Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Sociology

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Sociology Databases

JSTOR

Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Wiley Online Library

The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Criminal Justice

Cross Discipline Databases

GenderWatch (ProQuest)

GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoGender Studies Collection (Gale)

MEL.

This collection of journals seeks to provide balanced coverage of GLBT issues, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

PsycINFO 1887 (ProQuest)

PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.


SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Statistics

Census (U.S. Census Bureau)

This is the official U.S. Census Bureau website, providing information about 2010 census and access to the 2000 census data. In addition to the standard census tables in the general categories of people and households, business and industry, and geography, the site also provides access to survey and sample data. Information includes anonymous data from many social, financial and medical studies that are conducted by the Bureau of the Census. Population clocks show U.S. and World population estimates updated minute-to-minute.

 

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

FedStats

FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

MapStats

MapStats is a subset of the FedStats site, offering links to statistical information by state. Some 2000 and later census data is included.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top