Civil Engineering
Research Guides
Women in Engineering
For additional resources, search the UDM library catalog for the following LC subject headings:
- Feminism and science
- Women engineers
- Women in engineering
- Women inventors
- Women in science
- Women scientists
- Women in technology
Athena unbound : the advancement of women in science and technology
Etzkowitz, Henry; Kemelgor, Carol; Uzzi, Brian et al. (Cambridge University Press, 2000)McNichols Campus Library
Q 130 .E85 2000
Available online as an ebook in the ebrary database
Beyond bias and barriers: fulfilling the potential of women in academic science and engineering
Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy. (National Academies Press, 2006)Available online as an ebook from the ebrary database
Breaking into the lab : engineering progress for women in science
Rosser, Sue Vilhauer. (New York University Press, c2012)Available online in the ebrary database
This website includes information on DOE programs and activities such as internships, workshops and forums that promote the participation of women in STEM fields. Included is the internship program with Detroit's Christo Rey High School
Feminism in twentieth-century science, technology, and medicine
Creager, Angela N. H.; Lunbeck, Elizabeth; Schiebinger, Londa L.. (University of Chicago Press, 2001)McNichols Campus Library
Q 130 .F44 2001
From scarcity to visibility : gender differences in the careers of doctoral scientists and engineers
Long, J. Scott. (National Academy Press, 2001)McNichols Campus Library
Q 149 .U5 F76 2001
Available in print in the McNichols Campus Library and also online as an ebook in the ebrary database
Gender inclusive engineering education
Mills, Julie. (Routledge, 2010.)McNichols Campus Library
T 65 .M5833 2010
Innovating women: contributions to technological advancement
Wynarczyk, Pooran; Marlow, Susan. (Emerald Group Pub., 2010)Available online as an ebook in the ebrary database
Available online as an ebook in the ebrary database
Madame Curie complex: the hidden history of women in science
Des Jardins, Julie. (Feminist Press, 2010)McNichols Campus Library
Available online in the ebrary database
Patently female : from AZT to TV dinners : stories of women inventors and their breakthrough ideas
Vare, Ethlie Ann. (Wiley, 2002)McNichols Campus Library
T 36 .V38 2002
Removing barriers : women in academic science, technology, engineering, and mathematics
Bystydzienski, Jill M.; Bird, Sharon R.. (Indiana University Press, 2006)McNichols Campus Library
Q 130 .R46 2006
Available in print in the McNichols Campus Library and also online as an ebook in the ebrary database
Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
The SWE is a nonprofit organization that promotes engineering as a career choice for women. This site includes scholarships, career advice articles, links to information about issues that women face in the workplace, online seminars, members-only job postings and a members-only resume database.
The website for the very active Detroit Section of the Society of Women Engineers includes a calendar listing numerous professional development, networking and volunteer opportunities, as well as scholarship information and career resources.
Women in engineering. Pioneers and trailblazers
Layne, Margaret. (ASCE Press, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .W674 2009
Women in engineering. Professional life
Layne, Margaret. (American Society of Civil Engineers, 2009)McNichols Campus Library
TA 157 .W676 2009
Women in Engineering Proactive Network
"Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN) is a national not-for-profit organization with over 700 members from engineering schools, small businesses, Fortune 500 corporations, and non-profit organizations. WEPAN works to transform culture in engineering education to attract, retain, and graduate women. With a clear focus on research-based issues and solutions, WEPAN helps its members develop a highly prepared, diverse engineering workforce for tomorrow."
OSTI and the White House Council on Women and Girls created this website as part of an initiative to increase the participation of women and girls in the STEM fields. The site includes factsheets and reports, recent news, and videos on women and STEM, as well as information on Title IX compliance.
Women succeeding in the sciences : theories and practices across disciplines
Bart, Jody. (Purdue University Press, 2000)McNichols Campus Library
Q 130 .W676 2000
Jill Werdell Spreitzer
Associate LibrarianReference Services
McNichols Campus Library
werdeljc@udmercy.edu
313-993-1221