Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Philosophy

Research Guides

How we see

Adobe Photoshop forensics : sleuths, truths, and fauxtography

Baron, Cynthia. (Thompson Course Technology PTR, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
T 385 .B342 2008

Believing Is Seeing: Observations on the Mysteries of Photography

Morris, Errol. (Penguin Press, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
TR 820.5 .M676 2011

Compelling Visuality : The Work of Art in and Out of History

Farago, Claire J. Zwijnenberg, Robert. (University of Minnesota Press, 2003)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Cultivating picturacy : visual art and verbal interventions

Heffernan, James A. W.. (Baylor University Press, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93.5 .H44 2006

Table of Contents

For all the world to see : visual culture and the struggle for civil rights /

Berger, Maurice. (Yale University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
P 94.5 .A372 U534 2010

Google Experiments With Next Generation Image Search

Arrington, Michael.

This website explains new Google software that analyzes digital image content instead of associated text or tags.

Image Science Group

Department of Computer Science, Dartmouth College.

This website includes research, tutorials and examples of photographic tampering and digital forensics.  It also includes a link to a digital forensic database that " maintains a bibliography for technical papers, source code, and data in the field of digital forensics."

Integral bias in the cognitive processing of emotionally linked pictures

Martin, Maryanne; Jones, Gregory V.. British Journal of Psychology. (86, August 1995, 429-35)

Available in the OmniFile Full Text database (off-campus authentication required)

In the Mind's Eye : Julian Hochberg on the Perception of Pictures, Films, and the World

Peterson, Mary A. Gillam, Barbara Sedgwick, H.A.. (Oxford University Press, 2007)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Introduction to image processing

Furst, Jacob.

This tutorial defines images and their parameters and image restoration and enhancement. 

Introduction to visual culture

Mirzoeff, Nicholas. (Routledge, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
HM 500 .M57 1999

Life and death of images: ethics and aesthetics

Costello, Diramuid. (Cornell Univ. Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
BH 39 .L539 2008

No caption needed : iconic photographs, public culture, and liberal democracy

Hariman, Robert. (University of Chicago Press, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
E 169.12 .H369 2007

Paint or Pixel : The Digital Divide in Illustration Art

Frank, Jane. (Nonstop Press, 2007)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Revisualizing visual culture

Bailey, Chris; Gardiner, Hazel. (Ashgate, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library

Available online through the ebrary database (off-campus authentication required)

Swift viewing : the popular life of subliminal influence

Acland, Charles R.. (Duke University Press, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5827.9 .A25 2012

Thinking and seeing : visual metacognition in adults and children

Levin, Daniel T.. (MIT Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 241 .T48 2004

Visual communication : integrating media, art, and science

Williams, Rick. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93.5 .W55 2007

Visual culture reader

Mirzoeff, Nicholas. (Routledge, 1998)
NX 458 .V58 1998

Visual marketing : from attention to action

Wedel, Michel; Pieters, Rik. (Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
HF 5822 .V57 2008

Visual memory

Luck, Steven J.; Hollingworth, Andrew R.. (Oxford University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 371 .V57 2008

Visual methodologies : an introduction to the interpretation of visual materials

Rose, Gillian. (Sage, 2001)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Visual rhetoric : a reader in communication and American culture

Olson, Lester C.; Finnegan, Cara A.; Hope, Diane S.. (Sage, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
P 93.5 .V568 2008

Table of Contents

Book Description

Visual world in memory

Brockmole, James R.. (Psychology Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
BF 371 .V58 2009

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Library Instruction Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top