Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Theater

Research Guides

Theater: Production And Direction

Directing

Kozelka, Paul. (Richards Rosen Press, 1968)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2053.K6

Bibliography: p. 173-184. Summary: Discusses various aspects of directing including selecting and analyzing a play, conducting tryouts, and setting up rehearsal schedules.

Director as artist : play direction today

O'Neill, R.H.; Boretz, N.M.. (Holt, Rinehart, and Winston, c1987)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2053 .O44 1987

Includes index. Bibliography: p. 327-335.

Joseph Chaikin : exploring at the boundaries of theater

Blumenthal, Eileen. (Cambridge University Press, 1984)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2287 .C46 B58 1984

Directors In Perspective Series. Includes index. Bibliography: p. 250-255.

Play production

Nelms, Henning. (Barnes & Noble [1967, c1958])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2053 .N4 1958

College outline series. no. 73.

Sense of direction : some observations on the art of directing

Ball, William. (Drama Book Publishers, c1984)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2053 .B313 1984

Subsequent performances

Miller, Jonathan. (E. Sifton Books/Viking, 1986)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1655.M48 1986

1st American ed.

Theater directing : art, ethics, creativity

Kazimierz, Braun. (E. Mellen Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2053 .B628 2000

Studies in theatre arts series, v. 10. Notes: Includes bibliographical references (p. [417]-429) and indexes. Contents: Introduction : towards creative directing -- My way of directing -- way to directing -- Shaping a theater style -- Creative text analysis -- Creating the human layer of the performance -- Creating the performance space -- Creating the time of performance -- Creating the action of performance -- director's work : mind and imagination -- director's practical preparations -- Implementation of the directorial project before rehearsals -- Creative rehearsals -- Final rehearsals : lights, technical, general; the opening.

Theater director's primer

Cohen, Gary P.. (Heinemann, c2005)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2053 .C57 2005

Contents: Getting the job -- What to expect from each kind of theater -- Research -- The concept -- Preproduction -- Casting -- Working with the designers -- The rehearsal period -- Tech week -- Directing the actors -- Miscellaneous -- A little help from my friends.

Patricia S. Higo

Associate Librarian
Archives & Archive Collection Management
McNichols Campus Library

higopa@udmercy.edu
313-578-0435

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top