Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Research guides

Mechanical Engineering

Research Guides

Mechanical Engineering Libguide

Find out where to look for articles, books, websites and information on mechanical engineering topics

Last update: 10-20-2014

Automotive Technology Alternatives

This list includes books and online videos on electric, hybrid and alternative fuel vehicles as well as new automotive materials and technology.

Last update: 03-02-2012

Alternative energy

Includes websites, ebooks, ejournals and books on alternative and renewable energy sources such as hydrogen fuel cells, solar energy and wind energy.

Last update: 04-19-2012

CAD CAM

This list includes books on computer systems, including CATIA and AutoCAD, used in product design and manufacture.

Last update: 11-28-2012

Online Mechanical Engineering Handbooks

Engineering handbooks in this list are available to UDM students, faculty and staff through the ebrary database.

Last update: 09-29-2009

Engineering Blogs

Last update: 10-03-2008

Engineering Ethics

Books, eBooks, DVDs and websites on ethical issues in engineering.

Last update: 03-18-2013

Fluid Mechanics

This list includes websites, videos and books on fluid mechanics theory, computation, modeling, and applications.

Last update: 03-01-2012

Heating, Refrigeration and Ventilation

Resources in this list include websites, handbooks, mechanical code rules and basic principles on heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration. (Created 2004, updated April, 2007)

Last update: 04-27-2011

Mechatronics

This list includes books and links to websites on mechatronics and microelectrical mechanical systems design, techniques, and applications. (Created 2006).

Last update: 03-23-2011

Metal Cutting and Machining

This list includes websites, videos and books on machining theory, techniques, cutting tools and manufacturing processes. Innovative new techniques such as water jet machining and electrical discharge machining are also included. (Created 2004).

Last update: 10-13-2012

Metal Forming

This list includes various resources on sheet metal forming and die design. (Created 2006).

Last update: 03-23-2011

Nanotechnology

This list includes books, videos and websites on nanomaterials, nanomanufacturing, nanotechnology and the impact of nanoscience on society and the environment.  (Created October, 2007)

Last update: 07-17-2010

Nondestructive Testing

This list includes books, websites and journal articles on detecting, locating and charactering conditions and flaws in materials or systems that may affect their performance.  (Created August, 2007).

Last update: 08-11-2009

Science and Technical Writing

This list includes books, ebooks and websites on how to write scientific reports, papers, and grant proposals, as well as how to design posters and slide presentations.

Last update: 09-06-2013

Women in Engineering

This guide includes books, ebooks and websites on the history of women in engineering, the current issues associated with women in engineering fields, and initiatives and organizations promoting the involvement of girls and women in all of the STEM fields.

Last update: 10-14-2013

Engineering Reference and Handbooks

Resources in this list include engineering dictionaries, encyclopedias, writing guides, and handbooks.

Search Engines and Free Databases

This list includes free (nonsubscription) science databases, directories, and search engines. It also includes search engines and directories for RSS feeds, blogs, podcasts, and videocasts. (Created 2006).

Last update: 07-02-2008

Click here for subscription databases available to UDM students, staff and faculty.

Engineering Education Resources

Last update: 10-03-2012

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top