Economics
Scholarly Articles + Databases
Databases for Economics
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Literature covered is of interest to researchers, academics, product managers, advertisers, product development specialists, and public policy professionals. EconLit includes information that is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments world-wide.
Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Also included are fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
Provides information on companies, markets and industries, market trends, mergers and acquisitions, current management theory and company overviews. The database provides access to business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
Business Insights: Global (Gale)
The Business & Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry content in the following areas:
- Periodical articles, news articles, and press releases
- Detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures
- Company financials and earning estimates
- Investment reports
- Corporate chronologies and company histories
- Brands and product information
- Industry and company rankings
- Market Share data
- Industry Overviews
- HR Law Case Digests
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Its primary purpose is to increase the efficiency and fairness of the securities market for the benefit of investors, corporations, and the economy by accelerating the receipt, acceptance, dissemination, and analysis of time-sensitive corporate information filed with the agency.
Conference Board Research Online Collection
The Conference Board creates and disseminates knowledge about management and the marketplace to help businesses strengthen their performance and better serve society. Working as a global, independent membership organization in the public interest, we conduct research, convene conferences, make forecasts, assess trends, publish information and analysis, and bring executives together to learn from one another. The Conference Board is a not-for-profit organization and holds 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt status in the United States.
Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.
General OneFile includes more than 6,300 full-text titles, 400 major newspapers -- a total of nearly 11,000 titles in all with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present for selected titles. The database contains more than 87 million records including wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events; indexing of The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and Christian Science Monitor; and general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers.
Sandra H. Wilson
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
McNichols Campus Library
wilsonsh@udmercy.edu
313-578-0577