Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Social Work

Research Guides

Social Work With The Aged

Aging and spirituality: spiritual dimensions of aging theory, research, practice, and policy

Moberg, David O.. (Haworth Pastoral Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
BL 625.4 .A35 2001

Changes in decision-making capacity in older adults: assessment and intervention

Qualls, Sarah Honn; Smyer, Michael A. (eds.). (John Wiley & Sons, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 724.85 .D44 C48 2008

Communication skills for working with elders

Dreher, Barbara Bender. (2nd ed., Springer, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1451 .D75 2001

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Critical Issues in Social Work With Older People

Bernard, Miriam; Phillips, Judith (eds.). (Palgrave MacMillan, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1481 .G7 R39 2009

Delicate balance : case studies in counseling and care management for older adults

Ingersoll-Dayton, Berit; Campbell, Ruth (eds.). (Health Professions Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 480.54 .D45 2001

Economics of aging

Schulz, James H.. (7th ed., Auburn House, c2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 7106 .U5 S33 2001

Includes bibliographical references (p. [325]-351) and index.

Elder abuse and neglect : causes, diagnosis, and intervention strategies

Quinn, Mary Joy. (Springer Pub., c1997)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 6626.3 .Q56 1997

Series: Springer series on social work. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Excellence in Dementia Care: Research Into Practice

Downs, Murna: Bowers, Barbara J. (eds.). (Open University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library

Electronic book

Foundations of social work practice in the field of aging: a competency-based approach

Greene, Roberta R.. (NASW Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1451 .F68 2007

Gerontological Home Health Care: A Guide For the Social Work Practitioner

Kadushin, Goldie. (Columbia University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1461 .K33 2008

Gerontological social work : a task-centered approach

Naleppa, Matthias J.; Reid, William James. (Columbia University Press, c2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1461 .N313 2003

Includes bibliographical references (p. [343]-386) and indexes.

Gerontological social work : theory into practice

Nathanson, Ilene; Tirrito, Terry. (Springer Pub., c1998)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1461 .N324 1998

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Gerontologicial supervision : a social work perspective in case management and direct care

Burack-Weiss, Ann; Brennan, Frances Coyle. (Haworth Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1465 .B87 2007

Handbook of social work in health and aging

Berkman, Barbara (ed.). (Oxford University Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1451 .H34 2006

Handbook of theories of aging

Bengtson, Vern L.. (Springer, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
HQ 1061 .H3366 2009

Social care of the elderly : the effects of ethnicity, class, and culture

Cantor, Marjorie H.; Brennan, Mark. (Springer, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1471 .N48 C37 1999

Social work and dementia

Moore, David. (Learning Matters, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 521 .M66 2012

Social work in geriatric home health care : the blending of traditional practice with cooperative strategies

Rosengarten, Lucille. (Haworth Press, c2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1461 .R65 2000

Series: Haworth social work in health care. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Social work practice with the elderly

Holosko, Michael J.; Feit, Marvin D. (eds.). (3rd ed., Canadian Scholars' Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1451 .S63 2004

Includes bibliographical references.

Social work with the aged and their families

Greene, Roberta R.. (2nd ed., Aldine de Gruyter, c2000)
Dental School Library
HV 1451 .G74 2000

Series: Modern applications of social work. Includes bibliographical references (p. 177-197) and index.

Social Work With Older Adults: A Biopsychosocial Approach to Assessment and Intervention

McInnis-Dietrich, Kathleen. (Allyn & Bacon, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1461 .M384 2009

Social Work With Older People

McDonald, Ann. (Polity, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1481 .G72 M33 2010

Still kicking : restorative groups for frail older adults

Brown-Watson, Abby V.. (Health Professional Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HQ 1064 .U5 B763 1999

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Working with older people

Tanner, Denise; Harris, John. (Routledge/Community Care, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1451 .T36 2008

Video

Substance abuse in the elderly

(Aquarius Health Care Videos, 2000)
RC 564.5 .A34 S82 2000

30 minutes 

The percentage of Americans living beyond age 70 is increasing, and there's growing concern that these people are also at risk for problems related to drinking alcohol and prescription drug misuse. This program profiles older Americans dealing with these issues, and shows some innovative programs created specifically for the elderly.

Websites

The Association for Gerontolgy Education in Social Work (AgeSW)

AGESW maintains an international membership of hundreds of educators who teach, conduct research, and promote gerontology at all levels of programs of social work education.

Gerontological Social Work

National Association of Social Workers.

NASW website offers links to full-text journal articles.

Gerontological Society of America

GSA is the oldest and largest multidisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. GSA’s principal mission — and that of our 5,000+ members — is to advance the study of aging and disseminate information among scientists, decision makers, and the general public.

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top