Product Development and Management Association (PDMA)

The PDMA is a nonprofit, professional society that supports research, discussion, and innovation among those who develop and manage new goods and services. The PDMA website offers a free, online quarterly magazine that covers the latest development trends and techniques, a calendar of seminars and conferences, information about professional certification, free job postings, and a members only resume database.

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

The SME provides resources for professionals and companies to develop and improve knowledge, skills, and manufacturing solutions. The SME website includes detailed information about various certifications, including sample exams and self-assessments, fee-based online courses and courses on video,a database of university and college manufacturing programs, two free monthly e-newsletters, "Lean Directions," and "Six Sigma Quality in Manufacturing," industry news, a code of ethics, and members-only job postings.

Society of Concurrent Product Development (SCPD)

The SCPD is an educational organization that promotes the development and implementation of Concurrent Engineering (CE) and Integrated Product Development (IPD). The website includes full-text articles and papers on CE and IPD.

Industrial Designers Society of America (ISDA)

The IDSA fosters industrial design quality and impact through professional development, continuing education, and promotion. The IDSA website features design news, seminar and conference listings, awards and competitions, a directory of industrial design companies, information on schools that offer accredited industrial design programs, and free internship and job postings.

Association of Professional Design Firms (APDF)

The APDF promotes quality business practices for designers. The APDF website has a calendar of roundtable events and seminars and information about publications and surveys.

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)

The SAE includes engineers, businessmen and students who share ideas and information to advance the engineering of self-propelled vehicles. The SAE website includes information on scholarships and internships, conferences and symposia, design competitions, certification programs, fee-based online courses, videotaped courses, and online forums.

Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD)

The ESD is a multidisciplinary engineering and scientific society that promotes professional development, technology, engineering and science professions, and positive contributions to society. The ESD website includes licensure information and courses, monthly networking events, competitions and awards, career expos with potential employers, free job postings, and a members-only resume database.