Notice: Undefined variable: link in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 1097

Notice: Undefined variable: return in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 1097

Notice: Undefined variable: vid in /var/www/libs/inc/guides/guides.inc.php on line 1113
Research Guides | Sociology | Research guides | University of Detroit Mercy Libraries / Instructional Design Studio Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Sociology

Research Guides

War on Poverty

Subject Headings for Research on the War on Poverty

 

Other subject topics  to use when researching the War on Poverty.

food stamps

Great Society
Head Start

job training
Lyndon B. Johnson
Medicare
Medicaid
youth employment
work study

 

UDM Books on War on Poverty

Project Head Start : a legacy of the War on Poverty

Edward Zigler and Jeanette Valentine, editors.. (Free Press, c1979)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 4091 .P73

War on poverty

Hubert H. Humphrey. (McGraw-Hill [1964])
HC106.5 H84

Review of Medicaid reform efforts in other states

David Fosdick and Steve Angelotti. (Michigan Senate Fiscal Agency, [2006])
McNichols Campus Library
RA 412.4 .F67 2006

Journal Articles on the War on Poverty

Kennedy, Johnson, and the War on Poverty

Carl M. Brauer. The Journal of American History. (Vol. 69, No. 1 (Jun., 1982), pp. 98-119)
In JStor

You must be a student or faculty member at UDM to access this article.

The “War on Poverty” after 40 Years:

Stephanie A. Bell and L. Randall Wray. The Levy Economics Institute of Bard College, Paper presented at the annual meetings of the American Social Science. (Working Paper No. 404, January 2004, p.1-33.)

Websites on War on Poverty

Lyndon Johnson's War on Poverty

NPR (National Public Radio).

Listen to the NPR program on the 40th anniversary (2004) of President Lyndon's Johnson's first State of the Union address when he declared a War on Poverty.  Listen to seven (7) other broadcasts related to the topic.

Modern History Sourcebook: President Lyndon B. Johnson: The War on Poverty, March 1964

Modern History Sourcebook.

The text of President Lyndon Johnson's special message to Congress in 1964. "This text is part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook" and was taken from "Public Papers of U.S. Presidents, Lyndon B. Johnson, 1963-1964 (Washington: G.P.O., 1965), 1, pp. 375-380."

Primary Sources: Lyndon B. Johnson, 36th President: State of the Union Address, 1964

PBS (Public Broadcasting Service).

Read the entire State of the Union address to Congress on March 16, 1964.

War on Poverty

Wikipedia.

Wikipedia's webpage on the War on Poverty.

War on Poverty: Then and Now

Brookings Institute and Georgetown Public Policy Institute.

Read the transcript of a panel of experts examining "which anti-poverty initiatives have worked and what role government can play in improving quality of life."

eBooks on the War on Poverty

Suggested Databases for Articles on War on Poverty

Michigan Electronic Library logoAcademic OneFile (Gale)

MEL.

Academic OneFile is a major source of  full-text articles 1980-date from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times 1985-date. Some audio files and broadcast transcripts from National Public Radio Programming are included. Updated daily.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

JSTOR

Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

VIDEOS

LBJ [DVD]

written and produced by David Grubin.. (a KERA Production in association with David Grubin Productions, Inc. for American Experience ; WGBH Educational Foundation)
McNichols Campus Library
E 176.1 .P74 2008 v.6
LBJ State of Union War on Poverty
Click here to play video

WATCH THE VIDEO

Listen to President Lyndon B. Johnson's War on Poverty section of this first address to Congress.

Rebecca Tull

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

tullrs@udmercy.edu
313-993-1077

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top