Environmental Engineering
Research Guides
Alternative energy
WEBSITES
This website includes energy videos, studies, reports and news about attempts to improve global energy systems and policies.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.This website includes information, resource maps, news, models and tools on advanced vehicles and fuels, solar power, electric infrastructure systems, geothermal energy, hydrogen and fuel cells, photovoltaics and wind energy.
This website includes introductory and advanced information on geothermal energy, maps, a glossary, and classroom materials.
This website includes research, guides, fact sheets and links to information on wind technology, turbine design, and hybrid power systems.
eBOOKS
America's energy future : technology and transformation
National Academy of Engineering. Committee on America's Energy Future. (National Academies Press, 2009)Available in the ebrary database (off campus access requires authentication)
Electricity from renewable resources : status, prospects, and impediments
National Research Council (U.S.). Panel on Electricity from Renewable Resources. (National Academies Press, 2010)Available in the ebrary database (off campus access requires authentication)
Large-scale offshore wind power in the United States
(National Renewable Energy Laboratory, 2010)Available free to the public.
Transitions to alternative transportation technologies : plug-in hybrid electric vehicles
National Research Council. (National Academies Press, 2010)McNichols Campus Library
TL 221.15 .N39 2010
Available in print or online through ebrary. (Off-campus access requires authentication)
eJOURNALS
Available in the OmniFile Full Text database (off campus access requires authentication)
Available in the ScienceDirect database (off campus authentication required)
Available in the ScienceDirect database (off campus authentication required)
BOOKS
Advanced batteries : materials science aspects
Huggins, Robert A.. (Springer, 2009.)McNichols Campus Library
TK 2901 .H84 2009
Beyond the Age of Oil: The Myths, Realities, and Future of Fossil Fuels and Their Alternatives
Maugeri, Leonardo. (Praeger, c2010)McNichols Campus Library
TJ 163.2 .M37513 2010
Bottled lightning : superbatteries, electric cars, and the new lithium economy
Fletcher, Seth. (Hill and Wang, 2011)McNichols Campus Library
TK 2945 .L58 F58 2011
McNichols Campus Library
TJ 163.28 .D53 2009
Biofuels for road transport : a seed to wheel perspective
Reijnders, Lucas. (Springer, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
TP 339 .R45 2009
Dynamics of energy : supply, conversion, and utilization
Perez Blanco, H.. (CRC Press, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
TJ 163.2 .P467 2009
Future energy : improved, sustainable and clean options for our planet
Letcher, Trevor M. (ed.).. (Elsevier, 2008)McNichols Campus Library
TJ 163.2 .F88 2008
Geothermal energy: renewable energy and the environment
Glassley, William. (CRC Press, 2010)McNichols Campus Library
TJ 280.7 .G55 2010
Geothermal HVAC: Green heating and cooling
Egg, Jay. (McGraw-Hill, 2011)McNichols Campus Library
TH 7417.5 .E38 2011
Introduction to wind energy systems : basics, technology and operation
Wagner, Hermann-Josef. (Springer, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
TK 1541 .W34 2009
Post-oil energy technology : the world's first solar-hydrogen demonstration power plant
Lipták, Béla G.. (CRC Press, 2009.)McNichols Campus Library
TJ 163.24 .L56 2008
Renewable energy engineering and technology : principles and practice
Kishore, V. V. N.. (Earthscan, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
TJ 808 .R425 2009
Solar cell technology and applications
Jha, A. R.. (Taylor & Francis, 2010)McNichols Campus Library
TK 2960 .J54 2010
Jill Werdell Spreitzer
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
McNichols Campus Library
werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221