Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Women's & Gender Studies

Research Guides

Feminist Movement

By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920

Library of Congress.

The Library of Congress has extensive and varied resources related to the campaign for woman suffrage in the United States. This selection of 38 pictures includes portraits of many individuals who have been frequently requested from the holdings of the Prints and Photographs Division and the Manuscript Division. Also featured are photographs of suffrage parades, picketing suffragists, and an anti-suffrage display, as well as cartoons commenting on the movement--all evoking the visible and visual way in which the debate over women's suffrage was carried out.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement

Special Collections Library, Duke University.

The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group. The items in this on-line collection are scanned and transcribed from original documents held in Duke's Special Collections Library.

Feminist Library

The Feminist Library is a large archive collection of Women’s Liberation Movement literature, particularly second-wave materials dating from the late 1960s to the 1990s.

Radical Women in Gainesville

University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.

Documents the valiant history of women in the Gainesville Women's Liberation Movement. The collection is comprised of photos, oral histories, self-published newsprints, newsletters, brochures, notes from feminist organizations, and other original documents.

Timeline of Women's Suffrage in the United States

This site provides a chronlogical list of the timeline of the feminist movement from 1776 to 1920.

Rebecca Tull

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

tullrs@udmercy.edu
313-993-1077

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides Library Instruction Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top