noon in the automotive industry

Table of Contents

Automotive production systems and standardisation : from Ford to the case of Mercedes-Benz

Design of advanced manufacturing systems : models for capacity planning in advanced manufacturing systems

Auto fundamentals : how and why of the design, construction, and operation of automobiles : applicable to all makes and models

Driving from Japan : Japanese cars in America

Handbook of automotive engineering

 Translated by Peter L. Albrecht.

Hybrid gasoline-electric vehicle development

Hydrogen and fuel cells : emerging technologies and applications

People's tycoon : Henry Ford and the American century

The second century : reconnecting customer and value chain through build-to-order : moving beyond mass and lean production in the auto industry

S.A.E. handbook.

Annual publication, current volumes kept in reference area, older volumes in stacks.

ISO 9001:2000 quality registration step-by-step

Automotive engineering fundamentals

Surviving transformation : lessons from GM's surprising turnaround

Time for a model change : re-engineering the global automobile industry

<A href='http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/cam041/2004045634.html">Table of Contents

BMW--Driven: inside BMW, the most admired car company in the world

The end of Detroit : how the Big Three lost their grip on the American car market

Book Description

Riding the roller coaster : a history of the Chrysler Corporation

Available for in-library use only. (UDM Michigan Core Collection, Conference Room).

Table of Contents

Foresight vehicle technology: consumer driven design, manufacturing, supply chain, and purchasing

The American auto factory

Customer satisfaction measurement simplified : a step-by-step guide for ISO 9001:2000 certification

Includes 1 CD-ROM.

Automotive manufacturing processes and quality

"A collection of papers from the 'Manufacturing Processes' and 'Manufacturing Quality' sessions of the 2002 SAE World Congress."

Making and selling cars : innovation and change in the U.S. automotive industry

Implementing management innovations : lessons learned from activity based costing in the U.S. automobile industry

Global alliances in the motor vehicle industry

ISO 9000 quality systems handbook

ISO 9001:2000 for small businesses : implementing process-approach quality management

Learning from Saturn : possibilities for corporate governance and employee relations

Meeting the technology management challenges in the automotive industry

Lean enterprise conversion : best practice examples

Car launch: the human side of managing change

The evolution of a manufacturing system at Toyota

Becoming lean: inside stories of U.S. manufacturers

Thinking beyond lean: how multi-project management is transforming product development at Toyota and other companies

The origin of competitive strength: fifty years of the auto industry in Japan and the U.S.

Powered by Honda: developing excellence in the global enterprise

Guts : the seven laws of business that made Chrysler the world's hottest car company

Transforming automobile assembly: experience in automation and work organization

Beijing Jeep: a case study of Western business in China

Just another car factory?: lean production and its discontents

The rise and decline of the British motor industry

Automobile design: twelve great designers and their work

Product development performance : strategy, organization, and management in the world auto industry