Behavioral interventions in schools : evidence-based positive strategies

Akin-Little, Angelique. (American Psychological Association, c2009)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1060.2 .B443 2009

Best practices for effective secondary school couselors

Shelton, Carla F.; James, Edward L.. (Corwin Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1620.5.S49 2005

Brief intervention for school problems : collaborating for practical solutions

Murphy, John J.; Duncan, Barry L.. (Guilford Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
LC 4802 .M87 2007

Caregiver alliances for at-risk and dangerous youth : establishing school and agency coordination and accountability

Blechman, Elaine A.. (Research Press, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1431 .C37 2004

Consultee-centered consultation : improving the quality of professional services in schools and community organizations

Lambert, Nadine M. ; Sandoval, Jonathan; Hylander, Ingrid. (L. Erlbaum Associates, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .C62215 2004

Counseling tips for elementary school principals

Kottler, Jeffrey A.; McEwan, Elaine K.. (Corwin Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .K664 1999

Counselling pupils in schools : skills and strategies for teachers

Hornby, Garry; Hall, Carol; Hall, Eric (eds.). (RoutledgeFalmer, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .C672 2003

Developing your school counseling program : a handbook for systemic planning

VanZandt, Zark; Hayslip, Jo. (Brooks/Cole Thompson Learning, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .V2965 2001

Elementary school counseling : a commitment to caring and community building

Worzbyt, John C.. (Brunner-Routledge, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .W6744 2003

Elementary school counseling in the new millennium

Sandhu, Daya Singh. (American Counseling Association, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5.E37 2001

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Proactive counseling in the 21st century. Introduction : challenges for elementary school counselors in the new millennium / Daya Singh Sandhu -- A model of school counseling : using a proactive and positive approach / Alfiee M. Breland and Daya Singh Sandhu -- Navigating the quagmire of inherent ethical dilemmas present in elementary school counseling programs / Susan Norris Huss. Developmental needs of elementary school students. Interconnections among cognitive, physical, and social development / Earl Foise and Daya Singh Sandhu -- Play therapy in the elementary school / Peterann M. Siehl -- Creative arts in counseling with elementary school children : a user-friendly approach / J. Kelly Coker -- Using group rewards to influence prosocial behavior and academic success : the school counselor as consultant and coordinator / Craig S. Cashwell, Tammy H. Cashwell, and Amy L. Skinner -- Career development in the elementary school / Judith Emmett and Debra Preston. Crisis/intervention. Creating developmental opportunity : systemic and proactive intervention for elementary school counselors / Patrick Akos -- Encouragement counseling for the discouraged child / Robert J. McBrien -- Using the 4c's to provide services for children of alcoholics in elementary school settings / John F. Arman, Emily Phillips, and Robert McNair -- Counseling issues and programs for children of divorce / Pedro R. Portes, Daya Singh Sandhu, and Jennifer A. Vadeboncouer -- A remedy for boys who bully : a gender-equal school environment / Elizabeth Clarke and Mark S. Kiselica -- Peervention : a practical approach to preventing violence in elementary schools / Andrew K. Tobias. Special needs/concerns. Counseling the special needs student / Jackie M. Allen -- Counseling children with learning disabilities / Joyce Williams Bergin and James J. Bergin -- Valuing human diversity : counseling multiracial and multiethnic children / Eugenie Joan Looby -- Counseling immigrant children in school settings : what school counselors should do / Mei Tang -- Spirituality : its place in counseling children / Mary Finn Maples -- Issues of difference : gender, sexuality, and the elementary school child / Kathleen M. Kirby -- Professional responsibility to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered (GLBT) youths and families / Sue Strong and Connie J. Callahan. Technology and other resources for the elementary school counselor. School counselor technology competencies in the new millennium / Russell A. Sabella and J. Michale Tyler -- The elementary school counselor's professional library / Pamelia E. Brott.

Handbook of school counseling

Cobia, Debra C.. (Merrill, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .C57 2003

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Integrating school and family counseling : practical solutions

Miller, Lynn D. (ed.). (American Counseling Association, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5.I57 2002

Series: Family psychology and counseling series. Includes bibliographical references.

Leadership, advocacy, and direct service strategies for professional school counselors

Pérusse, Rachelle; Goodnough, Gary E. (eds.). (Thomson, Brooks/Cole, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .L42 2004

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: School counseling and academic achievement / Peggy LaTurno Hines and Teesue H. Fields -- Improving academic achievement through an understanding of learning styles / Bradley T. Erford, Cheryl Moore-Thomas and Shelley A. Mazzuca -- Investigating the world of work / Susan Sears -- Fostering positive career development in children and adolescents / Spencer G. Niles, Jerry Trusty and Natasha Mitchell -- Equity, access, and career development : contextual conflicts / Mary Jackson and Dale Grant -- Respecting differences : racial and ethnic groups / Deryl Bailey and Mary Bradbury-Bailey -- Leadership and advocacy for lesbian, bisexual, gay, transgendered, and questioning (LBGTQ) students : academic, career, and interpersonal success strategies / Shannon D. Smith and Stuart F. Chen-Hayes -- Violence prevention and conflict resolution education in the schools / Vivian V. Lee -- Loss and grief in the school setting / Susan Norris Huss -- Alcohol and other substance abuse : a comprehensive approach / J. Kelly Coker -- Stress management : the school counselor's role / Vicki Brooks -- School counselors as leaders and advocates in addressing sexual harassment / Carolyn B. Stone.

Lesbian, bisexual, gay & transgendered youth counseling 102 [videorecording] : skill-building vignettes with LBGT youth in schools and families

Chen-Hayes, Stuart; Haley-Banez, Lynn. (Microtraining Associates, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1449 .L48 2001 tape 2

1 VHS videocassette (ca. 77 min.). Contents: Introduction -- First scenario. Parents having difficulty dealing with their new knowledge of their lesbian daughter -- Second scenario. Assisting a male student who's being emotionally and physically harassed in school and contemplating suicide -- Third scenario. Consulting with a heterosexual teacher about how to affirm a lesbian adolescent who has come out regarding a relationship -- Scenario four. Counseling a transgendered youth dealing with emotional abuse and a suicide attempt -- Fifth scenario. Counseling middle school interracial lesbian mom's [sic] about their son's declining grades and emotional abuse at school -- Sixth scenario. An orthodox Jewish father seeks assistance for an 8-year old elementary school student with unorthodox gender identity who's being emotionally abused at school. Summary: Shows how to work affirmatively with issues of sexual orientation and gender identity with youth and families and features live demonstrations of challenges and strengths in sexual orientation counseling.

Multicultural counseling in schools : a synergetic approach

Herring, Roger D.. (American Counseling Association, c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .H46 1997

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Professional school counseling: a handbook of theories, programs, and practices

Erford, Bradley T. (ed.). (CAPS Press, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5.P6593 2004

Includes bibliographical references.

School counseling : best practices for working in the schools

Thompson, Rosemary. (2nd ed., Brunner-Routledge, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .T46 2002

Rev. ed. of: School counseling renewal. c1992. Includes bibliographical references (p. 359-415) and index.

School counseling : foundations and contemporary issues

Sciarra, Daniel T.. (Brooks/Cole-Thomsom Learning, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .S35 2004

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Preface -- Part one: Foundations -- Historical perspectives and contemporary trends in school counseling -- Counseling services in schools -- Consulting in the school setting -- The use of data in school counseling -- Career counseling and development. Part Two: Special topics -- Multiculturalism in school counseling -- The school counselor and students with disabilities -- Separation and loss in school-aged children -- Suicide in the school setting -- Sex and sex-related issues in school counseling -- Substance use and abuse: prevention and intervention -- Understanding and preventing violence in schools -- Child maltreatment -- Appendixes -- References -- Name index -- Subject index.

School counselor consultation : developing skills for working effectively with parents, teachers, and other school personnel

Brigman, Greg. (J. Wiley & Sons, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .S272 2005

Includes bibliographical references (p. 173-184) and indexes. Contents: Introduction to school counselors as consultants -- A school-based approach to consultation : supporting models and theories -- Ethical issues in consultation -- Case consultation with teachers and parents -- Typical issues in school consultation -- Workshops and education programs -- Other opportunities for consultation in schools -- Classroom meetings : creating a climate of cooperation -- Consultation with administrators -- Consultation in the community.

Solution-focused school counselor : shaping professional practice

Davis, Thomas E.. (Accelerated Development, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .D335 2000

Includes bibliographical references (p. 102-108) and index.

Substance abuse : information for school counselors, social workers, therapists, and counselors

Fisher, Gary L.; Harrison, Thomas C.. (2nd ed., Allyn and Bacon, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 5825 .F566 2009

Includes bibliographical references (p. 343-365) and index. Contents: The role of the mental health professional in prevention and treatment -- Classification of drugs -- Models of addiction -- Culturally and ethnically diverse groups -- Assessment and diagnosis -- Client engagement and brief interventions -- Treatment of AOD problems -- Relapse prevention and recovery -- Twelve-step and other types of support groups -- Families -- Children, adult children, and codependency -- HIV/AIDS -- Gambling and other addictions -- Prevention -- Confidentiality and ethical issues.

Survival guide for the elementary/middle school counselor

Schmidt, John J. (Jossey-Bass, c2004)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 1027.5 .S259 2004

Includes bibliographical references (p. 265-273) and index. Contents: Defining and describing a school counseling program -- Developing your role and creating an identity -- Setting sail and staying afloat -- Identifying essential services -- Integrating the curriculum and the program -- Reaching out to diverse populations -- Preparing for crisis intervention -- Using essential services to address students' concerns -- Belonging and being with the school -- Involving significant others -- Playing fair and according to the rules -- Helping yourself to help others.

Violence in American schools: a practical guide for counselors

Sandhu, Daya Singh; Aspy, Cheryl B. (eds.). (American Counseling Association, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
LB 3013.3.V585 2000

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Violence in our schools : a national crisis / Donald R. Nims -- Psychocultural profiles of violent students : prevention and intervention strategies / Daya Singh Sandhu, Joe Ray Underwood, Varrinder Singh Sandhu -- A social ecology approach to violence in American schools / Vicki Harris Wyatt -- Defining school violence victim subtypes : a step toward adapting prevention and intervention programs to match student needs / Michael J. Furlong, Bonita Sharma, Sujin Sabrina Rhee -- Masculine thinking and school violence : issues of gender and race / Lissa J. Yogan, Stuart Henry -- The "true" perpetrators of violence : the effects of the media on public perceptions of youthful violent offenders / Alfiee M. Breland -- Constructing cultures of nonviolence : the PEACE POWER! toolkit / Mark A. Mattaini, Christine T. Lowery -- Violence prevention : a systematic approach / Ann L. Bauer -- Preventing violence by promoting virtues / David N. Aspy -- School violence : an ecological, social, and cultural perspective / Farah A. Ibrahim, Peter Tran -- Creative and underused counseling strategies for the prevention of violence in schools / Frederick D. Harper, James P. Griffin, Jr. -- Preventing school violence : training for school counselors / Sue A. Stickel, Irene Mass Ametrano, Yvonne L. Callaway -- Anger management for youths : what works and for whom? / Douglas C. Smith ... [et al.] -- Practical solutions to violence in American schools / Andrew K. Tobias -- School-based violence prevention programs : what works / Mary K. Lawler -- Adolescent suicide : aggression turned inward / Jeannine R. Studer -- Preventing school violence aimed at gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender youths / Mark Pope -- Hate crimes : what they are, why they happen, and counselors' roles in preventing them / David N. Aspy, Cheryl Blalock Aspy -- Treating adolescents presenting with comorbid violent and addictive behaviors : a behavioral family therapy model / Gerald A. Juhnke, Robin Guill Liles -- Conduct disorder and chronic violent offending : issues in diagnosis and treatment selection / Gary G. Gintner -- The counselor as leader : critical incident stress management in the Long Beach schools / Joanne M. Tortorici Luna -- School violence : implications for school counselor training programs / M. Sylvia Fernandez -- Summary and implications for practice / Cheryl Blalock Aspy.

Youth at risk: a prevention resource for counselors, teachers, and parents

Capuzzi, David; Gross, Douglas R. (eds.). (4th ed., American Counseling Association, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1431.Y68 2004

Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Defining youth at risk / Douglas R. Gross, David Capuzzi -- Prevention : an overview / David Dapuzzi, Douglas R. Gross -- Resiliency : individual, family, school and community perspectives / Rolla Lewis -- The impact of dysfunctional family dynamics on children and adolescents / Valerie E. Appleton, Cass Dykeman -- "Who cares what I think" : problems of low self-esteem / Sandra S. Meggert -- Preventing & treating depression and bipolar disorders in children and adolescents / Benedict T. McWhirter, Jason J. Burrow-Sanchez -- Stress and trauma : coping in today's society / Russell D. Miars -- The secret and all-consuming obsessions : eating disorders / Kimberly Wright -- Children having children : teenage pregnancy and parenthood / Melinda Haley, Ardis Sherwood-Hawes -- A future in jeopardy : adolescents and AIDS / Lizbeth A. Gray, Reese M. House, Donna A. Champeau -- "I don't want to live" : the adolescent at risk for suicidal behavior / David Capuzzi, Douglas R. Gross -- "I am somebody" : gang membership / Sonya Burnham -- Counseling queer youth : preventing another Matthew Shepherd story / Fernando J. Gutierrez -- Death in the classroom : violence in schools / Abbe' Finn -- "I can't live without it" : adolescent substance abuse / Camea Gagliardi, Alberta Gloria, Sharon E. Robinson-Kurpius, Christina Lambert -- Nowhere to turn : homeless youth / Melissa Stormont -- "This isn't the place for me" : school dropout / Mary Hermann.