Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Theater

Research Guides

Federal Theatre Project

Arena; the history of the Federal Theatre

Flanagan, Hallie. (B. Blom [1965, c1940])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2266 .D37 1965

Bibliography: p. 439-447.

Blueprints for a Black federal theatre, 1935-1939

Fraden, Rena. (Cambridge University Press, c1996)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2270 .F43 F73 1996

Constructions of race in Southern theatre: from Federalism to the Federal Theatre Project

(Southeastern Theatre Conference and the University of Alabama Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2273 .S5 C66 2003

Papers from a symposium held in April 2002, at Elon University in North Carolina.

Contents: The quest for self in others: race, authenticity, and "folk plays" / Dorothy Chansky -- What's a poor girl to do? Poverty, whiteness, and femininity on the Carolina playmakers' stage / Jessica Hester -- The "benevolent" institution of slavery: Confederate ideology in James D. McCabe's The guerillas / Heather McMahon -- Wenches, old darkies, and children on the plantation: the performance of gender and race on the Northern minstrel stage / Heather May -- Excerpts from An evening with Ira Aldridge / Eddie Bradley -- Fighting one "ism" with another: the Communist Party fights racism in the South: Scottsboro dramatizations and Stevedore / Anne Fletcher -- The effect of race, gender, and media on the last legal public execution in the United States / Wesley A. Bartlett -- Oppressed, stereotyped, and silenced: Atlanta's black history with the Federal Theatre Project / Melissa Hurt -- Subverting the system: the Atlanta University summer theatre / Freda Scott Giles -- "Rufflin' and rumblin'" in the dark: audience dynamics in the "Buzzard roost" of the segregated South / John Poole -- Symposium response / Marvin Sims.

Federal Theater, File 891, and the Mercury Theater

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2270 .F43 F435 2004

Summary: This film appraises the impact of the drama groups that flourished during the Depression and their lasting contributions to theater. Among the topics discussed are the American method stye of acting, as pioneered at the Group Theatre; the Federal Theater, the Classical Theatre (Project 891), and the Mercury Theater, incubators for some of the most innovative and controversial works ever seen on the American stage; and the theatrical careers of Orson Welles and John Houseman. (30 min.)

Federal Theatre Project : a case study

Witham, Barry. (Cambridge University Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2270 .F43 W58 2003

Series: Cambridge studies in American theatre and drama, no. 20. Includes bibliographical references (p. 176-184) and index.

New Deal stage: selections from the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939

Library Of Congress.

This online presentation includes over 13,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period (over 3,000 images). Also included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records (3,700 images). The Federal Theatre Project was one of five arts-related projects established during the first term of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt under the Works Progress Administration (WPA).

Voices from the Federal Theatre

Schwartz, Bonnie Nelson. (University of Wisconsin Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2270 .F43 S38 2003

Book is accompnaied by a CD-ROM. Includes index. Contents: Hallie's comet : the Federal Theatre / by Robert Brustein -- The actors. Perry Bruskin ; Jeff Corey ; Jules Dassin ; Rosetta LeNoire ; Norman Lloyd ; Alan Peters ; John Randolph ; Studs Terkel -- The producers. John Houseman ; Woodie King, Jr. ; Robert Schnitzer -- The writers. Arthur Miller -- The variety artists. Bob Baker ; Katherine Dunham ; Virginia Wren -- Other voices. Clinton Turner Davis ; Lincoln Diamant ; Richard Eyre.

WPA Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939

Offers a history of the Federal Theatre Project as well as excerpts from related documents.

Patricia S. Higo

Associate Librarian
Archives & Archive Collection Management
McNichols Campus Library

higopa@udmercy.edu
313-578-0435

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top