Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Research guides

Finance

Research Guides

Automotive Industry

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys

(Standard and Poor's Corporation)
McNichols Campus Library
REF HG 4961 .S8

Value Line Investment Survey

(Value Line Pub.)
McNichols Campus Library
REF HG 4501 .V26

Ward's Automotive Yearbook.

(Ward's Communications)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U5 W3

Annual listing of vital automotive industry statistics and tables including domesticand international production numbers, market segment sales, and equipment tables organized by vehicle and model year.

Automotive Industry Analysis http://www.srl.gatech.edu/Members/bbradley/me6753.industryanalysis.teamA.pdf#search=%22automotive%20industry%20analysis%22

Bradely, Donald, et.al. (Georgia Institute of Technology).

Example of analysis done by students at the University of Georgia.

Automotive Industry: BERA: Business and Economic Research Advisor http://www.loc.gov/rr/business/BERA/issue2/issue2_main.html

Library of Congress Science, Technology & Business Division.

Many of the resources mentioned in these webpages are at the Library of Congress.  The Library of Congress doesn't loan its books. 

 

Beige Book: Summary of Commentary on Currant Economic Conditions http://www.federalreserve.gov/FOMC/BeigeBook/2006/

The Federal Reserve Board, Federal Reserve District.

"Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis."

 http://www.federalreserve.gov/FOMC/BeigeBook/2006/

Annual Reports & 10Ks

Edgar Database http://www.sec.gov

United States Securities and Exchange Commission.

Michigan Electronic Library logoBusiness Insights: Global (Gale)

MEL.

The Business & Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry content in the following areas:

  • Periodical articles, news articles, and press releases
  • Detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures
  • Company financials and earning estimates
  • Investment reports
  • Corporate chronologies and company histories
  • Brands and product information
  • Industry and company rankings
  • Market Share data
  • Industry Overviews
  • HR Law Case Digests

 

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoBusiness Collection (Gale)

MEL.

Provides information on companies, markets and industries, market trends, mergers and acquisitions, current management theory and company overviews. The database provides access to business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Company Research Tutorials

Company Research http://iws.ohiolink.edu/companies/

O'Connor, Lisa, Jan Schnall, Greg Ricker, and Kelly Moore Broughton.

"This site grew out of the need to provide library users with a substantive guide to frequently asked business questions, and to promote awareness and use of OhioLINK resources.  It is our hope that the research hints contained here will be valuable to all business researchers and will aid them in becoming more self-sufficient in the research process."

Beginners Guide to Business Research http://www.baruch.cuny.edu/tutorials/zicklin/research/

William & Anita Newman Library, Louise Klusek, & Kognito Solutions, LLC.

Analysts Conference Calls

Webcast Presentations/ Webcast Events (securities analyst calls) http://www.corporate-ir.net/ireye/ir_site.zhtml?ticker=F&script=1100

Ford Motor Company.

Webcast Presentations are calls/conferences where analysts ask questions of officers of the company about the performance of the company.  They are usually on the company wesite sound, but occassionaly printed.  Printed copies may be found in Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe/ News Transcripts/ All Transcripts.  These calls or conferences remain the on the website for 45 days after the call.  These are particularly helpful for researchers.  Analyst are specialize in a particular company or industry.  They questions they ask of officers are areas that researchers will want to give special attention to.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe search should include company name on one line: Ford and conference call or event brief on the second line.  change the date for at least one year perhaps two.

Daimler Chrysler/Investor Information/Presentations and Events (conference calls)

Daimler Chrysler http://www.daimlerchrysler.com/dccom/0-5-7174-1-498526-1-0-0-0-0-0-8-7164-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.html.

    Presentations and Evnets are calls/conferences where analysts ask questions of officers of the company about the performance of the company.  They often include speeches officers have made. They are usually on the company wesite sound, but occassionaly printed.  Printed copies may be found in Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe/ News Transcripts/ All Transcripts.  These calls or conferences remain the on the website for 45 days after the call.  These are particularly helpful for researchers.  Analyst are specialize in a particular company or industry.  They questions they ask of officers are areas that researchers will want to give special attention to.

    Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe search should include company name on one line: Daimler Chrysler and conference call or event brief on the second line.  change the date for at least one year perhaps two.

Investor Information/Upcoming Events (securities analyst event)

General Motors.

Analyst Events are calls/conferences where analysts ask questions of officers of the company about the performance of the company.  They are usually on the company wesite sound, but occassionaly printed.  Printed copies may be found in Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe/ News Transcripts/ All Transcripts.  These calls or conferences remain the on the website for 45 days after the call.  These are particularly helpful for researchers.  Analyst are specialize in a particular company or industry.  They questions they ask of officers are areas that researchers will want to give special attention to.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe search should include company name on one line: General Motors, and conference call or event brief on the second line.  change the date for at least one year perhaps two.

 

 

Toyota Motor Company/For Investors/Presentations

Toyota Motor Company http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/ir/presentation/2006/index.html.

Presentations are calls/conferences where analysts ask questions of officers of the company about the performance of the company.  They often include speeches officers have made. They are usually on the company wesite sound, but occassionaly printed.  Printed copies may be found in Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe/ News Transcripts/ All Transcripts.  These calls or conferences remain the on the website for 45 days after the call.  These are particularly helpful for researchers.  Analyst are specialize in a particular company or industry.  They questions they ask of officers are areas that researchers will want to give special attention to.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe search should include company name on one line: Toyota and conference call or event brief on the second line.  change the date for at least one year perhaps two.

Julia L. Eisenstein

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

eisensjl@udmercy.edu
313-578-0576

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top