American cinema

New York Center for Visual History, KCET, BBC. (Fox Video, Inc., 1994)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1993.5 .U6 A846 1994

Five VHS cassettes, 600 min. " Covers the history and development of the motion picture industry, including its adaptation to social trends and technological developments such as television."

• Tape 1: The Hollywood style; The star
• Tape 2: Romantic comedy; Film noir
• Tape 3: The western; The combat film
• Tape 4: The studio system; Film in the television age
• Tape 5: The film school generation; The edge of Hollywood

Detour

Goldsmith, Martin. (Hollywood Select Video, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1997 .D4768 1991

First released as a motion picture in 1945.
1 VHS cassette (68 min.)
Screen play and original story by Martin Goldsmith
Producer: Leon Fromkess 
Director: Edgar G. Ulmer.
Director of photography: Benjamin H. Kline
Film editor: George McGuire
Music: Erdody.
Cast:  Tom Neal, Ann Savage.

 "Summary: Hitching his way towards California, an innocent man is drawn into a web of murder and deceit."

Strange love of Martha Ivers

Rossen, Robert. (Hollywood Select Video, inc. ; distributed by Timeless Video inc., 1991.)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .F54 S87 1991

Originally released as a motion picture in 1946.
1 VHS cassette (115 min.)
Screenplay by Robert Rossen, based on a story by Jack Patrick
Producer: Hal B. Wallis
Director: Lewis Milestone
Photography: Victor Milner
Editor: Archie Marshek
Music: Miklos Rozsa
Cast: Barbara Stanwyck, Van Heflin, Lizabeth Scott, Kirk Douglas, Judith Anderson, Darryl Hickman, Ann Doran, Blake Edwards.

“Summary:  An unscrupulous woman takes up with her old boyfriend, without bothering to keep the affair from her husband.”

In Lonely Places : Film Noir Beyond the City

Smith, Imogen Sara. (McFarland & Company, Inc., 2011)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

More than night : film noir in its contexts

Naremore, James. (University of California Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .F54 N37 2008

Black & white & noir : America's pulp modernism

Rabinowitz, Paula. (Columbia University Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .F54 R33 2002

Noir Anxiety

Oliver, Kelly; Trigo, Benigno. (University of Minnesota Press, 2002)

Available online only in ebrary.

Dark city dames : the wicked women of film noir

Muller, Eddie. (Regan Books, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1998.2 .M854 2001

America noir : underground writers and filmmakers of the postwar era

Cochran, David. (Smithsonian Institution Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 374 .P63 C63 1999

Also available online through through nnetLibrary

Creatures of darkness : Raymond Chandler, detective fiction, and film noir

Phillips, Gene D.. (University Press of Kentucky, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PS 3505 .H3224 Z836 2000

Dangerous dames : women and representation in the Weimar street film and film noir

Wager, Jans B.. (Ohio University Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .F44 W35 1999

More than night: Film noir in its contexts

Naremore, James. (Berkeley University of California Press, 1998)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Women in film noir

Kaplan, E. Ann (ed.). (British Film Institute, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1995.9 .W6 W66 1998

"A perfect double down to the last detail": photography and the identity of film noir

Pelizzon, V. Penelope; West, Nancy. Post Script. (22(3), Summer 2003, pages: 34-47)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the InfoTrac OneFile database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Class, crime, and film noir: labor, the fugitive outsider, and the anti-authoritarian tradition

Broe, Dennis. Social Justice. (30(1), Spring 2003, pages 22-42)
McNichols Campus Library
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the InfoTrac OneFile database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Transformations of the urban landscape in Spanish film noir

Konstantarakos, Myrto. Spaces in European Cinema, Intellect Books, 2000, pages 124-137..
McNichols Campus Library
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Hardboiled imagination: from detective fiction to film noir

Dickstein, Morris. Culturefront. (8(3/4), Fall 1999, p. 4)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the HumanitiesAbs database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Genre theory in the context of the noir and post-noir film

Orr, Christopher. Film Criticism. (22(1), Fall 1997, pages 21-38)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the InfoTrac OneFile database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Whitness of film noir

Lott, Eric. American Literary History. (9(3), Autumn 1997, pages: 542-566)
ELECTRONIC ACCESS ONLY

Available in the JSTOR database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

Fatal capers: strategy and enigma in film noir.

Telotte, J. P.. Journal of Popular Film and Television. (23(4), Winter 1996, pages: 163-171)
PN1993 .J66

Available in print at the McNichols campus library, or online through the InfoTrac OneFile database.  For off-campus access, sign in with your library card barcode at http://www.dalnet.lib.mi.us/dpa/udm/

'Popular First Amendment' and classical Hollywood, 1930-1960: film noir and 'speech theory for the millions'

Rosenberg, Norman. Allen, David S.; Jensen, Robert (eds.) Freeing the First Amendment : critical perspectives on freedom of expression.
McNichols Campus Library
KF 4772 .F744 1995

Dames in the driver's seat : rereading film noir

Wager, Jans B.. (University of Texas Press, 2005)

Available online only in ebrary.

L.A. Noir : The City as Character

Silver, Alain; Ursini, James. (Santa Monica Press, 2005)

Available online only in ebrary.

Unless the Threat of Death Is Behind Them : Hard-Boiled Fiction and Film Noir

Irwin, John T.. (Johns Hopkins University Press, 2006)

Available online only in ebrary.

Street Was Mine : White Masculinity in Hardboiled Fiction and Film Noir

Abbott, Megan E.. (Palgrave Macmillan, 2002)

Available online only in ebrary.