Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Research guides

Human Services

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Human Services

Michigan Electronic Library logoAcademic OneFile (Gale)

MEL.

Academic OneFile is a major source of  full-text articles 1980-date from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times 1985-date. Some audio files and broadcast transcripts from National Public Radio Programming are included. Updated daily.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Wiley Online Library

The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

JSTOR

Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Criminal Justice Databases

Education Databases

OmniFile Full Text (Ebsco; formerly H.W. Wilson)

Includes full text from over 2,700 journals, representing all of the full text materials from eleven key Wilson databases. Coverage extends from 1994-date.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Gerontology

AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)

The AARP website has many resources of interest for research on aging, especially in the United States. The "Office of Academic Affairs " links to many full text articles and position papers. Under Research Databases, "Internet Sources on Aging" links to nearly 1,000 websites and AgeSource/AgeStats provides worldwide data.

A free electronic newsletter providing updates is available. Registration and subscription information is available at https://login.aarp.org/online-community/loginform.action

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebsco)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides abstracts and indexing for more than 830 journals, of which 550 are availabile in full text. About 450 of the journals are peer-reviewed. This database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Psychology and Social Sciences Databases

PsycINFO 1887 (ProQuest)

PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.


SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews 1979-date, currently the database contains over112,000 records, with about 5,500 added annually.


Subjects covered include: community and mental health services, crisis intervention. family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice, support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect, and  welfare services

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Book Databases

Michigan Electronic Library logoeBook Collection (Ebsco)

MEL.

eBooks by Ebsco is a collection of over 15,000 electronic books, made available through the University of Detroit Mercy and the Michigan Electronic Library. In addition to many current and recent titles, the collection includes over  3,000 classic texts that are no longer copyrighted. Books may be read online; printing options are limited.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top