Arab-Israeli conflict in the media : producing shared memory and national identity in the global television era

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required).

Table of Contents:

• The television documentary and the representation of national identity and shared memory
• Television, nationalism and globalization
• Co-producing television programmes
• The cultural economy of the 'Televised history': The Fifty Years War -- the production process
• Editing national and culture: the final three cuts
• TV 'Tension': Globalization vs. nationalism and shared vs. cosmopolitan  memory in co-produced television documentaries  
• Conclusion

Cruel radiance : photography and political violence

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required).

Curating oral histories : from interview to archive

Available in the ebrary database.

Documentary testimonies : global archives of suffering

How to setup, light, & shoot great looking interviews (using a light kit that costs under $1500)

One DVD (60 minutes).

KenBurns

This website includes biographical and professional background on Ken Burns, as well as links to descriptions and clips of more than twenty of his films.
 

Michael Moore : filmmaker, newsmaker, cultural

Photographs for a lifetime

Photography as activism : images for social change

Contents:

·    Chapter One: Activism: Practice and Process
o    Philosophy and Psychology
o    History: Early Activism
o    History: Early Conflict and War Photography
o    Social Reform and the Progressive Era
o    Farm Security Administration

·    Chapter Two: Moments in Time
o    Modern History
o    W. Eugene Smith
o    Mary Ellen Mark
o    Susan Meiselas
o    Donna Ferrato v
o    British Activism: Chris Killip and Paul Graham
o    Stephen Shames v
o    Sebastiô Salgado

·    Chapter Three: Constructing a Better World
o    Eugene Richards
o    Marcus Bleasdale
o    Tom Stoddart v
o    Jonathan Torgovnik
o    Edward Kashi
o    Brent Stirton
o    Stephen Dupont
o    Walter Astrada

·    Appendix: Resources
o    Websites, Magazines & Galleries
o    Festivals & Events
o    Non-Profits & NGOs
o    Miscellaneous Projects
o    Foundations & Grants
o    Photographers & Artists
 

Radio utopia : postwar audio documentary in the public interest

Recording Memories from Political Violence : A Film-maker's Journey

Available in the ebrary database.

Robert Frank's The Americans: the art of documentary photography

Available in the ebrary database.

Shanghai television's documentary channel : Chinese television as public space

Available in the ebrary database.

Shut up and shoot documentary guide : a Down & dirty DV production

Trespassing through shadows : memory, photography, and the Holocaust

Available in print and online through the ebrary database.