Computer Engineering
Scholarly Articles + Databases
Databases for Computer Engineering
ACM - Association for Computing Machinery
The Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library contains every article published by ACM in its journals and magazines, transactions, SIG newsletters, conference proceedings, and in the publications of affiliated organizations. Publication dates run from 1952 to date.
Computer Database provides full-text and image articles for a wide variety or research applications, including competitive analysis of high tech companies and their products; research on industry trends in telecommunications, electronics and robotics; research on software, hardware, the Internet and LAN and WAN technology; research into multimedia, virtual reality and interactive TV; reviews of consumer products; background research for job hunting. Coverage is 1980-date. Of 1046 indexed and abstracted journals, over 500 are currently indexed; 181 are available in full text.
Engineering Village (Elsevier)
Engineering Village is an integrated interface for finding engineering information. Its main feature is Compendex: the most comprehensive database of scientific and engineering research available, covering 120 years of core engineering literature. Links are also provided to the U.S Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office databases, a web search engine for scientific information, and LexisNexis daily news. Other features include Ask a Librarian or Ask an Engineer email services.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies
The FAITS database offers several different report types including technology tutorials, marketplace overviews, product and service selection guides, product and company profiles, and directories. It contains concise reports covering such key technology areas as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also has links to major online technology and business news resources like Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC, and direct links to online bibliographic resources for topics in business, computer science, education, health sciences, humanities, math and science, and the social sciences.
Provides full-text of nearly 1900 journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Beginning coverage for journals varies, but most start in 1995 or 1996 and continue to the most recent issue. For many titles, articles in press are also available. Most journals are in the fields of science, technology or medicine, but journals in the social sciences, humanities and business are also included. The title holdings listed in "Full Text Journals in UDM Databases" show the start date for journals included in the Science Direct Freedom Collection; for most dates prior to 1995, only abstracts are available.
The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.
eBook Collections
eBooks by Ebsco is a collection of over 15,000 electronic books, made available through the University of Detroit Mercy and the Michigan Electronic Library. In addition to many current and recent titles, the collection includes over 3,000 classic texts that are no longer copyrighted. Books may be read online; printing options are limited.
Jennifer Bowen
Associate Library ProfessorReference Services
Dental School Library, McNichols Campus Library
bowenji@udmercy.edu
313-494-6904