Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Theater

Research Guides

Sir Laurence Olivier

BOOKS BY AND ABOUT LAURENCE OLIVIER

Confessions of an actor : an autobiography

Olivier, Laurence. (Penguin Books, 1984)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2598 .O55 A33 1984

Laurence Olivier

Bragg, Melvyn. (St. Martin's Press, c1984)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2598 .O55 B72 1984

Laurence Olivier

Holden, Anthony. (Atheneum, 1988)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2598 .O55 H6 1988

Laurence Olivier : a biography

Spoto, Donald. (HarperCollins Publishers, c1992)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2598 .O55 S68 1992

Olivier

Gourlay, Logan. (Stein and Day [1974, c1973])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2598 .O55 G6 1974

Theatre and film chronology: p. 196-208.

On acting

Olivier, Laurence. (Simon and Schuster, c1986)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2598 .O55 A36 1986

Stage fight: swords, firearms, fisticuffs, and slapstick.

Hobbs, William. (Theatre Arts Books [1967])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2071 .F4 H6 1967

Introduction by Laurence Olivier.

Stars in my eyes

Bachardy, Don. (University of Wisconsin Press, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1998.2 .B318 2000

Theatre, the rediscovery of style

Saint-Denis, Michel. (Heinemann [1960])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2021 .S27

Introduction by Sir Laurence Olivier.

FILMOGRAPHY: TITLES IN THE UDM COLLECTION

Chronicle History Of King Henry The Fifth

(Paramount Pictures Corporation, c1988)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 2812 .O45 1988

Credits: Producer-director, Laurence Olivier; screenplay, Laurence Olivier and Alan Dent; art director, Paul Sheriff; photography, Robert Krasker; costume design, Roger Furse ; music, William Walton ; music director, Muir Matheson; music score, The London Symphony Orchestra. Cast: Laurence Olivier, Robert Newton, Leslie Banks, Renee Asherson, Felix Aylmer, Esmond Knight, Leo Genn. The London Symphony Orchestra Olivet and Alan Dent; art director Paul Sheriff; director of photography Robert Krasker; costume design, Roger Furse; operating cameraman, Jack Hildyard; associate producer, Dallas Bower; Music composer, Sir William Walton; Musical director Muir Matheson; music score Notes: Title on container: Henry V. Complete title from screen: The chronicle history of King Henry the Fifth with his battell faught in Agincourt in France by Will Shakespeare will be played by the Lord Chamberlain's Men at the Globe Playhouse this day the first of May, 1600. Based on the play by William Shakespeare. Originally released as a motion picture in 1944 by Two Cities. VHS format. Summary: Shakespeare's play is presented as a performance at the Globe Theater in 1600. The scene becomes progressively more realistic for the Battle of Agincourt, but once again reverts to the Globe for the conclusion. (137 min.)

Hamlet

(Paramount [Home Video], c1989)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 2807 .O49

Credits: Photographer, Desmond Dickinson ; cameraman, Ray Sturgess ; editor, Helga Cranston ; music, William Walton ; text editor, Alan Dent ; by William Shakespeare ; directed by Laurence Olivier. Cast: Laurence Olivier (Hamlet), Felix Aylmer (Polonius), Jean Simmons (Ophelia), Eileen Herlie (Gertrude), Anthony Quayle (Marcellus), Basil Sydney (Claudius), Norman Wooland (Horatio), Terence Morgan (Laertes) Notes: Hi-Fi, Dolby processed. Not rated. "A J. Arthur Rank enterprise." Originally issued as a motion picture by Two Cities, Britain, 1948, as a Laurence Olivier production. "This brilliant production earned critical acclaim and four 1948 Academy Awards: Best picture, Actor, Art direction-set direction and Costume design"--Container. Videocassette release of the 1948 motion picture. Summary: The classic version of Shakespeare's Hamlet, the towering tragedy of the Danish prince who feigns madness to trap his father's murderer. (155 min.)

King Lear

(Kultur, 1984)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 2819 .O49

Credits: Directed by Michael Elliott. Cast: Laurence Olivier (King Lear), Dorothy Tutin (Goneril), Diana Rigg (Regan), Anna Calder-Marshall (Cordelia), Colin Blakely (Kent), Jeremy Kemp (Cornwall), Robert Lang (Albany), Robert Lindsay (Edmund), Leo McKern (Gloucester), David Threlfall (Edgar), John Hurt (The fool). Notes: VHS. Summary: Emmy Award winning television presentation of Shakespeare's timeless tale of greed and lust of power with Laurence Olivier as the aged, embittered King Lear, a foolish king who divides his realm between two ungrateful daughters. (158 min.)

Merchant Of Venice

(LIVE Home Video, [1993])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 2825 .A2 S53 1993

Credits: Executive producer, Cecil Clarke. Cast: Laurence Olivier, Joan Plowright, Jeremy Brett, Michael Jayston. Notes: A television version of Jonathan Miller's 1973 London stage production. Summary: Set in 1860's Venice, a young Venetian borrows money from a Jew who gives him the money on the security of one pound of flesh. Upon default the Jew insists on payment of his bond and the young Venetian is rescued by the heroine disguised as a male lawyer. (134 min.)

Richard III

(Embassy Home Entertainment, c1987,1955)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 2821 .O49

Credits: Produced and directed by Sir Laurence Olivier. Cast: Laurence Olivier, Claire Bloom, John Gielgud, Ralph Richardson. Videocassette release of the 1955 motion picture. Newly remastered original full length version. Adapted from the play by William Shakespeare. "Newly Remastered original full length version." (155 min.)

Wuthering Heights

(Embassy Home Entertainment [distributor, 1987])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 4172 .A5 W97

Credits:  produced by Samuel Goldwyn ; directed by William Wyler ; screenplay by Charles MacArthur and Ben Hecht. 

Cast:  Laurence Olivier, Merle Oberon, David Niven, Flora Rolson, Donald Crisp, Leo G. Carroll.    Notes:  Originally released as a motion picture in 1939.

Summary:  The story of the impact of the abused waif, Heathcliff, on two Yorkshire families, the Earnshaws and Lintons, at the close of the 18th century. When Heathcliff loses Cathy Earnshaw, the woman he obsessively loves, to the wealthy but inferior Edgar Linton, he plans a savage retaliation upon both families, extending into the second generation.  (104 min.).

Laurence Olivier

IMDb.

Website includes biography, filmography, photos, and links to message boards.

Sir Laurence Olivier Official Web Site

Estate of Sir Laurence Olivier c/o CMG Worldwide.

The Official Web Site of Sir Laurence Olivier has everything that you want to know about Laurence Olivier. Check out this month's TV Appearances in our What's New section, read our Biography about the Impressive Screen Legend, or browse through some fabulous Laurence Olivier Photos.  Also includes links to books, posters, and tributes.

Patricia S. Higo

Associate Librarian
Archives & Archive Collection Management
McNichols Campus Library

higopa@udmercy.edu
313-578-0435

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top