Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Religious Studies

Research Guides

Islamic Studies

Databases

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

This resource brings together the best current scholarship in the field for students, scholars, government officials, community groups, and librarians to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned and approved under the guidance of the Editor in Chief, John L. Esposito.

Encompassing over 5,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Qu'ran

The Holy Qurʾān : text, translation, and brief notes

Maudoodi, Syed Abul ʻAla. (6th ed., Islamic Publications, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 109 1991

The Koran

Dawood, N. J. (trans). (3rd rev. ed., Penguin Books, 1968])
McNichols Campus Library
BP 109 .D31 1968

The Koran

Rodwell, John Medows (trans.). (Charles E. Tuttle, 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 109 1994

Quran : the final testament : authorized English version, with the Arabic text

Khalifa, Rashad. (Islamic Productions, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 109 2005

Qu'ran Commentaries

Approaching the Qurʾan : the early revelations

Sells, Michael Anthony. (White Cloud Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library

Also available electronically.

The Blackwell companion to the Qurān

Rippin, Andrew. (Blackwell Pub., 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 130.4 .B57 2006

English translation of the meaning of Al-Qur'ān : the guidance for mankind

Malik, Muhammad Farooq-i-Azam. (Institute of Islamic Knowledge, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 109 .K45 2006

The meaning of the Holy Quʾrān

Ali, Abdullah Yusuf. (Amana Publications, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 109 2004

Reading the Qur'an : the contemporary relevance of the sacred text of Islam

Sardar, Ziauddin. (Oxford University Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 130.4 .S376 2011

Also available electronically.

The Qurʾan : a biography

Lawrence, Bruce B.. (Atlantic Monthly Press, c2006)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 130.74 .L39 2006

Books

The cultural roots of American Islamicism

Marr, Timothy. (Cambridge University Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
E 164 .M37 2006

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world

Martin, Richard C. (ed.). (Thomson/Gale, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 40 .E525 2004

In Reference, in two volumes.

Also available electronically.

Essential Islam : a comprehensive guide to belief and practice

Morgan, Diane. (Praeger/ABC-CLIO, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 174 .M67 2010

Forces of fortune : the rise of the new Muslim middle class and what it will mean for our world

Nasr, Seyyed Vali Reza. (Free Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
DS 63.1 .N373 2009

The headscarf controversy : secularism and freedom of religion

Elver, Hilal. (Oxford University Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 190.5 .H44 E48 2012

Historical atlas of Islam

Munro-Hay, S. C. (ed.). (Continuum International Pub. Group, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 50 .F74 2002

In Reference

Islam

Gordon, Matthew. (Facts On File, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 161.2 .G66 2001

Islam as political religion : the future of an imperial faith

Akhtar, Shabbir. (Routledge, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 173.7 .A4925 2011

Islam between culture and politics

Tibi, Bassam. (Palgrave Macmillan: Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Harvard University, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 163 .T529 2005

Islam in America

Smith, Jane I.. (Columbia University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 67 .U6 S6 2010

Islam : past, present, and future

Kung, Hans. (Oneworld, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 161.3 .K8513 2007

Islam : the straight path

Esposito, John L.. (5th ed., Oxford University Press, 2016)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 161.2 .E85 2016

Islamic radicalism and global jihad

Springer, Devin R. (Georgetown University Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 182 .S67 2009

Also available electronically.

Islamism and Islam

Tibi, Bassam. (Yale University Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 173.5 .T534 2012

Also available electronically.

Jesus and Muhammad : parallel tracks, parallel lives

Peters, F. E.. (Oxford University Press, 2011.)
McNichols Campus Library
BT 301.3 .P43 2011

Militant Islamists : terrorists without frontiers

Alaolmolki, Nozar. (Praeger Security International, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 190.5 .T47 A55 2009

One Islam, many Muslim worlds : spirituality, identity, and resistance across Islamic lands

Baker, Raymond William. (Oxford University Press, 2015)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 161.3 .B344 2015

Political Islam : context versus ideology

Ḥarūb, Khālid. (Saqi : London Middle East Institute, SOAS, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 173.7 .P655 2010

Religion and politics in the Middle East : identity, ideology, institutions, and attitudes

Lee, Robert Deemer. (Westview Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
BL 65 .P7 L4263 2010

What is Islam? : the importance of being Islamic

Ahmed, Shahab. (Princeton University Press, 2016)
McNichols Campus Library

Log in to access electronic book.

The secret history of al Qaeda

Atwan, Abdel Bari. (University of California Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 6432.5 .Q2 A89 2008

Women and Islam

Kassam, Zayn. (Praeger, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 173.4 .W694 2010

DVD's/Videos

9/11 backlash : being Muslim in America

Drake, Steve. (Discovery Communications, distributed by Insight Media, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
E 184 .M88 A17 2005

55 min.

Great world religions. Islam

Aigret, Jaimee M.; Dunton, Tom; Esposito, John L.. (Great Courses, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 165 .E87 2003 no.1 DVD

Islam

Harrison, Ted. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 161.3 .I85 2006

24 min.

Islam, empire of faith

Gardner, Robert. (Gardner Films, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 50 .I85 2009

180 min.

Muhammad : legacy of a prophet

Al-Qattan, Omar (Director). (Unity Productions Foundation, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
BP 75 .M83 2002

117 min.

Web Resources

Al-Islam. org

Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project.

Al-Islam.org is created and maintained by the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project (DILP), a registered Non Profit Organisation that operates through the collaborative effort of volunteers based in many countries around the world. Al-Islam.org's objectives are to digitize and present on the Internet quality Islamic resources, related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion and the Muslim peoples, with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought.  Al-Islam.org attempts to present a balanced and accurate picture of Islam as it has been taught and practiced by the Most Noble Messenger Muhammad and his family, the Ahlul Bayt.

Council on American Islamic Relations (CAIR)

The Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR) is a grassroots civil rights and advocacy group. CAIR's mission is to enhance understanding of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims, and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.

Islam: Empire of Faith

PBS.

An online supplement to the PBS documentary, this site provides introductory information to the faith, culture and innovation of Islam. Short profiles of Muhammad, Saladin, Mamun, Rumi, Mehmed, and Suleyman are included. Click below to view the documentary.

Part 1 of Islam: Empire of Faith, a PBS Documentary

https://youtu.be/PF6VPZsHDZQ

 

 Part 2 of Islam: Empire of Faith, a PBS Documentary

https://youtu.be/-6FvFg4p7kI

 

Part 3 of Islam: Empire of Faith, a PBS Documentary

https://youtu.be/unwlm-hDSh8

Islam (Bookshelf)

Project Gutenberg.

Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks.

IslamiCity

IslamiCity website was launched in 1995. It provides a non-sectarian, comprehensive and holistic view of Islam and Muslims to a global audience. IslamiCity has evolved into one of the world’s leading online source of Islamic information and one of the largest Muslim e-Community, offering a wide range of information and services. IslamiCity is operated by Human Assistance & Development International (HADI), a non-profit organization working for the socio-economic, educational and scientific development of people worldwide.

Julia L. Eisenstein

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

eisensjl@udmercy.edu
313-578-0576

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top