Dentistry
Scholarly Articles + Databases
Databases for Dentistry
Includes sections on
Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System - CCRIS (NLM)
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), National Library of Medicine.CCRIS is a toxicology data file of the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®). It is a scientifically evaluated and fully referenced data bank, developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains over 9,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results. Data are derived from studies cited in primary journals, current awareness tools, NCI reports, and other special sources. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis and mutagenesis.
ChemIDplus is a free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET® system. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains over 380,000 chemical records, of which over 289,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties.
A growing repository of questions collected from healthcare providers in clinical settings across the country. May be searched or browsed.
Contains articles and cbstracts/citations from the following evidence- based medicine databases:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) Includes Complete Reviews and Protocols. [FULL TEXT]
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
The Cochrane Oral Health Review Group comprises an international network of healthcare professionals, researchers and consumers preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of randomised controlled trials in oral health. Oral health is broadly conceived to include the prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of oral, dental and craniofacial diseases and disorders.
Click here to read our Newcomer's Guide to COHG.
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). The website provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (Ebsco)
Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.
DART: Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology Database, a TOXNET Database
"Bibliographic database covers teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology. It contains over 100,000 references to literature published since 1965".
Evidence-based Endodontic Literature Database (EBE)
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry, Endodontic Department.Basic search by author/title or advanced search by category and EB ranking.
"Toxicology data file, contains genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data, resulting from expert peer review of the open scientific literature, on over 3,000 chemicals".
"Occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work".
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), National Library of Medicine."Toxicology data file, focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It is enhanced with information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas. All data are referenced and derived from a core set of books, government documents, technical reports and selected primary journal literature. HSDB is peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP), a committee of experts in the major subject areas within the data bank's scope. HSDB is organized into individual chemical records, and contains over 4800 such records".
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebsco)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides abstracts and indexing for more than 830 journals, of which 550 are availabile in full text. About 450 of the journals are peer-reviewed. This database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Health Statistics and Reports. Michigan Department of Community Health
The Department of Community Health is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level. Included are data on: Natality, Mortality and Other Vital Statistics; Communicable Diseases; Health Care Statistics; Community Health Information; Birth Defect Statistics; Cancer Statistics; Population Trends. Published reports of the Department are also available.
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), National Library of Medicine."Toxicology data file, contains data in support of human health risk assessment. It is compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and contains over 500 chemical records. IRIS data, focusing on hazard identification and dose-response assessment, is reviewed by work groups of EPA scientists and represents EPA consensus. Among the key data provided in IRIS are EPA carcinogen classifications, unit risks, slope factors, oral reference doses, and inhalation reference concentrations".
Lexi-Comp Online for Dentistry
Drug interactions, drug information, and clinical reference.
Campus access including UHC.
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Following this link to Pubmed, will display a UDM icon if a subscription is available for that journal.
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. The PMC journal list comprises journals that deposit material in PMC on a routine basis and generally make all their published articles available here.
PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
Provides full-text of nearly 1900 journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Beginning coverage for journals varies, but most start in 1995 or 1996 and continue to the most recent issue. For many titles, articles in press are also available. Most journals are in the fields of science, technology or medicine, but journals in the social sciences, humanities and business are also included. The title holdings listed in "Full Text Journals in UDM Databases" show the start date for journals included in the Science Direct Freedom Collection; for most dates prior to 1995, only abstracts are available.
The TOXLINE database is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) bibliographic database for toxicology, a varied science encompassing many disciplines. TOXLINE records provide bibliographic information covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains over 3 million bibliographic citations, most with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry Numbers".
The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.
Jennifer Bowen
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
McNichols Campus Library, School of Dentistry Library
bowenji@udmercy.edu
313-494-6904