Brown Baby Reads

From the website: "Our Children's Book Database is full of books that feature African-American children as main characters and/or are written by African-American authors. It has over 1,500 books that can be searched by title, author, illustrator, age group, category, and/or themes." There are sections for children, parents, and teachers.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site

Carol Hurst defines her website as: "This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."

Celebration of Women Writers

Find Caldecott and Newbery Award winning books written by women. Only books whose copyrights have expired and are eligible for public domain are available.

Children's Library

Its purposes include offering permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format.  There are currently over 27,000 children's books available. Click "See a Tag Cloud for the Internet Archive Childrens Book Collection" to browse the Children's Library by subject. Some books go back to 332-30 BC.

Coretta Scott King Book Award-winning Authors, Illustrators, & Books

Coretta Scott King Book Award-winning Authors, Illustrators, & Books read and talk about their books. Includes lesson plans.  All age leveles.

DRP BookLink : literature & popular titles.

Designed to identify books appropriate for reading abilities for all grade levels, interests, and ages. Fully annotated readability listings for more than 15,000 titles. Create a list for fiction or non-fiction books.

Horn Book

The Horn book reviews and rates most of the children's and young adults books published in the United States. UDM has volume 1-35 on microfilm and volume 36-68 in the stacks.

International Children's Digital Library

This organization's goal "is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.  Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community."

Internet Field Trips

Find "Internet Field Trips" on a variety of reading/language arts topics. Especially interesting is the Genre section including poetry, mysteries, plays, folktales, diaries, and more.

Literature and Languages

Check out the websites under Literature and Languages. They include: Authors & Illustrators, Children's Book Awards, Expanding the Classics and more.

Michigan Authors & Illustrators

Discover personal information on a Michigan author or illustrator as well as books written/illustrated, awards received, and availability for readings or workshops.

Reading Zone

In the Reading Zone, you can find links to on-line stories, including myths and fables from around the world, compic strips and funny pages, poetry and rhyme, short stories, stories in French and Spanish, or learn about your favorite books and authors.

TeenSpace Reading and Writing

Find websites on a variety of teen reading, such as author biographies, poetry online, reading lists and clubs for teens, and more. Includes links to teen publishing.