Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Women's & Gender Studies

Career + Professional

History (Her story)

American Women Through Time

Middleton, Ken.

The site offers two approaches for the study of specific time periods in American women's history: a timeline, and each section includes a guide to research sources that are appropriate for the specified time period.

Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America´╗┐

Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.

This website "documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future." The collection contains resources on the following topics: Women's Rights and Feminism; Health and sexuality; Work and family life; Education and the professions; and Culinary history and etiquette. Specific collections available include: the Julia Child papers, Pauli Murray papers, June Jordan papers, Magazines and zines, and more.

 

Carlyle Letters Online

Duke University Press.

This is a digital archive based on the Duke-Edinburgh edition of The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle. As much as any other couple living in the nineteenth century, Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle defined what it was to be “Victorian.”

Civil War Women

Rubenstein Library, Duke University.

Collection contains the Rose O'Neal Greenhow papers (mostly correspondence with Rose Greenhow related to her activities on behalf of the Confederate States of America); the Alice Williamson diary (kept by a schoolgirl at Gallatin, Tennessee from February to September 1864. The main topic of the diary is the occupation of Gallatin and the surrounding region by Union forces under General Eleazer A. Paine.); and the Sarah E. Thompson papers (she worked alongside her husband (a recruiter for the Union Army) assembling and organizing Union sympathizers in a predominately rebel area around Greeneville, Tennessee. After he was killed in 1864, she continued to work for the Union, providing intelligence that in one case led to the capture of a Confederate General)

Discovering American Women's History Online

Middleton, Ken.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

International Museum of Women

From the website of IMOW: The mission of IMOW is to inspire creativity, awareness and action on vital global issues for women. We are an online museum that showcases art, stories and ideas to celebrate, inspire and advance the lives of women around the world. IMOW organizes multimedia online exhibitions and temporary physical events and installations, develops toolkits for educators and hosts public programs featuring world-class authors, artists, and political leaders.

Michigan Women's Historical Center & Hall of Fame

Michigan Humanities Council.

This site provides access to Michigan Women's Hall of Fame, Michigan Women's Studies Association, The Michigan Women's Historical Center and Michigan Women's gift shop.

National Women's History Project

The NWHP is an educational nonprofit organization, whose mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information, educational materials, and programs.

Sophia Smith Collection - Digital Collections

Smith College.

Archive contains:

  • tens of thousands of original photographs, slides, negatives, postcards, artwork, scrapbooks, and illustrated print sources (periodicals, broadsides, fliers, pamphlets, and posters)
  • online exhibits such as Girl Zines, YWCA of the USA, Women's Activism, and more
  • oral histories such as the Voice of Feminism, Population and Reproductive Health, An Activist Life, and more.

Timeline of Women's Suffrage in the United States

This site provides a chronlogical list of the timeline of the feminist movement from 1776 to 1920.

Women's History in America, presented by Women's International Center

This site provides WIC articles, such as, Women's Rights, Feminist Philosophies, Fighting for the Vote, Reform Movements and much more.

Rebecca Tull

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

tullrs@udmercy.edu
313-993-1077

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides Library Instruction Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top