Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Sociology

Research Guides

Altruism

Subject Headings for Research on Altruism

Other subject topics  to use when researching altruism:

charitable behavior

community involvement

helping behavior

prosocial behavior

self sacrifice

selflessness

sharing

volunteering/volunteerism

UDM Books on Altruism

The altruism equation : seven scientists search for the origins of goodness

Dugatkin, Lee Alan. (Princeton University Press, c2006)
McNichols Campus Library
Princeton University Press, c2006

Altruism in world religions

Jacob Neusner and Bruce D. Chilton, editors. (Georgetown University Press, c2005)
McNichols Campus Library
BJ 1474 .A475 2005

The compassionate temperament : care and cruelty in modern society

Natan Sznaider. (Rowman & Littlefield, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HM 1146 .S95 2001

Altruistic emotion, cognition, and behavior

Nancy Eisenberg. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 1986)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 637 .H4 E37 1986

Suggested Databases for Articles on Altruism

JSTOR

Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsycINFO 1887 (ProQuest)

PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.


SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoAcademic OneFile (Gale)

MEL.

Academic OneFile is a major source of  full-text articles 1980-date from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times 1985-date. Some audio files and broadcast transcripts from National Public Radio Programming are included. Updated daily.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Journal Articles on Altruism

Altruism: A Review of Recent Theory and Research

Piliavin, Jane Allyn; Charng, Hong-Wen. Annual Review of Sociology. (Vol. 16, (1990), pp. 27-65)
In JStor

You must be a student or faculty member at UDM to access this articles.

Altruism: Myth or Reality?

Batson, Dan and Ahmad, Nadia. In-Mind Magazine Social Psychology For You. (Articles, Issue 6)

Free article with references.

Websites on Altruism

Altruism What Is Altruism?

Altruists International.

Explore this website, find the definition, history, articles and links on altruism.

Altruistic Personality and Prosocial Behavior Institute

Oliner, Dr. Samuel P. and Oliner, Dr. Pearl.

Website lists publications of the Institute as well as having an extensive references page.  Institute appears to be interested in altruism and the holocaust.

eBooks on Altruism

Beyond Good and Evil

Nietzsche, Friedrich Wilhelm.

Download the ebook for free from Project Gutenberg.

Biological Altruism

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

A free encylopedia maintained by Stanford. extensive bibliography.

Philosophy of Poverty

Proudhon, Pierre-Joseph.

Read this ebook for free from Rod Hay's Archive for the History of Economic Thought, McMaster University, Canada.

Selflessness Toward a Buddhist Vision of Social Justice

Cho, Sungtaek.

A focus article from the 2001 Polylog Forum for Intercultural Philosophy written by Sungtaek Cho is Assistant Professor for Buddhism and East Asian Religions at State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Rebecca Tull

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

tullrs@udmercy.edu
313-993-1077

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top