Balance of Payments: Free Versus Fixed Exchange Rates

Friedman, Milton; Roosa, Robert V.. (American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research [1967])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 3883.U7 F7

Series: Rational debate seminars.

Capitalism and Freedom

Friedman, Milton; Friedman, Rose D.. (University of Chicago Press [1969, c1962])
McNichols Campus Library
HB 501 .F7

Conversations with leading economists : interpreting modern macroeconomics

Snowdon, Brian; Vane, Howard R.. (E. Elgar, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 172.5 .S648 1999

Notes: Interviews with 14 economists conducted between February 1993 and May 1998. Includes bibliographical references (p. 334-368) and index. Contents: Interpreting modern macroeconomics : from Tobin to Romer -- James Tobin -- N. Gregory Mankiw -- Milton Friedman -- Robert E. Lucas, Jr. -- Alberto Alesina -- Robert W. Clower -- John B. Taylor -- David C. Colander -- Olivier Blanchard -- Franco Modigliani -- Edward C. Prescott -- Robert M. Solow -- Paul M. Romer -- Mark Blaug.

Counter-revolution in monetary theory: first Wincott memorial lecture, delivered at the Senate House, University of London, 16 September, 1970

Friedman, Milton. (Published for the Wincott Foundation by the Institute of Economic Affairs, 1970)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 221 .F861 1970

Series: Occasional paper (Institute of Economic Affairs (Great Britain)). Wincott memorial lecture. 1970.

Currency crises, monetary union, and the conduct of monetary policy : a debate among leading economists

Zak, Paul J. (ed.). (Edward Elgar Pub., c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 205 .C87 1999

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Problems of the US economy / James Tobin -- Taxation, employment and the Federal Reserve / Robert A. Mundell -- European Monetary Union, the dollar and the international monetary system / Barry Eichengreen -- The outlook for economic growth in the develop world / Milton Friedman -- The monetary crisis in Mexico / Bob Solomon -- Policies to combat monetary crises in developing countries / Richard N. Cooper -- The Lord Robbins Memorial Lecture: European Monetary Union: what can we learn from the United States? / Christopher Johnson.

Dollars and deficits; living with America's economic problems

Friedman, Milton. (Prentice-Hall [1968])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F856 1968

Notes: Bibliographical footnotes.

Economist's protest

Friedman, Milton. (T. Horton [1975])
McNichols Campus Library
HC 106.6 F75 1975

Notes: Chiefly columns originally published in Newsweek magazine, 1966-74.

Essays in positive economics

Friedman, Milton. (University of Chicago Press [1953])
McNichols Campus Library
HB 33 .F7 and HB 33 .F91

Essays on Hayek

Buckley, William F.; Machlup, Fritz (eds.). (New York University Press, 1976)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 103.H3 E77

Foreword by Milton Friedman. Notes: Delivered at a special regional meeting of the Mont Pelerin Society, held from August 24 to 28, 1975, at Hillsdale College in Hillsdale, Michigan. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Essentials of business ethics

Madsen, Peter; Shafritz, Jay M. (eds.). (Meridian, c1990)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5387 .E75 1990

Notes: Includes bibliographical references. Contents: Corporate ethics : losing it, having it, getting it / Manuel G. Velasquez -- Advertising and corporate ethics / Vincent Barry -- The ethical side of takeovers and mergers / Robert Alan Cooke and Earl Young -- The social responsibility of business is to increase its profits / Milton Friedman -- The evolution of corporate social responsibility / Rogene A. Buchholz -- Corporations and the physical environment / Neil W. Chamberlain -- Government cracks down on environmental crimes / The Wall Street Journal -- Industry and the environment / G.M. Keller -- Smothering the waters / Newsweek -- In ten years you'll see nothing : Exxon's John Rawl / Fortune -- Business ethics and cultural relativism / Norman E. Bowie -- Ethics and the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act / Mark Pastin and Michael Hooker -- Business bribes / The Economist. A borderline case : sweatshops cross the Rio Grande / James W. Russell.

Ethics of competition, and other essays

Knight, Frank Hyneman. (Allen & Unwin, [1951,1935])
McNichols Campus Library
HB 171 .K62

Notes: Essays selected by Milton Friedman and others.

Free to choose : a personal statement

Friedman, Milton; Friedman, Rose. (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, c1980)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 501 .F72

Notes: Includes bibliographical references and index.

From Galbraith to economic freedom

Friedman, Milton. (Institute of Economic Affairs, 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 119 .F71

Series: Occasional paper (Institute of Economic Affairs (Great Britain)), no. 49. Bibliography: p. 63-64.

Great contraction, 1929-1933

Friedman, Milton; Schwartz, Anna Jacobson. (Princeton University Press, 1965)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F858

Notes: "A study by the National Bureau of Economic Research." "Reprint of chapter 7 of the authors' A monetary history of the United States, 1867-1960." Bibliographical footnotes.

Income from independent professional practice

Friedman, Milton; Kuznets, Simon Smith. (National Bureau of Economic Research, 1945)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 4965 .U5 F72

Series: National Bureau of Economic Research, inc. Publications, no. 45. Notes: Thesis (Ph. D.)--Columbia University, 1946.

Indexing and inflation : an AEI round table held on 17 July 1974 at the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, Washington, D.C.

Friedman, Milton; Shanahan, Eileen. (American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research, [1974])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 229 .I42

Series: AEI round table.

Interpolation of time series by related series

Friedman, Milton. (National Bureau of Economic Research, 1962)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 199 .F7

Series: Technical paper (National Bureau of Economic Research), no. 16. Notes: "Reprinted from the December 1962 issue of the Journal of the American Statistical Association."

Invisible hand in economics and politics

Friedman, Milton. (Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 1981)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 87 .F738 1981

Series: Singapore lecture.

Lives of the laureates : thirteen Nobel economists

Breit, William; Spencer, Roger W. (eds.). (3rd ed., MIT Press, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 76 .L58 1995

Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. [269]-271). Contents: W. Arthur Lewis -- Lawrence R. Klein -- Kenneth J. Arrow -- Paul A. Samuelson -- Milton Friedman -- George J. Stigler -- James Tobin -- Franco Modigliani -- James M. Buchanan -- Robert M. Solow -- William F. Sharpe -- Ronald H. Coase -- Douglass C. North.

Milton Friedman's monetary framework : a debate with his critics

Gordon, Robert J. (ed.). (University of Chicago Press, 1974)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 221 .M655

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 178-185.

Monetary history of the United States, 1867-1960

Friedman, Milton; Schwartz, Anna Jacobsen. (Princeton University Press, 1963)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F86

Series: National Bureau of Economic Research. Studies in business cycles, no. 12. Notes: Bibliographical footnotes.

Monetary statistics of the United States: estimates, sources, methods

Friedman, Milton; Schwartz, Anna Jacobson. (National Bureau of Economic Research, 1970)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F863

Series: National Bureau of Economic Research. Studies in business cycles, 20 Notes: Includes bibliographical references.

Monetary trends in the United States and the United Kingdom, their relation to income, prices, and interest rates, 1867-1975

Friedman, Milton; Schwartz, Anna J.. (University of Chicago Press, 1982)
HG 501 .F74 1982

Series: A National Bureau of Economic Research monograph. Notes: Includes indexes. Bibliography: p. 633-653.

Monetary vs. fiscal policy

Friedman, Milton; Heller, Walter W.. (Norton [1969])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F864

Series: The Arthur K. Salomon lecture, no. 7. Bibliographical references included in "Notes" (p. [83]-88).

Money and economic development

Friedman, Milton. (Praeger [1973])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 221 .F868

Series: The Horowitz lectures of 1972. Praeger special studies in international economics and development.

Money in historical perspective

Schwartz, Anna Jacobson. (University of Chicago Press, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .S354 1987

With an introduction by Michael D. Bordo and Milton Friedman. Series: National Bureau of Economic Research monograph. Notes: "These articles were presented to Anna at a conference held in her honor in New York City on October 6, 1987"--Pref. Includes index. "Appendix: publications of Anna J. Schwartz": p. 407-412. Bibliography: p. 413-428.

Not so free to choose : the political economy of Milton Friedman and Ronald Reagan

Rayack, Elton. (Praeger, 1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 98.3 R39 1987

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 203-208.

Optimum quantity of money, and other essays

Friedman, Milton. (Aldine Pub. Co. [1969])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F866

Bibliographical footnotes.

Price theory, a provisional text

Friedman, Milton. (rev. ed., Aldine Pub. Co. [1966, c1962])
McNichols Campus Library
HB 221 .F75 1966

Program for monetary stability

Friedman, Milton. (Fordham University Press, 1959)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 538 .F87

Series: The Millar lectures, no. 3. Notes: Includes bibliography.

Rent control, myths & realities : international evidence of the effects of rent control in six countries

Friedman, Milton; Hayek, Friedrich A. von; Kalymon, Basil, et al.. (Fraser Institute, 1981)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 7288.82 .R45 1981b

Other Titles: Rent control, myths and realities. Notes: Bibliography: p. 322-335.

Social security: universal or selective?

Cohen, Wilbur J.; Friedman, Milton. (American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research [1972])
McNichols Campus Library
HD 7125 .C56

Series: Rational debate seminars. Notes: Includes bibliographical references.

Studies in the quantity theory of money

Friedman, Milton. (University of Chicago Press [1956])
McNichols Campus Library
HG 221 .F87

Series: Studies in economics of the Economics Research Center of the University of Chicago, Chicago (Ill.). University. Economics Research Center. Studies in economics. Notes: "A publication of the Workship in Money and Banking."

Tax limitation, inflation and the role of government

Friedman, Milton. (Fisher Institute, c1978)
McNichols Campus Library
HC 106.7 F74

Bibliography: p. 109-110.

Theory of the consumption function. A study by the National Bureau of Economic Research, New York

Friedman, Milton. (Princeton University Press, 1957)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 801 .F7

Series: General series (National Bureau of Economic Research) no. 63.

There's no such thing as a free lunch

Friedman, Milton. (Open Court, 1975)
McNichols Campus Library
HC 106.6 F77 1975

Notes: Also issued by T. Horton, Glen Ridge, N.J., as the 2d ed. of an economist's protest.

Tyranny of the status quo

Friedman, Milton. (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1984)
McNichols Campus Library
HC 106.8 .F74 1984

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Views on capitalism

Romano, Richard; Leiman, Melvin. (Glencoe Press [1970])
McNichols Campus Library
HB 501 .R69

Notes: Includes bibliographies. Contents: The conservative view: Adam Smith. Friedrich Hayek. Milton Friedman. Murray Rothbard.--The liberal view: John Stuart Mill. John Maynard Keynes. Joseph A. Schumpeter. John Kenneth Galbraith. Donald N. Michael. Robert Theobald. Robert L. Heilbroner. Daniel P. Moynihan.--The radical view: Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels. Thorstein Veblen. Paul Baran and Paul Sweezy. Michael Harrington.

Essence of Friedman

Leube, Kurt R. (ed.). (Hoover Institution Press, c1987)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 171 .F774 1987

Series: Hoover Press publication, no. 366. Notes: Includes index. "Complete bibliography of Milton Friedman": p. [527]-551.

The legacy of Keynes and Friedman: Economic Analysis, Money, and Ideology

Frazer, William Johnson. (Praeger, 1994)
HB 119.F84 F728 1994

Milton Friedman: A Biography

Ebenstein, Alan O.. (Palgrave Macmillan, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 119 .F84 E34 2007

Milton Friedman: A Guide to His Economic Thought

Butler, Eamonn. (Universe Books, c1985)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 119.F84 B88 1985

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 263-265.

Milton Friedman: Economics in Theory and Practice

Hirsch, Abraham; De Marchi, Neil. (University of Michigan Press, 1990)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 119 .F84 H57 1990

Includes bibliographical references (p. [299]-321) and index.

Economics U$A [videorecording]

Educational Film Center (Annandale, Va.); Wharton Econometric Forecasting Associates. ([Annenberg/CPB Project] 1989)
McNichols Campus Library
HC 103 .E19 1989 no. 1-28

14 videocassettes (VHS)+ series guide. Notes: Title from data sheet. Originally broadcast on PBS in 1986. Updated January 1989. 28 one-half hour video programs on 14 videocassettes. Contents: 1. Resources and scarcity -- 2. Markets and prices -- 3. U.S. economic growth: GNP -- 4. Booms and busts -- 5. John Maynard Keynes -- 6. Fiscal policy -- 7. Inflation -- 8. The banking system -- 9. Federal reserve --10. Stagflation -- 11. Productivity -- 12. Federal deficits -- 13. Monetary policy -- 14. Stabilization policy --15. The Firm -- 16. Supply and demand --17. Perfect competition and inelastic demand -- 18. Economic efficiency -- 19. Monopoly -- 20. Oligopolies -- 21. Pollution -- 22. Labor and management -- 23. Profits and interest -- 24. Reducing poverty -- 25. Economic growth -- 26. Public goods and responsibilities -- 27. International trade -- 28. Exchange rates. Summary: Historic footage, documentary sequences, interview, and news-style analysis provide a firsthand look at the leading economic crises that have shaped our lives and the trends that will mold American business in the future. Leading economic authorities including Milton Friedman, Robert Heilbroner, John Kenneth Galbraith, and Paul Samuelson, explain our economic system.

Free to choose : the importance of free markets to personal and political freedom [videorecording]

(Free to Choose Enterprise, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
HB 95 .F87 1991 v.1-5

5 VHS videocassettes (48 min. each) + 1 book of transcripts. Contents: v. 1. The power of the market -- v. 2. The tyranny of control -- v. 3. Freedom and prosperity -- v. 4. The failure of socialism -- v. 5. Created equal. Summary: Five documentaries, each followed by a discussion, explore the history of the U.S. government's economic controls. The Great Depression of 1929, the failure of the Federal Reserve System, the welfare state, the need for competition and free trade, and the concept of freedom are some of the topics discussed.