Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Social Work

Research Guides

Background Resources - Dictionaries, Handbooks, Encyclopedias

Canadian encyclopedia of social work

Turmer, Francis J. (ed.). (Wilfrid Laurier University Press, c2005)
McNichols Campus Library

Available electronically.

Dictionary of social work

Pierson, John. (Open University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 40 .P534 2010

Available in print and electronically.

A dictionary of social work and social care

Harris:, John; White, Vicky. (Oxford University Press, 2013)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 12 .H37 2013

Encyclopedia of social work

Mizrahi, Terry; Davis, Larry E. (eds.). (20th ed., Oxford University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library

Available electronically.

Encyclopedia of social work

Edwards, Richard L.. (19th ed., National Association of Social Workers, 1995)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 35 .S6 1995

3 volume set.

Encyclopedia of social work with groups

Gitterman, Alex; Salmon, Robert (eds.). (Routledge, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 45 .E53 2009

Handbook for practice learning in social work and social care : knowledge and theory

Lishman, Joyce (ed.). (Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 40 .H2825 2007

Available in print and electronically.

Handbook of health social work

Gehlert, Sara; Browne, Teri Arthur (eds.). (Wiley, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 687 .A2 H36 2006

Handbook of HIV and social work : principles, practices, and populations

Poindexter, Cynthia Cannon. (John Wiley & Sons, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 643.75 .H36 2010

Handbook of international social work : human rights, development, and the global profession

Healy, Lynne M.; Link, Rosemary J. (eds.). (Oxford University Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 40.35 .H36 2012

Handbook of program evaluation for social work and health professionals

Smith, Michael J.. (Oxford University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 40 .S6152 2010

The handbook of social work direct practice

Allen-Meares, Paula; Garvin, Charles D. (eds.). (Sage, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 40 .H2827 2000

Handbook of social work in child and adolescent sexual abuse

Hilarski, Carolyn; Wodarski, John S.; Feit, Marvin D. (eds.). (Haworth Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 6570 .H36 2007

Handbook of social work in health and aging

Berkman, Barbara; D'Ambruoso, Sarah (eds.). (Oxford University Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 1451 .H34 2006

Available in print and electronically.

The handbook of social work research methods

Thyer, Bruce A.. (Sage, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 11 .H342 2001

Helping in child protective services : a competency-based casework handbook

Brittain, Charmaine; Hunt, Deborah Esquibel. (Oxford University Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 741 .H45 2004

The post-qualifying handbook for social workers

Tovey, Wade (ed.). (Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 40 .P664 2007

SAGE handbook of social work research

Shaw, Ian (ed.). (Sage, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 11 .S26 2010

Social work career development : a handbook for job hunting and career planning

Doelling, Carol Nesslein. (NASW Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 10.5 .D63 2005

The social work dictionary

Barker, Robert L.. (NASW Press, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
HV 12 .B37 2003

In Reference.

Social work skills : a practice handbook

Trevithick, Pamela. (Open University Press, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library

Available electronically.

Karl A. Ericson

Assistant Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

ericsoka@udmercy.edu
313-993-1120

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top