Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Product Development

Research Guides

Automotive Manufacturing

Websites

FISITA: The International Federation of Automotive Engineering Societies

FISITA promotes efficient, affordable, safe and sustainable automobiles by facilitating discussion among automotive professionals, governments, and the public, and by supporting engineering education and training. The website includes general information about emissions, recycling, and safety, searchable free job postings, a free, online magazine, Auto Technology, with business and technology news, and information about student travel awards and fellowships.

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)

The SAE includes engineers, businessmen and students who share ideas and information to advance the engineering of self-propelled vehicles. The SAE website includes information on scholarships and internships, conferences and symposia, design competitions, certification programs, fee-based online courses, videotaped courses, and online forums.

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

The SME provides resources for professionals and companies to develop and improve knowledge, skills, and manufacturing solutions. The SME website includes detailed information about various certifications, including sample exams and self-assessments, fee-based online courses and courses on video,a database of university and college manufacturing programs, two free monthly e-newsletters, "Lean Directions," and "Six Sigma Quality in Manufacturing," industry news, a code of ethics, and members-only job postings.

Association for Manufacturing Excellence

The AME is a nonprofit organization that promotes discussion, analysis and implementation of productivity methods. It's website has information on workshops and seminars on lean manufacturing, kaizen principles, and other methods.

VIDEOS/DVDs

American car

Dore, Mary. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710.35 .U64 F636 2004

1 DVD (46 minutes).
"Summary: Investigates the world of automobile design and marketing, covering the Ford Motor Corporation's strategies to regain market preeminence as it redesigns its F150 truck to compete against GM's Hummer and Nissan's Titan."

Delivering continuous improvement

Wycherley, Darren. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710.3 .A2 D45 2004 DVD

1 DVD (63 minutes).
"Summary: Looks at the steps being employed by companies that manufacture vehicle components in their effort to survive the unprecedented global competition facing the automotive industry."

Sustainable design

David, John. (Classroom Video, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5413 .S87 2001

1 VHS tape (22 minutes).
Summary: "The importance of sustainability in design for three products: a smart car, a wind-up radio, and a pencil made from recycled materials."

Productivity on the fast track : simulation-based decision support system drives training, operations and planning at Visteon Sterling Plant

(The Institute For Operations Research and the Management Sciences, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710.3 .U64 V58 1999

1 VHS tape, 44 minutes.
Summary: "An award presentation on the simulation-based decision support system, which drives training, operations, and planning at the Visteon Sterling Plant in Michigan."

Books

Build to order : the road to the 5-day car

Parry, Glenn; Graves, Andrew. (Springer, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .B85 2008

Storied independent automakers : Nash, Hudson, and American Motors

Hyde, Charles K.,. (Wayne State University Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 215 .A44 H93 2009

Model T : a centennial history

Casey, Robert. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 215 .F75 C37 2008

Toyota product development system : integrating people, process, and technology

Morga, James M.; Liker, Jeffrey K.. (Productivity Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .M6787 2006

Table of Contents

High noon in the automotive industry

Becker, Helmut. (Springer, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 B43 2006

Table of Contents

Automotive production systems and standardisation : from Ford to the case of Mercedes-Benz

Clarke, Constanze. (Physica-Verlag, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 207 .C53 2005

Design of advanced manufacturing systems : models for capacity planning in advanced manufacturing systems

Matta, Andrea; Semeraro, Quirico (eds.). (Springer, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 155.6 .D473 2005

Auto fundamentals : how and why of the design, construction, and operation of automobiles : applicable to all makes and models

Stockel, Martin W.; Stockel, Martin T.; Johanson, Chris. (Goodheart-Willcox, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 240 .S83 2005

Driving from Japan : Japanese cars in America

James, Wanda. (McFarland, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 105 .J36 2005

Handbook of automotive engineering

Braess, Hans-Hermann; Seiffert, Ulrich (eds.). (SAE International, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 240 .V48 2005

 Translated by Peter L. Albrecht.

Hybrid gasoline-electric vehicle development

German, John M. (ed.). (Society of Automotive Engineers, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 221.15 .H944 2005

Hydrogen and fuel cells : emerging technologies and applications

Sørensen, Bent. (Elsevier Academic Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
TP 359 .H8 S68 2005

People's tycoon : Henry Ford and the American century

Watts, Steven. (A.A. Knopf, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U52 F6684 2005

The second century : reconnecting customer and value chain through build-to-order : moving beyond mass and lean production in the auto industry

Holweg, Matthias; Pil, Frits K.. (MIT Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 H65 2004

S.A.E. handbook.

Society of Automotive Engineers. (Society of Automotive Engineers, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 151 .S62 2001

Annual publication, current volumes kept in reference area, older volumes in stacks.

ISO 9001:2000 quality registration step-by-step

Dobb, Fred P.. (Elsevier Butterworth-Heinemann, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156.6 .D63 2004

Automotive engineering fundamentals

Stone, Richard. (SAE International, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 240 .S853 2004

Surviving transformation : lessons from GM's surprising turnaround

Barabba, Vincent P.. (Oxford University Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U54 G3726 2004

Time for a model change : re-engineering the global automobile industry

Maxton, Graeme P.; Wormald, John. (Cambridge University Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 M3863 2004

<A href='http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/cam041/2004045634.html">Table of Contents

BMW--Driven: inside BMW, the most admired car company in the world

Kiley, David. (John Wiley, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .G44 K55 2004

The end of Detroit : how the Big Three lost their grip on the American car market

Maynard, Micheline. (Currency/Doubleday, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U52 M39 2003

Book Description

Riding the roller coaster : a history of the Chrysler Corporation

Hyde, Charles K.. (Wayne State University Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U54 C467 2003

 

Available for in-library use only. (UDM Michigan Core Collection, Conference Room).

Table of Contents

Foresight vehicle technology: consumer driven design, manufacturing, supply chain, and purchasing

Society of Automotive Engineers. (Society of Automotive Engineers, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 240 .F673 2002

The American auto factory

Olsen, Byron; Cabadas, Joseph. (MBI Pub., 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 23 .O43 2002

Customer satisfaction measurement simplified : a step-by-step guide for ISO 9001:2000 certification

Vavra, Terry G. (ASQ Quality Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5415.335 .V378 2002

Includes 1 CD-ROM.

Automotive manufacturing processes and quality

Society of Automotive Engineers. (Society of Automotive Engineers, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .A979 2002

"A collection of papers from the 'Manufacturing Processes' and 'Manufacturing Quality' sessions of the 2002 SAE World Congress."

Making and selling cars : innovation and change in the U.S. automotive industry

Rubenstein, James M.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U52 R836 2001

Implementing management innovations : lessons learned from activity based costing in the U.S. automobile industry

Anderson, Shannon W.; Young, S. Mark. (Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5686 .C8 A6847 2001

Global alliances in the motor vehicle industry

Hiraoka, Leslie S.. (Quorum Books, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 H57 2000

ISO 9000 quality systems handbook

Hoyle, David. (Butterworth-Heinemann, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .H692 2001

ISO 9001:2000 for small businesses : implementing process-approach quality management

Gaal, Arpad. (St. Lucie Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
TS 156 .G28 2001

Learning from Saturn : possibilities for corporate governance and employee relations

Rubinstein, Saul A.; Kochan, Thomas A.. (ILR Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U54 S277 2001

Meeting the technology management challenges in the automotive industry

Boghani, Ashok B.; Andrew Brown, Andrew Jr.. (Society of Automotive Engineers, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .B64 2000

Lean enterprise conversion : best practice examples

Society of Automotive Engineers. (Society of Automotive Engineers, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 L43 2000

Car launch: the human side of managing change

Roth, George; Kleiner, Art. (Oxford University Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 R67 2000

The evolution of a manufacturing system at Toyota

Fujimoto, Takahiro. (Oxford University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .F83 1999

Becoming lean: inside stories of U.S. manufacturers

Liker, Jeffrey K.. (Productivity Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9725 .B4 1998

Thinking beyond lean: how multi-project management is transforming product development at Toyota and other companies

Cusumano, Michael A.. (Free Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .C87 1998

The origin of competitive strength: fifty years of the auto industry in Japan and the U.S.

Kawahara, Akira. (Springer, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U52 K3429 1998

Powered by Honda: developing excellence in the global enterprise

Nelson, Dave; Mayo, Rick; Moody, Patricia E.. (Wiley, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U54 A636 1998

Guts : the seven laws of business that made Chrysler the world's hottest car company

Lutz, Robert A.. (John Wiley, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U54 C4695 1998

Transforming automobile assembly: experience in automation and work organization

Shimokawa, Koichi; Jurgens, Ulrich; Fujimoto, Takahiro (eds.). (Springer, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 278 .T73 1997

Beijing Jeep: a case study of Western business in China

Mann, Jim. (Westview Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .U54 A6574 1997

Just another car factory?: lean production and its discontents

Rinehart, James W.. (ILR Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .N572 R56 1997

The rise and decline of the British motor industry

Church, Roy. (Cambridge University Press, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .G72 C5 1995

Automobile design: twelve great designers and their work

Barker, Ronald; Harding, Anthony (eds.). (Society of Automotive Engineers, 1992)
McNichols Campus Library
TL 139 .A98 1992

Product development performance : strategy, organization, and management in the world auto industry

Clark, Kim B.. (Harvard Business School Press, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9710 .A2 C57 1991

Jill Werdell Spreitzer

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top