Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Product Development

Research Guides

Six Sigma

Motorola University

Motorola.

Motorola, the original developer of Six Sigma, includes a free Six Sigma dictionary, Six Sigma lessons, and full-text articles on this website, as well links to enroll in fee-based training programs.

GE Commitment to Quality

General Electric.

This website includes a brief introduction to Six Sigma and how GE integrates Six Sigma into its'  approach to quality.  A Six Sigma glossary is also included.

iSixSigma

iSixSigma.

This companion website to iSixSigma magazine includes many free features, such as articles on Six Sigma implementation, Six Sigma Q&A's, a timed, certification practice test, Six Sigma blogs, news, podcasts, and discussion forums.  It also has job listings, directory listings, an events calendar, and even links to articles about other quality methodologies.

Introduction to Lean Six Sigma Methods (MIT online video course)

Murman, Earll; Weigel, Annalisa; Haggerty, Al; McManus, Hugh.

This online course from MIT includes fifteen video lectures on fundamental approaches for modern continuous improvement.

Implementing Six Sigma: Smarter Solutions Using Statistical Methods

Breyfogle, Forrest. (John Wiley, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .B75 1999

Six Sigma Way : How GE, Motorola, and Other Top Companies Are Honing Their Performance

Pande, Peter S.; Neuman, Robert P.; Cavanagh, Roland R.. (McGraw-Hill Professional, 2000)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

*Note: NetLibrary access requires an initial, one-time, in-library registration.

Managing Six Sigma : a practical guide to understanding, assessing, and implementing the strategy that yields bottom line success

Breyfogle, Forrest; Cupello, James;Meadows, Becki. (Wiley, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .B755 2000

Six sigma handbook: a complete guide for greenbelts, blackbelts, and managers at all levels

Pyzdek, Thomas. (McGraw-Hill, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 155 .P799 2001

Six sigma revolution: how General Electric and others turned process into profits

Eckes, George. (John Wiley, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .E285 2000

Table of Contents

*Note: NetLibrary access requires an initial, one-time, in-library registration.

Six sigma: SPC and TQM in manufacturing and services

Tennant, Geoff. (Gower, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .T45 2001

Six sigma way team fieldbook: an implementation guide for project improvement teams

Pande, Peter S.; Neuman, Robert P; and Roland R. Cavanagh.. (McGraw-Hill, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .P265 2001

What is six sigma?

Pande, Pete; Holpp, Larry. (McGraw-Hill, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156.8 .P22 2002

Evolution of six sigma

Folaron, Jim; Morgan, J. P.. ASQ Six Sigma Forum Magazine. (2(4), Aug 2003, 38-44)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in ABI-Inform

Implementing six sigma : smarter solutions using statistical methods

Breyfogle, Forrest W.. (Wiley, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .B75 2003

Leaning into Six Sigma : a parable of the journey to Six Sigma and a lean enterprise

Wheat, Barbara; Mills, Chuck; Carnell, Mike. (McGraw-Hill, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 62.15 .W44 2003

Power of design for Six Sigma

Chowdhury, Subir. (Dearborn Trade, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 31 .C5138 2003

Six Sigma: Continual Improvement for Business: A Practical Guide

Truscott, William. (Butterworth-Heinemann, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .T78 2003

Improving on the six sigma paradigm

Goh,T.N.; Xie, M.. TQM Magazine. (16(4), Aug 2004, 235-40)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in ABI Inform and in Emerald Publishing Co. database.

Six Sigma Business Scorecard : Ensuring Performance for Profit

Gupta, Praveen. (McGraw-Hill Professional, 2004.)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

* Note: NetLibrary access requires an initial, one-time, in-library registration.

Six sigma education: a critical role for academia

TQM Magazine. (16(4), Aug 2004, 292-302)
McNichols Campus Library & Dental School Library
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in ABI Inform and in Emerald Publishing Co. database.

Statistics for Six Sigma made easy

Brussee, Warren. (McGraw-Hill, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156.8 .B78 2004

*Note: NetLibrary access requires an initial, one-time, in-library registration.

Creating lean corporations : reengineering from the bottom up to eliminate waste

Morgan, Jeffrey. (Productivity Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 58.87 .M67 2005

Table of Contents

Integrating six sigma and theory of constraints for continuous improvement: a case study

Ehie, Ike; Sheu, Chwen. Journal of Manufacturing Technology Management. (16(5), 2005, 542-553)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the Emerald Publishing Co. database.

Lean Six Sigma logistics : strategic development to operational success

Goldsby, Thomas; Martichenko, Robert J. Ross Pub., c2005. (J. Ross Pub., 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 38.5 .G63 2005

Table of Contents

Multiple-case comparison of Lean six sigma deployment and implementation strategies

O'Rourke, Peter. ASQ World Conference on Quality & Improvement Proceedings. (2005, p. 581-591)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in ABI-Inform

Service design for six sigma : a road map for excellence

El-Haik, Basem; Roy, David M.. (John Wiley, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .E38 2005

Six sigma execution : how the world's greatest companies live and breathe Six Sigma

Eckes, George. (McGraw-Hill, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .E28 2005

Six Sigma performance handbook : a statistical guide to optimizing results

Gupta, Praveen. (McGraw-Hill, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .G869 2005

Business performance through lean six sigma : linking the knowledge worker, the twelve pillars, and Baldrige

Schutta, James T.. (ASQ Quality Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 58.9 .S3844 2005

Table of Contents

Look forward beyond lean and Six Sigma : a self-perpetuating enterprise improvement method

Dirgo, Robert. (J. Ross Pub. : Co-published with the Institute of Aerospace Excellence, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 62.15 .D57 2006

Six Sigma: a vital improvement approach when applied to the right problems, in the right environment

Lee-Mortimer, Andrew. Assembly Automation. (26(1), 2006, 10-17)
McNichols Campus Library
T 59.5 .A74

Available in the Emerald Publishing Co. database.

Six sigma for the next millennium : a CSSBB guidebook

Pries, Kim. (ASQ Quality Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 62.15 .P75 2005

Table of Contents

Transactional Six sigma for green belts : maximizing service and manufacturing processes

Windsor, Samuel E.. (ASQ Quality Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9980.65 .W56 2005

Table of Contents

Best Practices in Lean Six Sigma Process Improvement: A Deeper Look

Schonberger, Richard. (John Wiley & Sons, c2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 62.15 .S365 2008

Robust design methodology for reliability : exploring the effects of variation and uncertainty

Bergman, Bo. (Wiley, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 173 .R623 2009

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top