Chemical Engineering
Scholarly Articles + Databases
Databases for Chemical Engineering
ACS - American Chemical Society Journals
Contains the full text of all core American Chemical Society journals from the beginning of each journal, the earliest issue being from 1879. The entire collection can be searched directly from the initial screen; all journals can be browsed from this screen as well. Effective January 2010, the complete run of The Journal of Chemical Education is also available from this site.
ArticleFirst (OCLC FirstSearch)
Contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of over 16,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. The database contains over 27,000,000 records, from 1990-date. Although this database does not contain any full text articles, it does link to full text articles in Wilson Select Plus.
Engineering Village (Elsevier)
Engineering Village is an integrated interface for finding engineering information. Its main feature is Compendex: the most comprehensive database of scientific and engineering research available, covering 120 years of core engineering literature. Links are also provided to the U.S Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office databases, a web search engine for scientific information, and LexisNexis daily news. Other features include Ask a Librarian or Ask an Engineer email services.
General OneFile includes more than 6,300 full-text titles, 400 major newspapers -- a total of nearly 11,000 titles in all with more than 20 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present for selected titles. The database contains more than 87 million records including wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events; indexing of The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and Christian Science Monitor; and general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers.
Cindy Gillham
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
McNichols Campus Library
gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810