Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

History

Scholarly Articles + Databases

Databases for history.

ACLS Humanities E-Books

Fully searchable collection of over 3700 books in the humanities.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Harper's Weekly

HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Highwire Press

Highwire Press is a collaborative online publishing effort that incorporates online journals from many publishers. This links directly to the publisher listing. Access to over 200 Sage journals is available through Highwire Press. There is also a substantial collection of freely accessible journals in Highwire, some of which limit access to journal issues that are 12 or more months old.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

Covers both U.S. and World History.  This is a full text database with historical reference books, journals, and primary source documents.

Humanities Source (EBSCO)

Full text of over 1,400 journals in classical studies, literature, history, linguistics, performing arts, religion and theology.

JSTOR

Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections. Follow this link to see a listing of all JSTOR collections available at UDM or download a complete list of all journals included in these collections.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy is not only movies, but is a good place to find all sorts of history documentaries.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Making of America (Michigan)

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books with 19th century imprints. For more details about the project, see About MoA.

New York Times: Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times.

Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993), provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article level images.

Wiley Online Library

The Wiley Online Library includes all electronic book and journal publications from Wiley. Journals formerly in the Blackwell Synergy collection are now included in the Wiley Online Library. Full text is available for these journals from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and coverage for some goes back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an open padlock icon.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Michigan Electronic Library logoWorldCat

MEL.

This is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, containing over 179 million records; it includes holdings information from most of the world's libraries. Information is included on books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, journal articles, book chapters, papers, and videotapes. Although it is primarily a citation database, many records include abstracts, summaries, tables of contents, and brief reviews.

SHOW/HIDE DATABASE DETAILS

Cindy Gilham

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
McNichols Campus Library

gillhaca@udmercy.edu
313-993-1810

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top