Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Health Care Education

Research Guides

Nursing Education

WEBSITES

Health Care Education Association

This association supports health care educators, providing learning and networking opportunities.

International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning

This website includes information on Nursing Skill Laboratory and Learning Resource Center conferences, listservs, and websites.

National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Service (NAPNES)

This website includes information on Practical Nurse educator workshops, accreditation criteria, continuing education courses, and nursing news.

University Teaching Journals

compiled by Nancy Chesik.

This excel document includes links to online  journals with helpful information about teaching at the university level in many disciplines, including nursing, diversity and ethics.  Some journals are freely available online, others are available through UDM Library subscription databases and require students and faculty to login to TitanConnect.

BOOKS AND VIDEOS

Clinical teaching strategies in nursing

Gaberson, Kathleen B.; Oermann, Marilyn H. (eds.).. (Springer, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .G26 2006

Ethical component of nursing education : integrating ethics into clinical experience

Bosek, Marcia Sue DeWolf; Savage, Teresa A.. (Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 85 .B67 2007

Table of Contents

Nurse educator's guide to assessing learning outcomes

McDonald, Mary. (Jones and Bartlett, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 81.5 .M344 2007

Table of Contents

Nursing education in the clinical setting

Emerson, Roberta J.. (Mosby, Elsevier, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .E64 2007

Teaching IOM : implications of the Institute of Medicine reports for nursing education

Finkelman, Anita; Kenner, Carole. (American Nurses Association, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .F46 2007

Table of Contents

Clinical instruction and evaluation : a teaching resource

O'Connor, Andrea B.. (Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .O26 2006

Table of Contents

Nuts-and-bolts approach to teaching nursing

Novotny, Jeanne M.; Griffin, Mary T. Quinn. (Springer Pub, 2006)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 90 .N68 2006

Table of Contents

Online health science education : development & implementation

Jairath, Nalini; Mills, Mary Etta (eds.).. (Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins)
McNichols Campus Library
R 834 .O65 2006

Table of Contents

Pathways of teaching nursing : keeping it real!

Rayfield, Sylvia; Manning. Loretta. (ICAN Publishing, 2006)
RT 71 .R39 2006

Teaching nursing : developing a student-centered learning environment

Young, Lynne E.; Paterson, Barbara L. (eds.).. (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .T343 2006

Table of Contents

Curriculum development in nursing : process and innovations

Uys, Leana R.; Gwele, Nomthandazo S.. (Routledge, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .U97 2005

Teaching in nursing : a guide for faculty

Billings, Diane M.; Halstead, Judith A. (eds.0.. (Elsevier/Saunders, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .B49 2005

Developing an online course : best practices for nurse educators

O'Neil, Carol A.; Fisher, Cheryl A.; Newbold, Susan K.. (Springer Pub., 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .O59 2004

Nursing student retention : understanding the process and making a difference

Jeffreys, Marianne R.. (Springer, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 79 .J446 2004

Table of Contents

Nurse as educator : principles of teaching and learning for nursing practice

Bastable, Susan B. (ed.0.. (Jones and Bartlett, 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 90 .N86 2003

Neuman systems model

Neuman, Betty; Fawcett, Jacqueline (eds.).. (4th ed., Prentice Hall, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 84.5 .N474 2002

Core curriculum for occupational & environmental health nursing

American Association of Occupational Health Nurses; Salazar, Mary K. (ed.).. (W. B. Saunders, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 966 .A26 2001

Fuszard's innovative teaching strategies in nursing

Lowenstein, Arlene J.; Bradshaw, Martha J. (eds.).. (Aspen, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .F84 2001

Core curriculum for maternal-newborn nursing

Mattson, Susan; Smith, Judy E. (eds.).. (W. B. Saunders, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RG 951 .N33 2000

Distance education in Nursing

Novotny, Jeanne (ed.).. (Springer, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .D57 2000

Nursing informatics : education for practice

Carty, Barbara (ed.).. (Springer, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 50.5 .N8695 2000

Evidence-based teaching : current research in nursing education

Stevens, Kathleen R. (ed.).. (Jones and Bartlett, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .E94 1999

Evaluation and testing in nursing education

Oermann, Marilyn H.; Gaberson, Kathleen B.. (Springer Pub, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73.7 .O47 1998

A guide for developing community-responsive models in health professions education

Seifer, Sarena D.; Connors, Kara M. (eds.). (Community-Campus Partnerships for Health , 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
R 745 .G84 1997

Temple of science

Moore, Stefan. (PBS Video, 1993)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 395 .A3 M42 1993 no.1

1 VHS cassette (57 min.)

Summary: "Teaching hospitals have been the central focus for the evolution of modern medicine. They house the most revered scientists, the leading doctors, and the most sophisticated technology. Although this model of medicine has had remarkable success intreating serious diseases, teaching hospitals and the doctors they train are less equipped to provide the kind of primary care that most people need. "Temple of Science" looks at the turmoil surrounding these issues at Johns Hopkins, one of the world's leading teaching hospitals."

Substance abuse education in nursing: curriculum modules

Naegle, Madeleine A.. (National League for Nursing Press, 1991)
McNichols Campus Library
RC 564 .S8365 1991

Evidence-based teaching in nursing : a foundation for educators

Cannon, Sharon. (Jones & Bartlett Learning, 2012)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .C29 2012

Neuman systems model

Neuman, Betty; Fawcett, Jacqueline (eds.).. (Pearson, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 84.5 .N474 2011

Essentials of e-learning for nurse educators

Bristol, Tim J.; Zerwekh, JoAnn (eds.).. (F.A. Davis Company, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73.5 .E87 2011

Curriculum development and evaluation in nursing

Keating, Sarah B.. (Springer Pub. Co., 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .K43 2011

Innovative teaching strategies in nursing and related health professions

Bradshaw, Martha J.; Lowenstein, Arlene J. (eds.).. (Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2011)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .F84 2011

Creating a caring science curriculum : an emancipatory pedagogy for nursing

Hills, Marcia. (Springer, 2011)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Clinical teaching strategies in nursing

Gaberson, Kathleen B.; Oermann, Marilyn H.. (Springer Pub., 2010)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

Teaching technologies in nursing and the health professions : beyond simulation and online courses

Bonnel, Wanda E.; Smith, Katharine Vogel. (Springer Pub., 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .B66 2010

Competency-based nursing education : guide to achieving outstanding learner outcomes

Anema, Marion G.; McCoy, Jan. (Springer Pub. Co., 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .A555 2010

Educating nurses : a call for radical transformation

Benner, Patricia E.. (Jossey-Bass, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .E38 2010

Becoming a nurse educator : dialogue for an engaging career

Zorn, CeCelia R.. (Jones and Bartlett, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .Z67 2010

Teaching in nursing : a guide for faculty

Billings, Diane M.; Halstead, Judith A.. (Saunders, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .T336 2009

Curriculum development in nursing education

Iwasiw, Carroll L.; Goldenberg, Dolly; Andrusyszyn, Mary-Anne. (Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .I95 2009

Teaching strategies for nurse educators

DeYoung, Sandra. (Prentice Hall, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .D553 2009

Pathways of teaching nursing : keeping it real!

Rayfield, Sylvia; Manning, Loretta. (I Can Publishing, Inc., c2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 71 .R39 2009

Transforming nursing education : the culturally inclusive environment

Bosher, Susan Dandridge; Pharris, Margaret Dexheimer. (Springer, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RT 73 .T65 2009

Jill A. Turner

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
Dental School Library, McNichols Campus Library

turnerja1@udmercy.edu
313-494-6903 / 313-993-1157

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top