Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Political Science

Research Guides

Think Tanks

Think Tank Directory

Harvard University, Kennedy School of Government.

American Enterprise Institute

"AEI's purposes are to defend the principles and improve the institutions of American freedom and democratic capitalism--limited government, private enterprise, individual liberty and responsibility, vigilant and effective defense and foreign policies, political accountability, and open debate. Its work is addressed to government officials and legislators, teachers and students, business executives, professionals, journalists, and all citizens interested in a serious understanding of government policy, the economy, and important social and political developments." [from the site]

Annenberg Public Policy Center

 "The Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania performs research in the fields of political communication, information and society, media and the developing child, health communication and adolescent risk. The Policy Center's goal is to provide expert analysis that brings these issues into focus."  [from the Center's site]

Ayn Rand Institute

Education and advocacy of the philosophy of Ayn Rand known as Objectivism.  

Fundamentals of Objectivism include reason, rational self-interest, individual rights and laissez-faire capitalism.

Brookings Institute

"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: Strengthen American democracy; Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system."   [from the site]

Cato Institute

The Institute is named for Cato's Letters, a series of libertarian pamphlets that helped lay the philosophical foundation for the American Revolution.

It "...seeks to broaden the parameters of public policy debate to allow consideration of the traditional American principles of limited government, individual liberty, free markets and peace."

Center for American Progress

"Our work builds upon progressive ideals put forth by such leaders as Teddy Roosevelt, FDR, JFK, and Martin Luther King. We draw from the great social movements of the 20th century—from labor rights and worker safety, to civil rights and women's suffrage. We translate those values into new ideas and action firmly rooted in the economic and political realities of the 21st century." [from the site]

Center for Budget and Policy Priorities

Focus is on budget and tax policies and the federal and local levels and how they affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.

Center for Economic and Policy Research

Conducts research on social and economic issues to educate and to "promote democratic debate"

Center for Justice & Democracy

"A national consumer organization in the country exclusively dedicated to protecting our civil justice system." [from the website]

Center for Media and Democracy

"The Center for Media and Democracy was founded in 1993 as an independent, non-profit, non-partisan, public interest organization. CMD's mission is to promote transparency and an informed debate by exposing corporate spin and government propaganda and by engaging the public in collaborative, fair and accurate reporting." [from the site'

Center for Progressive Reform

A left-leaning organization focusing on issues of health, safety and the environment.

Center for Responsive Politics

A research group that tracks money in U. S. politics and it's influence on legislation and public policy.  Information is collected on the cost of state and national elections and is searchable and downloadable for research. Names of donors and stats on the unregulated advocacy groups called 527s.  Lobbying firms and the hiring of former government officials is another area of interest of CRP.  

Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington

CREW "uses high-impact legal actions to target government officials who sacrifice the common good to special interests"   [from the website]

Heritage Foundation

"Founded in 1973, The Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institute - a think tank - whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense." [from the site]

Institute for Policy Innovation

"Advocates lower taxes, fewer regulations, smaller, less intrusive government."  [from the site]

Institute for Policy Studies

A think tank on global issues from a social justice perspective.

Manhattan Institute

 The mission is to "...shape American political culture and developing ideas that foster economic choice and individual responsibility." [from the website]

People for the American Way

Established in 1981,  this is a progressive, liberal advocacy group.

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center.

This site contains a variety of poll and survey results, reports, and other data from the Pew Research Center, which "is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."

Public Citizen

An advocacy organization representing the consumer's interests in the goverment.

Rand Corporation

Research in public policy areas is conducted for foundations, governments and private sector firms.

Religious Freedom Coalition

"The Religious Freedom Coalition is a non-profit educational organization head quartered in Washington, D.C.  Founded in 1982 the Religious Freedom Coalition is dedicated to the quality of mankind and the freedom of religious expression"

"...works to ensure that marriage remains the union of one man and one woman."

"...works to protect the lives of unborn children and those who cannot defend themselves." 

[from the website]

Sunlight Foundation

The  purpose is to "shine a light on the interplay of money, lobbying, influence and govenment in Washington."  [from the website] 

Tax Policy Center

The Tax Policy Center is a joint venture of the Urban Institute and Brookings Institution. The Center is made up of nationally recognized experts in tax, budget, and social policy who have served at the highest levels of government. 

TPC provides timely, accessible analysis and facts about tax policy to policymakers, journalists, citizens, and researchers.  [from the website]

Think Progress

Think Progress is a project of the Center for American Progress Action Fund  Center for American Progress Action Fund. The Center for American Progress Action Fund is a nonpartisan organization. Through this blog, CAPAF seeks to provide a forum that advances progressive ideas and policies.

ThinkProgress was voted “Best Liberal Blog” in the 2006 Weblog Awards and chosen as an Official Honoree in the 2009 Webby awards. It was also named best blog of 2008 by The Sidney Hillman Foundation, receiving an award for journalism excellence.

 [from the website]

World Press Review Online Think Tank Directory

A listing of international organizations.

Marilyn Dow

Director, School of Dentistry Library
Dental School Library

dowmk@udmercy.edu
313-494-6905

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top