Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Sociology

Research Guides

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Blackwell dictionary of sociology : a user's guide to sociological language

(Cambridge, Mass. : Blackwell, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
REF HM 17 .J64

Lists brief definitions of terms and concepts central to the discipline of sociology. Also includes 114 brief biographies of major sociologists.

A Critical Dictionary of Sociology

(Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1989)
McNichols Campus Library
HM 17 .B6813

A translation from French, this work contains 73 essays which aim to "...prsent a critical analysis of the sociological tradition." Essays cover broad concepts and a few major personalities, are approximately 3-10 pages in length, and include substantial bibliographies.

Dictionary of Medical Sociology

(Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
REF RA 418 .C655

Provides entries from a paragraph to a page in length on a variety of terms and concepts in the area of medical sociology. Includes cross-references, index, and a 16 page "list of references."

Dictionary of the social sciences

(New York : Oxford University Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
REF H 41 .D53

Lists approximately 1,800 terms, concepts, theories, and people from all areas of the social sciences. Entries are from a paragraph to a half-page in length; a 38-page bibliography is included.

Encyclopedia of sociology

(New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
REF HM 17 .E5

Lists over 400 articles, written by specialists, on a wide range of topics withing the field. Articles average 4-8 pages in length and are followed by lists of references for further reading. A subject index to the set is included in volume 5.

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences

(Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
REF H 41 .I58

A 26-volume comprehensive encyclopedia aimed at an academic audience covering all areas of the social and behavioral sciences. Over 4,000 contributors wrote lengthy articles, each followed by a substantial bibliography.

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top