Back to Top
Top Nav content Site Footer
University Home

Databases & ebooks

Health Care Education

Research Guides

Access to Care

Critical Condition

Smith, Hedrick. (Hedrick Smith Productions, Inc., 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 413 .C75 2000

Two VHS cassettes, 90 minutes, 88 minutes.

Healthcare crisis

Silverman, Fred. (Issues TV, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 395 .A3 H432 2000

1 VHS cassette, 56 minutes. Producer, director, and writer, Fred Silverman ; editor and co-writer, Howard Sharp ; associate producers, Michele Demak Epstein & Sasha Waters ; narrated by Blythe Danner

Voices of the uninsured

Voices of Detroit Initiative. (Voices of Detroit Initiative, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 413.7 .U53 V65 2000

1 VHS cassette, 17 minutes

Debating healthcare reform ; Rage on the airwaves

Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c2009.. (Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 395 .A3 D422 2009

Summary: "The ongoing debate over healthcare reform has made a battle zone of Capitol Hill. In this edition of the Journal, Bill Moyers and expert analysts Trudy Lieberman and Marci Angell examine the partisan messages that have emerged from the crossfire to gauge who is playing politics to manipulate-- and possibly derail-- meaningful reform. The Journal then revists the question of how popular right-wing media personalities affect the nation's political discourse with a report on what role hate speech may have played in last year's tragic shooting at the Tennessee Valley Unitarian Universalist Church."

WEBSITES

Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Bill Summary & Status)

Library of Congress.

This website shows includes a link to the full text of the 2010 Affordable Care Act with the history of its sponsors, ammendments, advancement through committees, cost estimates, and roll calls of U.S. House and Senate votes.

HealthCare.gov

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

This official government website includes information about the 2010 Affordable Care Act, including information on its' provisions and a timeline of when they come into effect.  It also includes information on insurance options for different populations.

Worldmapper

Dorling, Danny; Newman, Mark; Allsop, Graham; etc....

From the website: "Worldmapper is a collection of world maps, using equal area cartograms where territories are re-sized on each map according to a particular variable." (Examples of variables include population, public health spending, private health spending, practising physicians, etc...)

State Differences in the Cost of Job-Related Health Insurance, 2011

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

This statistical brief presents the differences between states' and the national average cost of  employer-provided health insurance, based on the most recent Insurance Component of the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS-IC).

GOVERNMENT REPORTS

How Far Have We Come in Reducing Health Disparities?

U.S. Institute of Medicine. (National Academies Press, 2012)

Summary of a U.S. Institute of Medicine workshop that addressed how well federal initiatives to reduce health disparities are working.

Unequal Treatment: Confronting Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Care

Smedley, Brian D.; Stith, Adrienne Y.; Nelson, Alan R. (eds.).. (National Academies Press, 2003)

Report by the U.S. Institute of Medicine's Board on Health Sciences Policy

Crossing the quality chasm : a new health system for the 21st century

U.S. Institute of Medicine: Committee on Quality Health Care in America. (National Academies Press, 2001)

Available in the ebrary database (Off-campus authentication required)

BOOKS AND EBOOKS

Health, luck, and justice

Segall, Shlomi. (Princeton University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 418 .S412 2010

Tackling health inequities through public health practice : theory to action

Hofrichter, Richard, Bhatia, Rajiv (eds.).. (Oxford University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 418.3 .U6 T33 2010

Worst case bioethics : death, disaster, and public health

Annas, George J.. (Oxford University Press, 2010)
McNichols Campus Library
R 724 .A67 2010

Successful societies : how institutions and culture affect health

Hall, Peter A.; Lamont, Michele. (Cambridge University Press, 2009)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 418 .S835 2009

Health care in America : separate and unequal

Patel, Kant. (M.E. Sharpe, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 448.4 .P38 2008

Health economics and policy

Henderson, James W.. (Thomson/ South-Western, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 410 .H45 2005

Vulnerable populations in the United States

Shi, Leiyu; Stevens, Gregory D.. (Jossey-Bass, 2005)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 418.5 .P6 S54 2005

Table of Contents

Healthcare reform in America : a reference handbook

Kronenfeld, Jennie Jacobs; Kronenfeld, Michael R.. (ABC-CLIO, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 395 .A3 K83 2004

Insuring America's health : principles and recommendations

Committee on the Consequences of Uninsurance, Board on Health Care Services, Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.. (National Academies Press, 2004)
McNichols Campus Library
HG 9396 .I577 2004

Hispanic health : problems with coverage, access, and health disparities

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions. Subcommittee on Public Health.. (U.S. G.P.O., 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Documents Y 4.L 11/4:S.HRG.107-701

Health care access and affordability : effects on families, communities, and health care providers

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Appropriations. Subcommittee on Departments of Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies. (U.S. G.P.O., 2003)
McNichols Campus Library
Reference Microfiche Y 4.AP 6/2:S.HRG.108-152

Care without coverage : too little, too late

Committee on the Consequences of Uninsurance, Board on Health Care Services, Institute of Medicine.. (National Academy Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 413.7 .U53 C37 2002

Health insurance is a family matter

Committee on the Consequences of Unisurance, Board of Health Care Services, Institute of Medicine.. (National Academy Press, 2002)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 412.2 .I54 2002

At the front lines of medicine : how the health care system alienates doctors and mistreats patients ... and what we can do about it

Waitzkin, Howard. (Rowman & Littlefield, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 418.3 .U6 W35 2001

Bleeding the patient : the consequences of corporate healthcare

Himmelstein, David; Woolhandler, Steffie. (Common Courage Press, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 413 .H54 2001

Universal coverage : the elusive quest for national health insurance

Mayes, Rick. (Lexington Books, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 412.2 .M39 2001

The future of the safety net : social insurance and employee benefits

Friedman, Sheldon; Jacobs, David (eds.). (Industrial Relations Research Association, 2001)
McNichols Campus Library
HD 4928 .N6 F87 2001

Is inequality bad for our health

Daniels, Norman; Kennedy, Bruce; Kawachi, Ichiro. (Beacon Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 395 .A3 I8 2000

"compiled by Norman Daniels, Bruce Kennedy, and Ichiro Kawachi ; foreword by Amartya Sen ; edited by Joshua Cohen and Joel Rogers for Boston Review." Book Description

Health work with the poor : a practical guide

Kiefer, Christie W.. (Rutgers University Press, 2000)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 418.5 .P6 K54 2000

Special populations in the community: advances in reducing health disparities

Sebastian, Juliann G.; Bushy, Angeline (eds.). (Aspen Publishers, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 445 .S686 1999

The health care challenge : acknowledging disparity, confronting discrimination, and ensuring equality

United States Commission on Civil Rights. (United States Commission on Civil Rights, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
Government Document Microfiche CR 1.2:H 34/V.1

Making a killing: HMOs and the threat to your health

Court, Jamie; Smith, Francis. (Common Courage Press, 1999)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 413.5 .U5 C68 1999

America's children : health insurance and access to care

Edmunds, Margaret; Coye, Molly Joel (eds.). (National Academy Press, 1998)
McNichols Campus Library
RJ 102 .A387 1998

Making medical spending decisions : the law, ethics, and economics of rationing mechanisms

Hall, Mark A.. (Oxford University Press, 1997)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 410.53 .H35 1997

Barriers to health care access

Hernandez, Manuel; Fultz, Shawn L.. Shankle, Michael D.(ed.). The handbook of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender public health : a practitioner's guide to service. Harrington Park Press, 2006.
McNichols Campus Library
RA 564.9 .H65 H36 2005

Who should get access to which drugs? an ethical template for pharmacy benefits

Daniels, Norman; Sabin, James E.; Teagarden, J. Russell. Santoro, Michael A.; Gorrie, Thomas M. (eds.). Ethics and the pharmaceutical industryCambridge University Press, 2005.
McNichols Campus Library
HD 9665.5 .E85 2005

Access to health care and rationing

Mackler, Aaron L.. Introduction to Jewish and Catholic bioethics : a comparative analysis. Georgetown University Press, 2003..
McNichols Campus Library
R 725.55 .M33 2003

Just health : meeting health needs fairly

Daniels, Norman. (Cambridge University Press, 2008)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 394 .D27 2008

Nature of health : how America lost, and can regain, a basic human value

Fine, Michael; Peters, James W.. (Radcliffe Pub., 2007)
McNichols Campus Library
RA 395 .A3 F495 2007

Jill A. Turner

Associate Librarian
Reference Services
Dental School Library, McNichols Campus Library

turnerja1@udmercy.edu
313-494-6903 / 313-993-1157

Scholarly Articles + Databases Research Guides New in the Library Journals Career + Professional

How can we help you?

Back to Top