RE:SEARCH logo
University of Detroit Mercy Libraries / Instructional Design Studio
UDM HOME KNOWLEDGE [BLACKBOARD] TITAN CONNECT QUICK LINKS
RESEARCH HOME / FIND / DATABASES & SCHOLARLY ARTICLES /
Find
BOOKS
ARTICLES
SITE

Find articles in Library databases

DATABASES BY SUBJECT:
Databases listed alphabetically:

SUBJECT RESOURCES:

 
Ask a Librarian

Oops! Normally, you'd see a chat window here, but it looks like either you've got Javascript disabled or our chat services is temporarily unavailable. Please reload this page to see if a librarian has returned or Email a UDM librarian.

Databases + Journals: P

Filter databases on this page by name

SHOWING
of
PAIS International (ProQuest)

The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.

PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

The database back file dates to 1972: PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; and from the PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. Updated quarterly.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. PhilPapers has over 100,000 registered users. Learn more about PhilPapers.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection (Gale)
MEL

A custom collection including over 50 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to many topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest)

The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Earliest cited documents are from the 1870's.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Political Science Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest

The Political Science Database gives users access to over 450 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Political Science Database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Politics Collection (ProQuest)

This collection provides access to renowned databases such as PAIS and WPSA, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Pop Culture Collection (Gale)
MEL

This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Project Muse

Project Muse is a collection of nearly 600 academic journals in the social sciences and humanities, initiated by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins. Most titles start in 1997, and complement UDM's holdings in JSTOR.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

ProQuest Central
ProQuest

ProQuest Central searches all ProQuest databases licensed to the University of Detroit Mercy. Each database in ProQuest Central is also listed separately in the database list.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
ProQuest

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 97 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 29 from the Canadian Psychological Association, the National Instutite of Mental Health, and Hogrefe Press. Coverage spans 1894 to date.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline includes the new DSM 5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) of the American Psychiatric Association, all earlier editions of the DSM, the Association's major journals 1997-date, and a number of textbooks and assessment manuals. The site includes an excellent guide for users and additional help features.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Psychology Collection (Gale)
MEL

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time. Your librarys users will have access to nearky 400 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals, many cited in PsycINFO.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Psychology Journals Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest

The Psychology Database is ProQuest’s highly accessible full-text resource for students, teachers, and researchers. Health and social care professionals will also find this database useful and accessible. The Psychology Database combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice.

The database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors. Titles include:

  • The American Journal of Psychiatry
  • Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics
  • The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry
  • Development and Psychopathology
  • The Psychological Record

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Psychology Resources (ProQuest)
ProQuest

This is a unified search of three databases provided by ProQuest: Psychology Journals Database, PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsycINFO 1887 (ProQuest)

PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 3.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 25 languages.

 

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Public Health Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest

The Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public health terminology.

Users can also access current newspaper articles to uncover the latest breaking news pertaining to public health, such as flu pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. In addition, thousands of full-text dissertations offer in-depth scholarly insights into important topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal and child health, and occupational safety and health.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PubMed Central (U.S. NIH)

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. The PMC journal list comprises journals that deposit material in PMC on a routine basis and generally make all their published articles available here. Find out how to include your journal in PMC.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

University of Detroit Mercy
4001 W. McNichols Detroit , MI , 48221-3038
This site is endorsed by the University of Detroit Mercy (UDM) and supports the views, values, and mission of UDM. The University of Detroit Mercy web site provides links to other web sites, both public and private, for informational purposes. The inclusion of these links on UDM's site does not imply endorsement by the University. Please contact the Instructional Design Studio for any questions regarding this web site.