AMSER Applied Math and Science Education Repository

While produced for community and technical colleges, much of the AMSER portal of educational resources and services could be used by high school students.

Benchmarks Online

Benchmarks Online is "a tool to be used by educators in designing a curriculum that makes sense to them and meets the standards for science literacy recommended in SFAA." "Benchmarks is a compendium of specific science literacy goals that can be organized however one chooses."

Cells Alive

This website covers animated topics in cell biology, microbiology, immunology, and microscopy as well as puzzles and quizzes, links to other cell biology websites, and more.

Council of State Science Supervisors

Great safety information as well as links to lesson plans.

created by S. Homant 5/07, updated 12/08

Digital Library for Earth Science Education

Funded by the National Science Foundation, this is a great website for all things earth science. Use the search engine users to find materials by grade level, resource type, standards, and thematic collections.

Dr E's Energy Lab

Learn about wind energy, geothermal energy, solar power, alternative fuels, and energy efficiency tips.

Drinking Water & Ground Water Kids' Stuff

Shh.  Don't tell the children that the games and activities on this site could just be experiments.  There are sections for kids K-12 and for teachers K-12

Earth Observatory

What is a Coccolithophore? The Carbon Cycle? Global Warming? Tropical Deforestation?  NASA provides definitions, pictures, news, experiments and more on the broad topics of atmosphere, land, oceans energy, and life.

Earthquakes for Kids

Provides facts, history, pictures, the science of earthquakes, as well as a section for kids and a section for teachers by grade level. Inclues pictures for coloring or interactive games and more all with an earthquake theme.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence

"More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly. " Includes Arts & Music, Heath & Phys Ed, History & Soc Studies, U.S. History Topics, U.S. Time Periods. World Studies, Language Arts, Math, Science, and Special Collections.

Science topics include: applied sciences, earth sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, space sciences, and more. 

Ground Water and Drinking Water: An Expert Guide for Kids

This website on all things "water" is brought to you by PartsTap.com - Appliance Parts and Repair Help from the Industry Experts!  They link to websites about basic water information, water classroom activities and experiments, as well as games.

Kids.gov Plants and Animals

"What is more amazing than a talking dog? A spelling bee! Now that you got a good laugh find out more about interesting plants and animals!"

Kids.gov Science and Math

"Learn about rockets, weather, the human body, outer space, science fair projects ideas and much more through these great links. "

Kids.gov Space

"As you look at the evening sky - do you think to yourself - I wonder what it's like up there? - Is the moon really made of cheese? Wanna know more? Here are some links to some awesome space sites."

Landmarks for Schools

The Sciences Resources portion of this website lists selected science websites and suggests uses. Sites include fast food nutrition, the National Earthquake Information Center, 3D animated molecules, current greenhouse gas concentrations, dinosaur illustrations, and more

Learningscience.org

"Using the National Science Education Standards as our framework, we feature the best science interactives and resources from around the world." The Science Education Hall of Fame section has links to museums, government organizations, commercial sites, universities, and more. Topics covered are Physical and Life Sciences, Science as Inquiry, Science and Society, Earth and Space, Science and Technology, and Nature of Science. Included are inquiry based  and visual lessons, internet interactive lessons as well as simulations and imaging. 

Library of Congress

This site has lots of free images for educators as well as excellent ideas and information.

Michigan LearnPort

This site has free lesson plans, free professional development, and loads of other resources. It is updated regularly and is available to all teachers and teacher education students in Michigan.

National Science Foundation: Tour of the Cell

As the illustration moves, click on any number to otain the name of  cellular component, such as the nucleus, the cell membrane, or mitochondria.  Click “more” and obtain a detailed description of the illustration. Or click the “Full Illustration” link.

National Weather Service

This site is great for locating excellent images and lesson plans.

PBS Teacher Source - Science

Find lesson plans for grades preschool through grade 12 on any topic in the sciences, from agriculture to transportation at this website.

PB Works

This is a free wiki site teachers can use with confiidence about the safety of their students.

Resources for Science Learning

From the website: "Users can find online science content, resources and professional development opportunities for educators, and information about CISL initiatives." Find educators curricular companions, learn about the heart, learn about the brain, and more. 

Smithsonian National Zoological Park

See the Giant Pandas and other animals in real time in their zoo home.

Teacher Resources/Science: Teaching High School Science

From the Annenberg Learner: "showing science classrooms around the country, the modules cover topics in life science, physical science, Earth and space science, and integrated science. They also show a range of teaching techniques and student/teacher interaction." Includes free videos.

Teachers' Domain: Multimedia Resources for the Classroom and Professional Development

Teachers' Domain provides free registration to K-12 science lesson plans as well as

TruTV

Formerly known as Court TV, this site will help keep students interested in science.

U.S. Geological Survey: Science for the Changing World

According to the USGS, they are "an unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water, we are dedicated to the timely, relevant, and impartial study of the landscape, our natural resources, and the natural hazards that threaten us." Click on Michigan for science in our backyard.