Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Research guides

Counseling

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Counseling Databases

Psychology Journals Database (ProQuest)

ProQuest.

The Psychology Database is ProQuest’s highly accessible full-text resource for students, teachers, and researchers. Health and social care professionals will also find this database useful and accessible. The Psychology Database combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice.

The database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include:

  • The American Journal of Psychiatry
  • Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics
  • The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
  • Development and Psychopathology
  • The Psychological Record

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)

ProQuest.

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 77 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 29 from the Canadian Psychological Association, the National Instutite of Mental Health, and Hogrefe Press. Coverage spans 1894 to date. Of the 77 journals covered, 73 are current, 4 have ceased publication.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsycINFO 1887 (ProQuest)

PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.


SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Psychology Resources (ProQuest)

ProQuest.

This is a unified search of three databases provided by ProQuest: Psychology Journals Database, PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoPsychology Collection (Gale)

MEL.

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Your librarys users will have access to nearky 400 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals, many cited in PsycINFO.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

SAGE Journals Online

SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher including more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline includes the new DSM 5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) of the American Psychiatric Association, all earlier editions of ther DSM, the Association's major journals 1997-date, and a number of textbooks and assessment manuals. The site includes an excellent guide for users and additional help features.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Wiley Online Library

The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

JSTOR

Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

OmniFile Full Text (Ebsco; formerly H.W. Wilson)

Includes full text from over 2,700 journals, representing all of the full text materials from eleven key Wilson databases. Coverage extends from 1994-date.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

DSM-V Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (American Psychiatric Association)

PsychiatryOnline includes the new DSM 5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) of the American Psychiatric Association, all earlier editions of ther DSM, the Association's major journals 1997-date, and a number of textbooks and assessment manuals. The site includes an excellent guide for users and additional help features.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Pastoral Counseling

ATLA Religion (Ebsco)

Published by the American Theological Library Association, ATLAReligion is a comprehensive database of religious and theological scholarship. It includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA print indexes. Over 1650 journals are indexed and abstracted; 158 are available in full text. The database contains more than 1,600,000 records.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Julia L. Eisenstein

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

eisensjl@udmercy.edu
313-578-0576

Research Guides New in the Library

How can we help you?

Back to Top