Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Political Science

Research Guides

American Government - Judicial Branch


U. S. Department of Justice

Organization of one of the three branches of Government.  Some of the divisions include the Civil Rights Division, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms and Explosives, the Office of Legal Counsel, the FBI and the Bureau of Federal Prisons.

Department of Justice - Organization chart

Offices and Bureaus within the DOJ

Office of Legal Counsel

The Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Office of Legal Counsel provides authoritative legal advice to the President and all the Executive Branch agencies. Sometimes called the most important government department you've never heard of.

United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary

One of the original standing committees of the U.S. Senate, the Committee on the Judiciary was first authorized on December 10, 1816

Jurisdiction  includes terrorism, human rights, immigration law, intellectual property rights, antitrust law, and Internet privacy, as well as criminal justice matters and the judicial system.  A public task includes appointments  to the Federal court by the President. This committee also is to provide oversite of the Department of Justice, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

USDOJ: Office of the Attorney General

The Judiciary Act of 1789 created by the Judiciary Act of 1789, the Office of the Attorney General  has become the head of the Department of Justice and the chief law enforcement officer of the Federal Government. T

The Attorney General represents the United States in legal matters generally and gives advice and opinions to the President and to the heads of the executive departments of the Government when so requested.

Sandra H. Wilson

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top