Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Religious Studies

Research Guides

Religious Studies on the Web

About Buddhism

An informational site that includes a comprehensive history of the faith, as well as specific beliefs, and the role of meditation.

Al-Islam

The Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project. A subject index to the site is available at: http:al-islam.org/alpha.php.

All About Mormons

The official site of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Includes faith beliefs, Church history, ancestry, and much more.

American Bible Society

The American Bible Society provides Bibles in numerous translations and formats in order that all peoples can access The Word.

Anglicans Online

A comprehensive site for the international Anglican Church, including the American Episcopal Church. Includes faith beliefs, news, essays, etc.

Association of Religious Data Archives

ARDA is maintained by the Dept. of Sociology at Pennsylvania State University. They collect data sets on American religion for quantitative and comparative study.

AVESTA: Zoroastrian Archives

This site provides in-depth research into the ancient religion known as Zoroastrianism. Still practiced today, particularly in Iran and India. The religion dominated the world during the Persian Empire, 559 BC to 651 AC, and had a profound influence on other faiths. The site includes "the complete text of the extant Avesta" (ancient scriptures of the faith), information about the Avestan language, and helpful information on Zoroastrian faith beliefs.

BBC Religions

BBC.

Guides to the world's religions.

Bible Gateway

The Bible Gateway is a tool for reading and researching scripture online in multiple languages and multiple translations.

Catholic Online

A Catholic-based search engine and resource that includes a news service, information on saints, the Catholic Encyclopedia, vocations, the New Jerusalem Bible online, a web forum, prayers, etc.

The International Website of the Bahai Faith

Includes Bahai teachings, prayers, information on community life, publications, and much more.

Jewish Virtual Library

American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise.

The Jewish Virtual Library is the most comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia in the world, covering everything from anti-Semitism to Zionism. So far, more than 13,000 articles and 6,000 photographs and maps have been integrated into the site. The Library has 13 wings: History, Women, The Holocaust, Travel, Israel & The States, Maps, Politics, Biography, Israel, Religion, Judaic Treasures of the Library of Congress, Vital Statistics and Reference. Each of these has numerous subcategories.

Judaism and Jewish Resources

Judaism and Jewish resources  website includes information and links on Jewish Studies, Hebrew, Jewish Arts, Archaeology, the Holocaust, and numerous links on Jewish faith and culture.

The Pluralism Project

Harvard University.

The Pluralism Project is a two decade-long research project that engages students in studying the new religious diversity in the United States. In particular, the communities and religious traditions of Asia and the Middle East that have become woven into the religious fabric of the United States in the past twenty-five years are explored.

Quakers (The Friends)

This website includes everything having to do with the Quakers including faith beliefs, spirituality, politics, the history of the Friends throughout the World, and numerous links to related sites.

Resource Pages for Biblical Studies

Seland, Torrey.

These resource pages are compiled and owned by Torrey Seland, Professor of New Testament Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Misjonsmarka 12. 4024 Stavanger. Norway. These pages are intended as a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.

Virtual Religion Index

Smith, Mahlon H..

The Virtual Religion Index is designed to advance research in matters of religion. It is a tool that analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites. Hyperlinks are provided to homepages and major directories and documents within.

Julia L. Eisenstein

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

eisensjl@udmercy.edu
313-578-0576

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top