American Society of Safety Engineers

From their website:    "Founded in 1911, ASSE is the oldest and largest professional safety organization. Its more than 30,000 members manage, supervise and consult on safety, health, and environmental issues in industry, insurance, government and education.Founded in 1911, ASSE is the oldest and largest professional safety organization. Its more than 30,000 members manage, supervise and consult on safety, health, and environmental issues in industry, insurance, government and education."

ANSI: American National Standards Institute

ANSI "empowers its members and constituents to strengthen the U.S. marketplace position in the global economy while helping to assure the safety and health of consumers and the protection of the environment.

Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more."

BEAC Board of Environmental, Health & Safety Auditor Certifications

The BEAC website states: "BEAC is an independent, nonprofit corporation established in 1997 to issue professional certifications relating to environmental, health, and safety auditing and other scientific fields."

Business Start Up Assistant

This website contains the Canadian informtion to "find essential business start-up information from the federal and provincial governments, as well as many other sources."

CANOSH: Canada's National Occupational Health and Safety Web Site

This website contains the "occupational health and safety information provided by the federal, provincial and territorial governments of Canada and by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety."  It is also available in French.French.

Case Study: Anatomy of a Confined Space Fire

This articles explores the Port of Anchorage, AK. fire at TANK T-1001 of the Williams Petroleum tank farm.  It includes the causes of the fire, lessons learned, photographs, and a short bibliography.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

CDC's mission is "To promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability."  find information on a variety of health and safety issues, including Workplace Safety and Health, Environmental Health, and Emergency Preparedness and Response,  The website is also available in Spanish.

The eBulletin: Radiological Protection Bulletin

This partiicular articles is entitled: A gamma radiography accident in Russia - a lesson learned the hard way.

GPO Access: Electronic Code of Federal Regulations

This website contains the Code of Federal Regulations.  However, "It is not an official legal edition of the CFR."

"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.:

GPO Access: The Federal Register

This website is the search engine for the Federal Register's official daily publication of rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Hazardous Products Act (Canada) - Summary of key Sections

This website contains a summary of the Canadian Hazardous Products Act.

Inland Waters: 24 Hour Emergency Response

Industrial cleaning and maintenance, confined space and rescue,  sewer cleaning and rehabilitation,  24 hours spill response, air monitoring, and asbestos abatement are just a few of the services provided by this company.

Insurer's Loss Control Institute

The purpose of the institute is: "The Loss Control Institute is based on a fundamental principal: Provide specialized training for insurance professionals to make sound, in depth, loss control risk assessment decisions for the Property & Casualty Insurance Industry."

Labor and Economic Growth

Find information from the Sate of Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth (DLEG) including MIOSHA,  construction codes, licensing services, the Energy Office, liquor control, and more.

National Fire Protection Association

From the website: "The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education."

National Safety Council

The Council is "dedicated to educating and influencing people to prevent accidental injuries and deaths." It sponsors National Safety Month (June), training, resources, and more. 

Occupational Safety & Health Administration

From OHSA's website:   "The Occupational Safety and Health Administration aims to ensure employee safety and health in the United States by working with employers and employees to create better working environments."

Office of Hazardous Materials Safety

The Office of Hazardous Materials develops, recommends, and promotes regulatory changes governing the  transportation of hazardous materials to minimize the risks to life and property inherent in commercial transportation of hazardous materials.

"OHM functions can be consolidated into five categories: regulatory development, enforcement, training and information dissemination, domestic and international standards, and inter-agency cooperative activities."

OSHA Recordkeeping Handbook

This website contains the OSHA handbook on the "regulation and related interpretations for recording and reporting occupations injuries and illness."

Safety Systems

According to their website: "Safety Systems is a Michigan company that specializes in designing and installing engineered fall protection systems for industrial, commercial and governmental clients throughout the U.S." 

You’ve Been Selected to Be a VPP Onsite Team Member! Now What?

Provides background on the VPP (Voluntary Protection Programs) onsite review process.