Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Theater

Research Guides

20th Century British Drama: History And Criticism

Alarums and excursions

Agate, James. (Doran, 1922)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .A4

Contents: A cartel to modesty.--The decay of criticism.--Sarah Bernhardt; a postscript.--Big pugs and little--Swan and dragonfly.--A note on repertory.--Cackle and 'osses.--The art of the Guitrys.--A view of "The beggar's opera."--An evening at Collins's.--Incidental music and some Shakespeare.--Vesta ave atque vale.--Charlie Chaplin.--Heartbreak Shaw.--Scaramouch in seven dials.--The hound of Drinkwater.--A point of style.--Hippocamp-elephantocamelos.--For the purposes of revenue.--A happy commentator.

Anger and after: a guide to the new British drama

Taylor, John Russell. (2nd ed., revised, Methuen, 1969)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .T3 1969

Angry theatre; new British drama

Taylor, John Russell. (Hill and Wang [1969])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .T24

Notes: First published in England under title: Anger, and after: a guide to the new British drama. Includes index.

As the curtain rises : on contemporary British drama, 1966-1976

Colby, Douglas. (Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, c1978)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .C57

Subjects: Stoppard, Tom. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are dead - Hampton, Christopher, 1946- Philanthropist - Pinter, Harold. Old times. Bibliography: p. 100-103.

At half-past eight; essays of the theatre, 1921-1922

Agate, James. (B. Blom [1969])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .A26

British and Irish women dramatists since 1958 : a critical handbook

Griffiths, Trevor R.; Llewellyn-Jones, Margaret (eds.). (Philadelphia : Open University Press, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 739 .F45 B75 1993

Series: Gender in writing Includes bibliographical references and indexes. Contents: Early stages : women dramatists 1958-68 / Lib Taylor -- Claiming a space : 1969-78 / Margaret Llewellyn-Jones -- Waving not drowning : the mainstream, 1979-88 / Trevor R. Griffths -- Sister George is dead : the making of modern lesbian theatre / Rose Collis -- Black women playwrights in Britain / Susan Croft -- On the margins : women dramatists in Wales / Margaret Llewellyn-Jones -- Irish women playwrights since 1958 / Anna McMullan -- Transformations and transgressions : women's discourse on the Scottish stage / Susan C. Triesman -- An alphabet of apocrypha : collaborations and explorations in women's theatre / Susan Croft, April de Angelis.

British drama since Shaw

Roy, Emil. (Feffer & Simons [1972])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 731 .R65

Series: Crosscurrents: modern critiques. Contents: Bernard Shaw.--Oscar Wilde.--W. B. Yeats.--J. M. Synge.--Sean O'Casey.--T. S. Eliot and Christopher Fry.--The moderns: Osborne, Arden, Pinter, Wesker, and Whiting.--Bibliography (p. 137)

Contemporary British drama : an outsider's view

Choudhuri, A. D.. (Arnold-Heinemann, 1976)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .C35

Includes index. Bibliography: p. [213]-217.

Contemporary drama of England

Dickinson, Thomas Herbert. (Little, Brown, and company, 1917)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .D5

Series: The contemporary drama series. Notes: "Bibliographical appendix": p. 241-281.

Contemporary dramatists

Berney, K. A. (ed.). (5th ed., Detroit : St. James, c1993)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1625 .V5 1993

Series: Contemporary writers of the English language. Includes title index.

Contemporary dramatists

Vinson, James (ed.). (St. Martin's Press, 1977)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 106 .V5 1977

Series: Contemporary writers of the English language. Includes index.

Contemporary theatre...

Agate, James. (Chapman and Hall, 1924-1927)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .A5

Year of coverage follows title. Check catalog to see which years are in the UDM collection.

Disrupting the spectacle : five years of experimental and fringe theatre in Britain

Ansorge, Peter. (Pitman, 1975)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .A6

"Play list": p. 83-84. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Drama in a world of science, and three other lectures

Wickham, Glynne William Gladstone. (University of Toronto Press, 1962)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2075 .W5 1962a

English drama, 1900-1930; the beginnings of the modern period

Nicoll, Allardyce. (University Press, 1973)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 721 .N45

"Hand-list of plays, 1900-1930": p. [451]-1053. Includes bibliographical references.

English drama of the early modern period, 1890-1940

Chothia, Jean. (Longman, 1996)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .C36 1996

Longman literature in English series. Includes bibliographical references (p. [279]-289) and index.

Henry Arthur Jones and the modern drama

Cordell, Richard Albert. (Long & R. R. Smith, inc., 1932)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 4828 .C6

Interchange of plays between London and New York, 1910-1939; a study in relative audience response

Boyd, Alice Katharine. (King's Crown Press, 1948)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2596.L6 B6 1948a

Issued also as thesis, Columbia University. "Bibliographies": p. [116]-125.

Irish drama of Europe from Yeats to Beckett

Worth, Katharine. (Humanities Press, c1978)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 8789 .W6

Includes index. Bibliography: p. [267]-270.

J. M. Synge and the Irish dramatic movement

Bickley, Francis Lawrance. (Houghton Mifflin, 1912)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 5533 .B58

Literature in the theatre, and other essays

Darlington, William Aubrey. (Books for Libraries Press [1968])
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1655 .D27 1968

Reprint of the 1925 ed. Essays, with one exception, which appeared in their original form, either in the Fortnightly Review or in the Daily Telegraph.

Looking back : British theater, two wars later [videorecording]

(Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .L66 2001

1 VHS videocassette (50 min.). Notes: Originally produced in 2000 as an episode of the BBC television program, Changing stages. Summary: "This program ... focuses on theater in London from the 1920s to the '60s, as self-expression struggled against rigid governmental censorship. The contributions of playwrights John Osborne, Noel Coward, Terence Rattigan, Rodney Ackland, Brendan Behan, and Shelagh Delaney are spotlighted, along with ... producers "Binky" Beaumont, George Devine, and John Littlewood."

Modern English drama : a survey of the theatre from 1900

Reynolds, Ernest Randolph. (University of Oklahoma Press, 1951)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .R4 1951

Bibliography: p. 195-200.

Modern English playwrights; a short history of the English drama from 1825

Cunliffe, John William. (Harper & Brothers, 1927)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 721 .C8

Plays and playwrights series. Notes: "Books of general reference": p. 254-256; "Play list" at end of each chapter.

Modern Irish drama

Harrington, John P. (ed.). (Norton, c1991)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 8869 .M63 1991

Series: A Norton critical edition. Includes bibliographical references (p. [574]-577).

Modern poetic drama

Thouless, Priscilla. (B. Blackwell, 1934)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 739.P6 T5

Contents: Introduction.--Stephen Phillips.--James Elroy Flecker.--Laurence Binyon and John Masefield.--Wilfred Wilson Gibson and John Drinkwater.--Lascelles Abercrombie.--John Davidson.--Davidson's later dramas.--Thomas Hardy: The dynasts.--Arthur Symons.--W.B. Yeats.--Gordon Bottomley.--Sturge Moore.--Conclusion.--Bibliography (p. 202-204).

Out on stage : lesbian and gay theatre in the twentieth century

Sinfield, Alan. (Yale University Press, c1999)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 739 .H65 S56 1999

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Post-war British theatre

Elsom, John. (Routledge & K. Paul, 1979)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .E4 1979

Includes index.

Religion in modern English drama

Weales, Gerald Clifford. (University of Pennsylvania Press [1961])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 739 .R4 .W36 and PR 739.R4 W4 1961

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Rise and fall of the well-made play

Taylor, John Russell. (Hill and Wang [1967])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 731 .T24

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Second wave; British drama for the seventies

Taylor, John Russell. (Hill and Wang [1971])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .T34 1971

"Bibliography of playscripts": p. [231]-236.

Six dramatists in search of a language : studies in dramatic language

Kennedy, Andrew K.. (Cambridge University Press, 1975)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 739 .L3 .K35 and PR 739.L3 K4

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Sixty years of theatre

Short, Ernest Henry. (Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1951)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 2595 .S48

"Includes material from the author's two previous books, Theatrical cavalcade and Fifty years of vaudeville."

Theatre at work; playwrights and productions in the modern British theatre

Marowitz, Charles; Trussler, Simon (eds.). (Hill and Wang, 1967, 1968)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 738.M3 1968; PR 738.M35

A collection of interviews and essays edited by Charles Marowitz and Simon Trussler, with an introd. by Irving Wardle.

Theatre language: a study of Arden, Osborne, Pinter and Wesker

Brown, John Russell. (Taplinger Pub. Co. [1972])
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .B76

Bibliography: p. 252-[253].

Third voice: modern British and American verse drama

Donoghue, Denis. (Princeton University Press, 1959)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 736 .D6 and PR 736 .D68

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Through the fourth wall

Darlington, William Aubrey. (Chapman and Hall ltd., 1922)
McNichols Campus Library
PN 1655 .D3

Contents: Introduction.--The fourth wall.--About players.--About plays.--About the theatre.

Verse drama since 1800

Trewin, J. C.. (University Press, 1956)
McNichols Campus Library
PR 721 .T71

Series: National Book League (Great Britain) Reader's guides, 2d ser., no. 8.

Patricia S. Higo

Associate Librarian
Archives & Archive Collection Management
McNichols Campus Library

higopa@udmercy.edu
313-578-0435

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top